JenM
Member Since 2013
Last condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-20-tink-amps-108-2-140.131771/
Well, Tink decided to live life on the edge last night. Guess I'd gotten too accustomed to him surfing nicely when shooting low blue preshots. Decided he needed to remind me that he's not predictable.
Shot a 123 at PMPS - test 2hrs later and he's down to 70. So, I gave him a little mc with his regular meal, since that was quite a drop and awful early. Wasn't enough. Down to 57 @ 2.5 so I went straight for the high carb. Was able to keep him swinging from 48-53 for a couple hours on that. Didn't even use the whole 5oz can - so that's good at least. Did use most of it though.
Decided to hold this dose despite the low. Seeing lots of blue/yellow and SOME green... but I really don't think a reduction is the way to go. It's been a long while since he had any reduction... but when he did... the general consensus here was that he's a "long term diabetic" at this point (even though it was just shy of a year at the time) and it was safe to wait for 3 dips under 50. So... that's what I'm planning to do here. This is the first time I've fed high carb in AGES. Did pull out the mc last week but that was purely precautionary as he was considerably lower at AM+2 (but still in yellow) and I wasn't able to monitor.
If anyone has a different suggestion, I'm all ears. A lot of you have much more experience than I do.
I am rejoicing a bit that this bounce seems to be mild compared to previous bounces due to sub-50 numbers.
Well, Tink decided to live life on the edge last night. Guess I'd gotten too accustomed to him surfing nicely when shooting low blue preshots. Decided he needed to remind me that he's not predictable.
Shot a 123 at PMPS - test 2hrs later and he's down to 70. So, I gave him a little mc with his regular meal, since that was quite a drop and awful early. Wasn't enough. Down to 57 @ 2.5 so I went straight for the high carb. Was able to keep him swinging from 48-53 for a couple hours on that. Didn't even use the whole 5oz can - so that's good at least. Did use most of it though. Decided to hold this dose despite the low. Seeing lots of blue/yellow and SOME green... but I really don't think a reduction is the way to go. It's been a long while since he had any reduction... but when he did... the general consensus here was that he's a "long term diabetic" at this point (even though it was just shy of a year at the time) and it was safe to wait for 3 dips under 50. So... that's what I'm planning to do here. This is the first time I've fed high carb in AGES. Did pull out the mc last week but that was purely precautionary as he was considerably lower at AM+2 (but still in yellow) and I wasn't able to monitor.
If anyone has a different suggestion, I'm all ears. A lot of you have much more experience than I do.
I am rejoicing a bit that this bounce seems to be mild compared to previous bounces due to sub-50 numbers.
