1/24 Ivy Amps 268,+1 239,+2.75 106,+4 99, +6 129, +8 216, +10 229, Pmps 299, +2 330, +3.5 286 Libre

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...205-10-260-pmps-291-2-375-3-375-libre.285914/
Amps 268
+1 239
Very weird night last night. Since we had the fur shot on Monday night, I wonder why last night’s pm cycle went high to 300s then eventually came down later in the cycle. She did go lower into blue and yellow yesterday in the am cycle. But the pm cycle threw me. Maybe because the depot had been drained some from that FS??
Today Amps was better. We shall see where she’s headed as the depot stabilizes more today.
I’m working at home and can monitor her.

Starting to think about upcoming weekend and
Dinner date on Saturday night.
I’ve been feeding her 6% her normal diet when I go out and adding a few tsp of 9 or 12% to the food, it doesn’t really do much to keep her stable (if she wants to dive a bit) while I’m out.
Does it seem like a better plan to just feed 12.5% as her entire meal and +1,2,3 snacks while I’m out in hopes that will keep her from going lower for that cycle?
It would be an experiment to see how it holds her up. Obviously it may affect her bg for that entire cycle. Thoughts?

Hope all your kitties are doing well, staying healthy and have a safe surf. Happy mid week to all :cat:
 
Hi Staci :)
So annoying to have these fur shots isn't it?! Ivy has a beautiful long hair I can imagine it could have happened much more.
I think you're right in thinking that her depot was dwindling and the numbers today probably show better the build up of the depot since the FS. That would be my assumption.
Nice that you're home today so you can monitor. I know this is much more relaxing for you which I totally resonate :)

It sounds like you have a good plan with food manipulation. Will be curious to see if that helps.

I haven't been around so I haven't yet seen whether you've given an update on your appointment with the nutritionist. I'll have a look soon, I'd like to know how it went.

We have very strong winds here. It's nice to be indoors and at home.
Wishing you a cosy day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Morning Staci. Sounds like a good preventitive food plan for your night out. It might let you relax a bit if it helps.

Have a great day and hoping Ivy has a nice surf today!
 
Woo hoo, a nice drop but slow down a bit Ivy!
She is recovering from the FS nicely!
Sounds like a good plan for Saturday!
Even though it may be an overkill, better be safe! Even if it bumps her BG a bit, she will be safe and will recover from it quickly.
Have a great day, Staci! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Morning Staci, slow down there a bit Ivy , nice blue though :cool:
Sounds like a good idea you have for your dinner date. Hopefully you will be less worried about her and enjoy a few hours out.
Glad you're home today, both of you have a nice day :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
 
Good morning Staci.
I missed it if you talked about it, what did your nutritionnist say about Ivy's itching?
As for the food, I don't know. I think I would stick with the regular food unless she is in green at preshot or at +1 before you leave, because that's what I do.
 
Good meowning Staci and Ivy!
Not a bad start and she's on another mission already. Welcome to the beach Ivy, hopefully Nestle comes down in a bit and meets you there.
Wishing you both a great day.

upload_2024-1-24_10-42-30.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-1-24_10-42-30.png
    upload_2024-1-24_10-42-30.png
    501.2 KB · Views: 163
It's been a very active cycle so far this am. Have given several small snacks around 1 tsp to try to keep her in from tanking. Have given some 6% and 9.25% when she was picking up speed headed down. I don't want her to earn a reduction due to her depot readjusting from the Fur Shot 2 nights ago. We are at +5 and am hoping she just steadies and coasts without another deep dive. I would think she will need a few more cycles until that depot is stabilized??
 
Good meowning Staci and Ivy!
Not a bad start and she's on another mission already. Welcome to the beach Ivy, hopefully Nestle comes down in a bit and meets you there.
Wishing you both a great day.

View attachment 68921
Hi there Karolina, Well at least she visited Nestle and friends at the beach today, so that was good. I suppose she’s trying to stabilize her Depot again. She looks like she’s heading back up again to me at this point in the day. Guess she’s done with the beach and her buddies.
Hope you guys are having a great day and everyone is surfing safely :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good morning Staci.
I missed it if you talked about it, what did your nutritionnist say about Ivy's itching?
As for the food, I don't know. I think I would stick with the regular food unless she is in green at preshot or at +1 before you leave, because that's what I do.
Hi Cecile, I will give details about the nutritionist meeting as soon as I see her report. At this point, I think I’m going to hold off on the switch, but that’s just because I’m watching her closely to see whether she’s itching and biting or not, so the jury is still out. But I will give more details.
As far as the food… I think because Ivy is such a diver, Her cycles are very different than Bella, who seems quite stable and doesn’t do the dives that Ivy can do.
Many times Ivy’s first few hours of a PM cycle can be very active until she stabilizes after +3, which is around the time that I usually come back from being out . So that’s why the idea of using maybe a medium carb would keep her from doing that while I’m gone.
I entire try it and see what happens. (Although I used to feed her the 12% and she still did her swan dives anyway).
If she were more stable like Bella, then I could only do that if she was in the green before I went out, but she usually does her dives after her meal and shot.
She just likes to keep me agitated and anxious while I’m out. I guess it’s my punishment for leaving her for a few hours.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Morning Staci, slow down there a bit Ivy , nice blue though :cool:
Sounds like a good idea you have for your dinner date. Hopefully you will be less worried about her and enjoy a few hours out.
Glad you're home today, both of you have a nice day :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
Hi Diane, she had a very active morning but now at +8 she’s climbing back up. I took a shower, gave a snack. Blew my hair dry, gave a snack….got to work, gave a snack… kind of crazy, right?
Hope you are having a nice day :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Hi Staci :)
So annoying to have these fur shots isn't it?! Ivy has a beautiful long hair I can imagine it could have happened much more.
I think you're right in thinking that her depot was dwindling and the numbers today probably show better the build up of the depot since the FS. That would be my assumption.
Nice that you're home today so you can monitor. I know this is much more relaxing for you which I totally resonate :)

It sounds like you have a good plan with food manipulation. Will be curious to see if that helps.

I haven't been around so I haven't yet seen whether you've given an update on your appointment with the nutritionist. I'll have a look soon, I'd like to know how it went.

We have very strong winds here. It's nice to be indoors and at home.
Wishing you a cosy day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Shelly, I will give a report on what the nutritionist said as soon as I read through what she puts in writing to me. I have to process everything we discussed. It was a lot. But I’ll let you know shortly.

Ivy did have a very active morning but is climbing back up a little bit now. I do think that Depot got all messed up from the fur shot. :(
Have a nice night! Give your boys hugs from me please :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Morning Staci. Sounds like a good preventitive food plan for your night out. It might let you relax a bit if it helps.

Have a great day and hoping Ivy has a nice surf today!
Hi Deb, thank you! we just keep experimenting until we figure something out. So many variables. Hope Tiger is doing well and you are getting some rest These days. :bighug::bighug:
 
Woo hoo, a nice drop but slow down a bit Ivy!
She is recovering from the FS nicely!
Sounds like a good plan for Saturday!
Even though it may be an overkill, better be safe! Even if it bumps her BG a bit, she will be safe and will recover from it quickly.
Have a great day, Staci! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Kit, I agree, she’s had quite the wild ride today. Recovering from that first shot. I was hopping around all morning long trying to keep up with her. But she’s finally slowed down and she’s taking a nice cozy nap on the sofa in my husband’s office. It’s good to be the little princess.

Thanks for your thoughts on giving her extra carbs, on the weekend. I think I’m going to try that plan and see what happens. Even though she used to eat the 12%, things change, so we’ll see what happens. And now that I have the remote feeder I can always deploy more if needed.
I hope you guys are having a safe surf and a nice afternoon :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Bella dives but she does not go as high and I want her to stay in greens, so yes, I suppose that's different. I don't remember what I was doing when she bounced in pinks.
Why do you want to prevent Ivy from earning reductions? I felt that it was by reducing and increasing than we got to a dose that worked for Bella. Sorry if I ask too many questions, you can tell me to mind my own business if you want to :-)
 
Bella dives but she does not go as high and I want her to stay in greens, so yes, I suppose that's different. I don't remember what I was doing when she bounced in pinks.
Why do you want to prevent Ivy from earning reductions? I felt that it was by reducing and increasing than we got to a dose that worked for Bella. Sorry if I ask too many questions, you can tell me to mind my own business if you want to :)
Oh please don’t stop asking me questions. We are having a discussion and I appreciate your questions and it makes me think about things from another perspective. That’s actually really good.
I do not take offense at all and I appreciate your caring enough to be involved and ask questions and provide suggestions so please keep it up.
Cecile, I value your ideas.

I think she may not actually be getting enough insulin because I haven’t been seeing Lower numbers in a while so if she earned a reduction because the Depot is readjusting from the fur shot, it seems to me that wouldn’t be great.
But maybe I’m completely wrong and looking at the wrong way that’s entirely possible also because what the heck do I know? :bighug::bighug:
 
OK :-)
I tend to agree with you that she looks like she needs an increase, if I look at the sticky on SLGS. She got nadirs below 90 last week on the Libre, but not since the 20th. Increasing is scary but in the end, we want low numbers :bighug:
 
Back
Top