1/24 Steve's PMPS numbers BG EDIT: (354)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Allie

Member
So Steve's numbers are still quite high. He's at 1.5U BID (2nd day at this dose). I had to work today so I didn't get to see what his +6 BG was. I'm gonna try to stay up till midnight to get the +6 measurement. I'm hoping he doesn't have the really high delta that he had yesterday.

It's funny...(not haha)... I guess this is a case of what you don't know can't hurt you. When we were shooting blind in december it was obvious steve needed an upped dose. It was obvious from his behavior he was a diabetic kitty. He was drinking and urinating A LOT! So now we've put him on wet food and decreased his dose and he isn't nearly as symptomatic. BUT...NOW we know what his numbers are and they are very disconcerting. It's hard not to increase the dose fast. Hopefully, those numbers will come down a bit more tomorrow and hopefully the +6 won't get too low.

--allie
 
Not every cat "bounces" but some kitties will reward you with a higher cycle when they have gone down lower. It may be that he wasn't used to the double digits and went up in response. No way to really know except to keep testing and look for trends/patterns.

Yes, a little knowledge can be a dangerous thing :mrgreen: More stressful for you but probably a lot better for Steve.
 
Hopefully steve's ps numbers will edge down gradually, then his curves won't be so steep. Good luck staying up till midnight! I haven't done that since my dd was colicky about 14 months ago. And that wasn't by choice! By choice I was probably in my early 20s.
 
Oh my goodness...
Steve has been acting like he's starving and thirsty since I got home and he's driving me crazy. He hasn't been this bad since he was first diagnosed 18 months ago. I gotta tell you it makes me want to up his dose tomorrow if his 6+ dose tonight isn't crazy. I won't do it in the morning, but I might tomorrow night.

Mainly there are two reasons I want to do this. 1) I tried tonight to find the ketone testing strips, I couldn't. I'm not aware of steve having ketones previously, but that doesn't mean he didn't (does it?) and all this conversation about ketones around here is freaking me out. I know that being freaked out is just emotional so I'm really trying to be reasonable and refrain.

2) When we first decided to deviate from the vet's orders, we went to from dry to wet. We reduced his blind shot dose from 4U BID to 2U BID. He was OK with 2U BID from Jan 1st-Jan 11th (no real testing...but he didn't hypo either and he was (behaviorally) a very content kitty.

Am I a psycho crazy bad kitty momma bean for considering this? What if I just up it to 1.75 instead of two?



Claudia, I suffer from some pretty severe insomnia. The irony is that when I first started reading about feline diabetes (last month) I came across a post on another board talking about "methyl b for kitty neuropathy." My BFF has Multiple Sclerosis and consequently suffers from neuropathy too. So I read a bit about it for humans. Besides reading that it can help neuropathy in humans, I also found out that is also can help regulate sleep cycles. So, I've been taking it and sleeping like the dead. So here I want to stay up (a month ago this would be no problem) and now because I've been reading about feline diabetic treatments I've found a HUGE help toward my insomnia and think I won't be able to stay up to get a good read at midnight. GGGGRRR....but it's kind of funny if you think about it.
 
Testing for ketones is just a good way to feel in control. Did you ask for ketostix at the drug store? They are the same product that human diabetics use and should be available in any drug store.

How about doing a curve before you decide to change the dose? Raising the dose may be the thing to do, but it's hard to know without more data.
 
Trying to mini curve....

Sue, I'm sort of trying to follow your suggestion. I'm doing a semi-mini-curve. I work all day tomorrow so can't do a curve then.
Tonight's PMPS 344, +4 233, +6 165. I'm gonna try to wake up at 0200 I-) to get his +8, but I don't know if I really can make this work. As it is, I have to get up at 530 for work ~O) ~O) ~O) and for his am dose.

good night peeps and kitties,
Allie and Steve
 
That's not a bad +6. You could probably bump his dose up a hair if you wanted. I'd only go up like .10 to start with though. Slow steps, you know? Interesting about the methyl b and sleep. My brother suffers from insomnia. Must tell him about this!
 
Are you using u-40 syringes? You can do smaller dose increases if you use the u-100s (with the conversion chart), plus they're a lot cheaper ($12 for 100 from walmart). I had a difficult time finding the ketostix, too. The first two drugstores I went to said that they had to special order them. But CVS had them available. I think others have said that they're pretty readily available at walmart.

I'm sorry Steve is symptomatic again. I think if you get a mid-cycle today and it's not satisfactory you are safe to up the dose. If you're using u-40s then I would just go up to 1.75 if you can eyeball that. Great job getting last nights mid-cycle! I shouldn't looked at his ss before responding. I'm gonna peek at it now.
 
Wow! Look at that improvement! I'm so glad you didn't increase today. I think it may be worth it to hold this 1.5u dose for another day or so. He is making improvement. We love yellow preshots!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top