1/24 Mikey AMPS 262 Are reductions a bad thing???

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenniferF

Member Since 2014
last thread

I'm thinking the reductions really mess things up but I shoot so late at night (11:30pm) that I get nervous I won't get up (I usually don't) to test him and am scared to give the full dose. However, if you think giving the full dose and getting up to test him (vs giving the reduced doses) will make a difference then I will do my best to get up.
 
Kitties who come back out of remission usually need to have their caregivers be more aggressive with dosing - meaning get them back into green numbers and hold them there.

It's also important to figure out what brought him out of remission and address that need. Does he need a dental? Is there some infection somewhere? Is arthritis causing pain? (I'm not sure if that one could actually bring him out of remission, but pain does increase BGs.) Is he having a pancreatitis flare?

As far as directly answering your question - what's your goal for him? If you're hoping to get him back into remission, I'd say that it probably does matter. Hard to be sure, but the path to remission includes green numbers, as long of a period of time as possible, and people don't usually see that when they are giving a lot of reduced doses.

Any chance of moving the kitties' shot times earlier? I shot at 7am, basically the moment I got out of bed, so that I could get at least a +3 in the pm cycle, and often i don't go to bed til 11:30pm so it wasn't too painful if I had to stay up with him.
 
He had a pancreatitis attack. I assume that is what brought his BG's back up. The FPL test was done so it was definitely that. The vet said his teeth were not bad, I certainly don't see any red inflammation, but he did have root issues a few years ago so maybe there is a dental issue as well.

I was shooting earlier but somehow ended back up at 11:30. It was an "easy" time for me because 99% of the time I am home for giving insulin. The earlier PM shots tend to get tricky cause it's hard to always be home. I used to get up and test in the middle of the night, I just need to make myself do it. Getting back into a habit for me is as hard as breaking one.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top