1/24 Rex PMPS 189 +3 49 +5 74 +6 131

Status
Not open for further replies.

RichNW & Rex

Member Since 2012
Rex's number are so odd.

We have had a great run of good numbers. Seeing a trend of number leveling out.

Then tonight PMPS +3 a 49. We have new Lantus, Same units, Same food, Same food amount, New test strips, New control solution, Testing in same location (right ear), and control solution test is good.

So tested again at +3.25 and a 41.

We don't have a good Lantus peak understand for him yet. Since we just had a scare about a week ago, I did give him 1/4 cup of Purina DM dry. And will test again at +3.75.

Anyone have any insight? Suggestions?

Rex's 1/23 Condo

P.S. He is acting fine - NOTHING unusual
 
Re: 1/24 Rex AMPS 289 +11 184 PMPS 189 +1.5 112 +3 49 +3.25

Hi Rich,

Do you have any HC wet food around? Something with gravy. We prefer to give wet food when the numbers are low like this. It takes affect faster and is out of the system faster. Dry food hangs around and may stick around to the next cycle. If you don't have a gravy food, a drop or two of karo on the wet food will work.

BTW, Rex has earned a deduction with going under 50.

I'll be up a bit yet, I'm just north of you and Neko's decided greens are her thing tonight. I'll look forward to seeing your next test.
 
Re: 1/24 Rex AMPS 289 +11 184 PMPS 189 +1.5 112 +3 49 +3.25

Hi Wendy,

PMPS +3.75 = 50

Thanks sooooo much for your insight!

Does HC mean High Carbs?

I have Purina DM Can or Purina DM Dry.

We don't use the Purina DM Dry anymore (but had some left over), I thought DM Dry was the best thing for him to get his sugar up, my mistake. I will just donate the food to a shelter.

Our food plan is to finish up the rest of the Purina DM can and switch to Merrick Cowboy Cookout. Looks like the best.

I will remember that dry food hangs around. Learning something every day!!!!! :)

Oh, what do you mean by a deduction? Lantus does?

Oh you are in YVR. Very Cool! Awesome city!

Thanks So Much,
Rich & Rex
 
Re: 1/24 Rex AMPS 289 +11 184 PMPS 189 +1.5 112 +3 49 +3.25

Good to see that Rex is up a bit. I looked at your spreadsheet and realized that you are using the AlphaTrak 2. That measures a little higher than the human meters, so we really want Rex to get up some more. HC is high carb. I just use Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers, but any of the foods with gravy are usually good. Look at Dr. Lisa's food chart and anything above 15% or so is high carb. Without HC in the house, a couple of drops of karo, honey, or maple syrup on wet food will do. Do you think you could get Rex to eat a couple tsp of his regular food with one of those on it?

Don't apologize on the DM, that's what a lot of vets will recommend.

On the reduction, here's the part from the tight regulation protocol:
Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit.

That means Rex's new dose will be 1.25 units. But we can talk about that later. First, let's see if we can get Rex a little higher. He's earned his deduction and now we want him up.
 
Re: 1/24 Rex AMPS 289 +11 184 PMPS 189 +1.5 112 +3 49 +3.25

1/24 Rex AMPS 289 +11 184 PMPS 189 +1.5 112 +3 49 +3.25 41 +3.75 50 +4.25 52

Wendy, Thanks for the link - Will brush up on the info.

@ +4.5 gave Rex 1/8 Can Purina PM with 1/2 tsp Karo

Will test again at PMPS +5
 
Re: 1/24 Rex AMPS 289 +11 184 PMPS 189 +1.5 112 +3 49 +3.25

It looks like Rex wants to hang around the 50's. At this point, it's good to keep notes of what food you give and what effect it had, so that you know what to use next time. It looks like there isn't much change from the DM dry yet, although he might have gone lower without it.

I'm still concerned about the numbers, because I've read that the Alphatrak can read up to 30 points higher than a human meter, which would make him at 20 and still too low. How is Rex acting?

A favor to ask of you, could you change your first subject to just reflect the PM numbers? That way you can fit the latest tests on there. And yet one more thing, people using Alphatrak usually indicate that in the subject, so that people scanning the headings can read the numbers appropriately. So, it would be something like: 1/24 Rex AT PMPS 189 +1.4 112 +3 49 etc.
 
Re: 1/24 Rex PMPS 189 +1.5 112 +3 49 +3.25 41 +3.75 50 +4.25

1/24 Rex AMPS 289 +11 184 PMPS 189 +1.5 112 +3 49 +3.25 41 +3.75 50 +4.25 52 +5 74

So looks like either the Dry food kicked in or the Wet food with Karo kicked in or both. :)

He is his normal self. No hypo symptoms

So on the AlphaTrak there is a code specifically for cats. Does the FDMB have a recommended meter?
 
Re: 1/24 Rex PMPS 189 +1.5 112 +3 49 +3.25 41 +3.75 50 +4.25

Whew, that's better. You'll still have to continue testing for a while, as the food could wear off and numbers wobble back down again. And you are new enough you don't yet know when his nadir is. You could give him a tsp or two of his regular food and see if he'll surf, or hang out at these numbers for a while. Can you test again in 30-45 minutes and see how he is doing?

We don't really have a recommended meter here. The big thing is picking one you like and can afford the strips. Alphatrak are more expensive and harder to get late at night on a weekend when you might suddenly need more. The meter I use is the Relion Confirm (from Walmart) because the strips are cheap and I have a Bayer Contour as a backup. If you go to the main Health Forum and do a search, I think someone posted a Consumer Reports BG meter review. I personally like the small drop size required by my Relion. Stay away from the Freestyle Lite. It doesn't register accurately for higher numbers. I started with it.
 
Re: 1/24 Rex PMPS 189 +1.5 112 +3 49 +3.25 41 +3.75 50 +4.25

Wendy,

Thanks for all your help and insight!

My plan is to test again at +5.5 and again at +6

I think you are right about AlphaTrak being expensive to use. I am spending about $52 for 50 strips. The lancets are fine at $14 for 100.

What is killing me is buying the insulin and the low dose. Not able to use it all and don't like waisting. Rex is worth every penny, buy would love to spend it on him rather than throwing it away. :)

~R
 
Re: 1/24 Rex PMPS 189 +1.5 112 +3 49 +3.25 41 +3.75 50 +4.25

My Neko tested a while ago at 64 and dropping, so I'm up for a while yet. She has a late nadir.

Are you using a Lantus vial or pens for Rex? The pens are more expensive (you get 5) but worth while in the long run. Some people have pharmacies that sell just one which is cheaper. And if you ever visit beautiful Vancouver, insulin is available at the pharmacy without a prescription and about half the price you guys pay. Walmart has the Confirm on for $36 per 100 and if you use buy from ADW (use the links on this site) it's even cheaper.
 
Re: 1/24 Rex PMPS 189 +1.5 112 +3 49 +3.25 41 +3.75 50 +4.25

1/24 Rex AMPS 289 +11 184 PMPS 189 +1.5 112 +3 49 +3.25 41 +3.75 50 +4.25 52 +5 74 +5.5 104

Sorry to hear about your Neko's numbers! How does your Neko eat? I see alot of parents with feeding challenges on FDMB.

Rex is now at 104. Will take another reading at +6 to confirm his numbers are going in the right direction.

I am using Lantus Vial. Spending $150 for each Vial. I will have to check out ADW. Is that http://www.americandiabeteswholesale.com

Great prices in Canada!
 
Re: 1/24 Rex PMPS 189 +1.5 112 +3 49 +3.25 41 +3.75 50 +4.25

OK - looks like karo or dry is kicking in nicely. If he is still trending up at +6, you could probably just test again in 2 hours. I just set my phone alarm and do a quick test then back to nap.

Neko has no problem eating. She has acromegaly, a high dose condition. It's caused by a tumor on the pituitary gland, and it also sends out excess growth hormone. Think of a teenager's diet - she will eat anything!

ADW is the link you listed. If you go to ADW through the link on the top of the page here, then FDMB gets a percentage of the purchase which helps run the site.

I've send a message to some of the dose experts to comment on Rex's dose tomorrow morning, so please check here to see what comments people have before you shoot at AMPS. And one other administrative thing, you will have noticed that you run out of room on your subject line after a while. You can delete some of the less interesting numbers (such as the +1.5), keep the low test on there, and try to make sure your latest test is showing so people can see at a quick glance where you are at.
 
Just updated my Subject with important numbers.

Will test again in 2 hours.

Just placed and order at ADW and used the link above.

Ok going to get a couple hours of sleep. Night :)
 
Subject line looks good, and so does Rex. Good job tonight Rich! People from the east coast will start to be on soon. I'm off myself for a nap.
 
Good Morning!!

It looks like you had an exciting evening.

I just want to underscore a point that Wendy made. If you look on the Handling Low Numbers post, if you're using a human meter, the dose reduction point is a drop below 50. On an AlphaTrack, the cutoff is 80. There's a 30 point difference in the way the meters are calibrated.

I'd encourage you to take a look at Dr. Lisa's food chart and pick up any gravy-type food that is above 15% carb. Most people use Fancy Feast varieties. The carbs are in the gravy and they are metabolized very quickly.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top