? 1/24 Edward PMPS 81 shoot or not? 68@+.5, 88@+1

SnowKat

Member Since 2020
He's due for his evening shot at 8pm CST. I am surprised by this low PMPS #. I am delaying for now, although I don't want to drain his depot. Feeding FF pate currently. Will re-test in 1/2 hour, but still unsure of how to proceed. Advice is very much welcome thank you.
 
When you're unsure about shooting, you should stall, don't feed and test again in 20-30 minutes. We're looking to see if the number comes up without the influence of food.

Questions....do you have plenty of supplies like high carb food, Karo/honey/syrup, lots of strips?

Can you test tonight as often as necessary for as long as necessary?
 
He ate some FF pate between testing and prepping the Lantus. The food is up now, but he ate some.
 
Ok, thank you, Chris. We started both on the same day - testing and insulin on 1/17, as per our SS. To confirm - we will skip tonight's shot completely, and feed.
 
Hi with meter variance of 20% it could be the same. There’s definitely not a food bump. You are so new so I would skip. See what others think.
 
I guess we should just test every hour for a while, and let him eat throughout the night, as he normally would? What do we do in the morning? I am so sorry to bother you all... I *SO* appreciate the advice.
 
I think you could test him an hour or 2 after he eats, but really, without giving him more insulin, the food should bring his BG up …..and he may very well bounce too.

I think I'd go back to 1U because you really didn't give that dose a fair try. When you first start lantus, it can take 5-7 days before you see the true results of that starting dose. You increased much sooner than that.
 
@Chris & China (GA) I hear you. I made a mistake and I am beating myself for that. I am skipping dose tonight, feeding, and will resume tomorrow morning at 1u. Thank you. I am sorry I’m impatient and headstrong. This has been really hard.
 
Nice to see some greens for Edward! On your spread sheet, you can put NS (no shot) for the U. You may want to put in the comment section what you did tonight (what you fed him, when you fed him etc.) so you can keep a record and refer back to it in the future. In your title, add the 88@+1 and keep posting your numbers in your title so other forum members can easily keep an eye you two. :)
 
I made a mistake and I am beating myself for that. I am skipping dose tonight, feeding, and will resume tomorrow morning at 1u. Thank you. I am sorry I’m impatient and headstrong. This has been really hard.

No worries....we all start out pretty much the same....we want our babies cured yesterday. We get it!!

There's just no rushing it, but stick with it, ask for help and you'll get there!
 
Chris, I really needed to hear that; thank you. We just tested at +2 after his skipped shot, and he’s at 108. Are we in the clear tonight? Safe to shoot 1u (NOT 1.25u tomorrow)?
 
@Chris & China (GA) I hear you. I made a mistake and I am beating myself for that. I am skipping dose tonight, feeding, and will resume tomorrow morning at 1u. Thank you. I am sorry I’m impatient and headstrong. This has been really hard.
It gets easier I promise!! Every day that goes by I trust that Mimi’s little body knows what it’s doing and will heal itself soon! Even just thinking positively will impact! :bighug:
You’re a good kitty mama!
 
Back
Top