1/24 Tibby PMPS 142 and I gave him his shot.

I'm reading the stickies right now. Is there anything a vet can do, other than confirm yes/no that it's happening?
 
Thanks. He does seem to be responding now at least, and maybe I'm overreacting because TR moves so much faster than what I was doing.

I'm not sure what my vet will think about my having gone rogue with this site. For a while I was sending him the curves, and everything he said matched with SLGS. I finally stopped sending him curves and just going with this site. He hasn't followed up. His vet tech is the reason I found out about this site, so I hope he's fine with it. If not, I have a back-up vet already lined up.
 
Just a thought. If you do a curve with +2, +4, +6 etc one day, maybe switch it up to +3, +5, +7 etc the next?
 
I really should have. I wasn't planning on doing a curve today, but I want to see how blue he stays. I'll get some of those data points today.
 
+4, +6, +7 and +9 are all blue! And I just fed him his first weruva, and I think he loves it. I think he was getting tired of his other food.
 
Nice blues today.:cool:

At six units is usually the point we suggest people get their cats tested for those secondary endocrine conditions that can mean a cat needs higher doses. Not all cats with acromegaly or IAA (insulin auto antibodies) needs higher doses above 6 units, but almost all cats above six units have one of those, or less likely, Cushings. My girl had both acromegaly and IAA. A few reasons we suggest testing. First, about 1 in 4 diabetics cats has acromegaly, caused by a benign tumour on the pituitary that sends out excess growth hormone that in turn causes the diabetes. There are some side effects of the excess growth hormone that good to keep an eye on, especially soft tissue and bony growth, and organ growth. One simple example, Neko's vet was already to pull a tooth because of a red spot on her gum line. I ended up going to a veterinary dental specialist, and he realized the sore spot was due to soft tissue growth on her gum, and her tooth was saved. And a second important reason for testing, there are treatments for acromegaly. Third reason, it gives you an explanation for why it's harder to get him regulated.

The tests for these conditions are both blood tests, where the blood is sent to Michigan State University, the only place in North America that does the tests. Warning, vets that don't keep up on things may think these conditions are rare. The studies showing how common they are came out relatively recently. I had to ask my vet to humour me to get the tests done.
 
OK, I think my vet will be fine doing the tests, and if not, I already have Tibby established at a second vet. I'll do that asap.

He's having a VERY blue day. His PMPS was 142. I went ahead and gave him the shot. I'll watch him all night if necessary. I think I've shot this low before.
 
Already on it. His +1 was 129. But I think this has happened before, and he starts to go up and bounce. I won't go to sleep until that happens, of course. I'll get a +2.

What does it mean that he hit a nadir today, and then started to dip again before his evening shot?
 
Interesting cycle.
What does it mean that he hit a nadir today, and then started to dip again before his evening shot?
A couple possibilities. First, all those blues are fairly close to each other and most within the 20% variance meters can have so he could have been just surfing along. Second, some cats nadir late. On Lantus I did see Neko nadir as late as +13. And third possibility, sometimes you'll see a Lantus double dip, where the kitty does a smaller dip a the end of the cycle, not as big as the main dip.
 
Back
Top