1/24-Tip-AMPS-373 +3-267 +6-192 PMPS-333 +2-371 +6-235

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cindy & Pets

Member Since 2012
1/23 condo

AMPS - 373
+3 - 267
+6 - 192
PMPS - 333
+2 - 371
+6 - 235

Ugh...really looking like I'll have to increase again tomorrow evening. But she's acting fine, shiny coat, everything. Few more eye crusties than normal, but I've noticed that happens for some reason when her numbers are high. I'm thinking that should i need to increase tomorrow morning, the best bet would be .5U, right?
 
Re: 1/24-Tip-AMPS-373 +3-267 +6-192 PMPS-333 +2-371

Apart from eye crusties, sounds like she is doing good.
Sorry no dose advice from me but maybe this will bump it up!
 
Re: 1/24-Tip-AMPS-373 +3-267 +6-192 PMPS-333 +2-371

Yeah, she is. And we're still working hard on her weight. Getting her to play more, all that stuff to bring her down from overweight to as close to ideal as possible. I know that has something to do with her higher numbers. It just takes so long to get her to lose weight properly.
 
Re: 1/24-Tip-AMPS-373 +3-267 +6-192 PMPS-333 +2-371

She's getting blue nadirs. She is at a higher dose but you haven't been increasing by 0.5u. I think she does need an increase but why do you think to increase by .5u? I know members whose cats are on very high doses increase by more than the normal protocol calls for but I'm not sure about for Tio.

I'll try to get some eyes experienced with high doses on the SS for you, ok?
 
Re: 1/24-Tip-AMPS-373 +3-267 +6-192 PMPS-333 +2-371

Well, it's because it seems like when she stays in the higher numbers(including nadirs), then the more ground is lost and wind up needing that insulin anyways. But thinking more about it, that might not be the best idea because her nadirs have been in the blues? Thanks.
 
Re: 1/24-Tip-AMPS-373 +3-267 +6-192 PMPS-333 +2-371

For a cat that is getting less insulin than she is, then yes, I'd hold it to .25u. But I did find this in the Roomp/rand protocol:

Most cats need to have their dose increased. Do it in 0.25 IU or 0.5 IU steps (0.25 IU if the cat is getting a low dose and/or relatively low BGs, 0.5 IU if the cat is getting a higher dose and/or relatively high BGs). Hold each dose for 5-7 days. However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU. Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose). From this point onward test for ketones once per week, or more often if the nadirs are still >=200 mg/dl.


The bold is mine. It seems you can take her up by .5u but you and Grandpa need to continue to monitor very closely.

Take a look at Jazzys SS in July 2011 when she was at 8u and in blue. Libby increased by 1u. I'm not at all suggesting you increase by tht much...Jazzy was dx with acro long before then. But I think .5u would be fine...again as long as you test.
 
Re: 1/24-Tip-AMPS-373 +3-267 +6-192 PMPS-333 +2-371

Is the Roomp/rand protocol different than the tight regulation protocol?

Especially with the weekend coming up and me slowly getting more sleep in lately, we both should be able to keep close watch on her.

Oh, also, for those tests, how much are they likely to be altogether? I managed in more hours than I thought this week and I might have enough for them.
 
The Roomp/Rand protocol is the Tight Regulation Protocol. It varies a bit by what we use here which we call the "modified" TR protocol which has developed based on techniques members in FDMB have used successfully.

I did have Libby take a look at Tips SS. She said she would give her one more cycle at 8.5u and if she stays in blue like she has been, increase by .5u. If she does not respond well, she might suggest next time around to increase sooner but for now....six cycles on this dose.

I'm not sure what the tests cost. It might depend on your location? I don't remember seeing that it was a ridiculously high amount.

So..we good? Six total cycles on 8.5u and if she doesn't do any better, raise by .5u.
 
Alright, didn't know that. :)

Thanks for that. I was planning on waiting until tomorrow's evening shot to change the dose any anyways.

I can ask the vet on Saturday when I'm in there with Christmas. Just a check up on if we need to change her game an any. If I can afford it then I'll make 100% sure to set aside the money and set up an appointment finally to get her tested.

We're good, thank you so much. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top