1/24 Cobb AMPS 215 +3.5 208 +6 249 PMPS 376

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Not much new to report from Cobbland this morning. We have a nice AMPS, so I'm interested to see what Cobb does with that. It was nice to see blue during the first cycle on the new dose yesterday. Cobb spent the night on the bed, purring under Matt's arm. It was a nice sleep for both.

Hope everyone has a great Friday!

~Suzanne

Edited with question: I've noticed that Cobb rarely drops at those +2 or +3 tests, usually there's a food spike. I also think most of the time he has a late nadir. Would it be okay to skip some (not all) of those early tests during the day? It would give his little ears a break.
 
Re: 1/24 Cobb AMPS 215

Hi guys .. a nice low yellow to start the day, nicely done cobb! My "guess" would be yes, it's ok to slow down on those tests since you now he has somewhat of a pattern going on .. but please wait for others to chime in! Have a great weekend!
 
Re: 1/24 Cobb AMPS 215

Cobb you are looking good in sunny low yellow :-D Hopefully some people can help you with the testing q. Paws crossed on seeing some nice blue again today! Happy Friday!
 
Re: 1/24 Cobb AMPS 215

Hi Suzanne,
Cobb has certainly come a long way! His numbers are looking better and better. I'm not very good at reading spreadsheets, especially ones where the dose is still "finding it's way", and the kitty is a high-dose kitty. It looks to me like Cobb's most recent cycles are pretty flat and then his numbers go higher at the end of a cycle. I'm sure that one of the experienced people will be able to see the patterns better than I, but to try to answer your question, I would think that you need the data provided at either +2 or +3 to see how relatively active or flat the cycle is going to turn out. Since you are increasing Cobb's dose every two or three days, it will be helpful to be able to compare the cycles. And to compare you need the data. Once you have got him settled into a dose that seems to be "working" well, then would be the time to cut down on the number of tests. But I think that you can certainly test either at +2 or +3--not both. +2 might be more useful. Is there a reason why you are not testing at +1? What do the * mean on your spreadsheet?

I hope someone with experienced eyes will be along to help you out. Have a great day and a fine weekend,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/24 Cobb AMPS 215

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) said:
Hi Suzanne,
Cobb has certainly come a long way! His numbers are looking better and better. I'm not very good at reading spreadsheets, especially ones where the dose is still "finding it's way", and the kitty is a high-dose kitty. It looks to me like Cobb's most recent cycles are pretty flat and then his numbers go higher at the end of a cycle. I'm sure that one of the experienced people will be able to see the patterns better than I, but to try to answer your question, I would think that you need the data provided at either +2 or +3 to see how relatively active or flat the cycle is going to turn out. Since you are increasing Cobb's dose every two or three days, it will be helpful to be able to compare the cycles. And to compare you need the data. Once you have got him settled into a dose that seems to be "working" well, then would be the time to cut down on the number of tests. But I think that you can certainly test either at +2 or +3--not both. +2 might be more useful. Is there a reason why you are not testing at +1? What do the * mean on your spreadsheet?

I hope someone with experienced eyes will be along to help you out. Have a great day and a fine weekend,

Ella & Rusty

Hey, I don't test at +1 because he usually has a food spike between his preshot and +3, not always (like today) but most of the time.

The * represents food. 1 * is a quarter can, 2 * a half can, and so forth.
 
Re: 1/24 Cobb AMPS 215

Hi there ~O) :cool:
cobbsmom said:
I've noticed that Cobb rarely drops at those +2 or +3 tests, usually there's a food spike. I also think most of the time he has a late nadir. Would it be okay to skip some (not all) of those early tests during the day? It would give his little ears a break.
I think it would be OK to skip some occasionally,in the interest of preserving his ears for future poke-a-thons. You will have to use good judgement and your instincts to try and determine when. If you get signals that there could be action ahead you want to monitor more closely . Always be mindful of the unexpected this early in the game. You are still looking for a dose that will bring Cobbs numbers to a better place.

You have good judgement and good instincts and are doing a great job - no doubt about it.

However I would be remiss not to remind you and all who may be following the adventures of Cobb, that the use of aggressive increases and high doses require extra vigilance. This I know first hand.

Just sayin' :cool:
 
Re: 1/24 Cobb AMPS 215

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
However I would be remiss not to remind you and all who may be following the adventures of Cobb, that the use of aggressive increases and high doses require extra vigilance. This I know first hand.

Just sayin' :cool:

No worries. I'm interviewing for some new jobs, which will mean at some point moving Cobb's shot, and then Matt will have to take over some of the testing in the afternoon. So I'm just looking at what the options are. I'm definitely not suggesting less vigilance!! I just want to give him as much of a break as I can, when I can. :cool:
 
Re: 1/24 Cobb AMPS 215 +3.5 208

Personally, I love the +2 or +3...only because it can give me a pretty good idea of where China might be going later in the cycle. If the number is close or a little higher to the pre-shot, I can figure it's going to be a pretty flat day...and even take a break from poking. Maybe you could use those opportunities to get an occasional +10 or +11 (some of the "forgotten" tests, but can be useful to get now and then)

You're right in that it looks like Cobb usually goes up, so if you want to skip them, I'd think it'd be ok most of the time, but as you know, our kitties like to surprise us, and the one time you didn't do it, he might decide to do something different...just to blow your mind :lol:

Hopefully some of the higher dose advisers will be along to give you their wisdom. At those higher doses, I worry about them like an old mother hen..but that's probably because I've been very lucky in that China has responded well to lower doses too!

Good luck with whatever you do. Cobb has a wonderful bean...and I bet the picture of Cobb sleeping under Matt's arm was priceless!!
 
Re: 1/24 Cobb AMPS 215 +3.5 208

Sleeping with a cat purring under your arm - priceless! :cool: :cool: :cool:

Neko often had a late onset on Lantus too. I started out by getting a +2 and at night I'd also get a +3 because it was the before bed test. I quickly discovered the +2 didn't tell me as much as the +3. Then I got lazy (and a lot more data) and figured that with the data from the previous cycle, the PS and a +4, I had a good idea what was going to happen. And I'd spot check to confirm. There were a couple of important exceptions to that rule. If Neko had a low PS (for her below 120) or the cycle before was an all cycle slide, I tested earlier as she might have downward momentum going. For that reason, I often do a a +9 or +10 test, just to see what direction she's going by PS time. I see on Cobb's SS, that sometimes the following PS is the cycle's nadir so an all cycle slide might happen with him too.

I think you have to experiment a bit and gather data on Cobb. For me, I could often get a +4 and then say that was it until the end of the cycle, or even sometimes until PS. But it should be taken in context of the cycles before them. Libby talks about "waves of action" and I could sometimes see a pattern across several cycles. With the important caveat, that sometimes cats don't like to be predictable. :lol:

Another thing I've learned to say "will she be safe this cycle?". Once you've gathered enough data to get an idea what the cycle might look like, it's not really important to know Cobb made it down into upper blue (for example). It is important to know if he made it to green.
 
Re: 1/24 Cobb AMPS 215 +3.5 208

Thanks all! It was just a question that popped into my head this morning so I figured I'd throw it out there. Please do not think I'm being less vigilant, and obviously if Cobb starts the cycle in a blue or green, I will be on heightened alert! It is much easier to monitor him throughout the day, now that he is no longer hiding in a closet or under a bed! :cool:
 
Well, this PITA cat got into what I would assume is contraband! He jumped up on the kitchen counter, just after I finished making a pie, and started licking the foil from cream cheese! Matt got to him pretty quick, but who knows what that has done to his BG. I'd bet money it caused this little PM spike! Smh...cats :roll:
 
At least you know that he likes dairy. That may come in handy if you ever have to use yogurt with live cultures for intestinal issues.

Enjoy your weekend. guys,

Ella & Rusty
 
I've been studying some spreadsheets and see a dose like this "f3.00." Is that a "fattened" dose? So not quite .25 more but not the whole number? Just curious.
 
Yes Suzanne...F=a fattened dose and S= a skinny dose, so if it's a F3.00, it's a drop or two more than 3 units, but not 3.25. If it's a S3.00, it's not quite a full 3 units, but more than 2.75

Sounds like Cobb felt like he deserved a little treat...don't you just love them when they do that?? :lol:

As I said in my condo, this too shall pass!
 
Chris & China said:
Yes Suzanne...F=a fattened dose and S= a skinny dose, so if it's a F3.00, it's a drop or two more than 3 units, but not 3.25. If it's a S3.00, it's not quite a full 3 units, but more than 2.75

Sounds like Cobb felt like he deserved a little treat...don't you just love them when they do that?? :lol:

As I said in my condo, this too shall pass!
Thanks Chris! That makes sense.

Yes, this will pass. I suppose he's made a bit of a turnaround with his numbers but not sure it's quite treat worthy just yet. I have high expectations. :lol:
 
for us with high dose kitties, a "f" or "sk" might never even appear on the spreadsheet! that's what we call 0.25u or 0.5u! :lol:

too funny on the contraband. i didn't open his ss, but if you didn't already, make a note of it in the comments so we don't see it in a week and think something else happened.

i liked the +3. punkin wasn't ever a cat that dove - like i don't think ever. at the +3 i could see if he was headed up or down. i based which future tests i was going to get in that cycle by the +3. some cats are divers, like they've jumped off a cliff from preshot for the next couple of hours, and they absolutely need to get the early in the cycle tests. so it kind of depends on the cat. i only got a +2 and a +3 if I shot a lower ps and was concerned that he might go low.

it is interesting to hear the rationale that people use in explaining when they get which tests.
 
Slippery little devil. You need to have eyes in back or your head :cool:

julie & punkin (ga) said:
for us with high dose kitties, a "f" or "sk" might never even appear on the spreadsheet! that's what we call 0.25u or 0.5u! :lol:
How True :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top