1/23 Tess AMPS~164 PMBG~80 no shot +2~154

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Tess GA

Member Since 2010
1/22 Condo
1/22 RECAP:
• AMPS~196, fed 1.0oz. 4%, .25u Cosequin , Miralax
• +1~162 fed .50oz. 4%
• +2~92 fed .50oz. 9%
• +3:40~92 after drive to SB, won't eat
• +9~223
• PMPS~280, fed 1.0oz. 4%, .25u
• +1~299 fed .50oz. 4%
• +2~315 fed .50oz. 4%
• +3:45~286 fed .50oz. 4%
• +11~188
• AMPS~164, fed 1.0oz. 4%, .1u LEVEMIR Cosequin , Miralax

Good Morning LL! We made the switch to Levemir today as we will be around to monitor. nailbite_smile We dropped the dose till we see how she does too.

WCR All 5 Ps in place today but she is turning up her nose at Wellness this morning. :roll: I think she developed a taste for the hotdogs yesterday! :lol:

Marjorie, if you really don't like the 33 gauge I'll trade. Both are fine for me.

Michelle, I know on the syringes. I plan on sending them to the Newbie kits, but I hate doing that to a new comer. They are fine for someone doing full units though.
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164 Switched to Levemir

Good luck with the change to Levemir with Tess. I hope she does well on it, and have a nice Sunday.
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164 Switched to Levemir

Good luck with the switch to Lev.

Your comment that Tess is refusing her Wellness due to a preference for hot dogs reminded me of friends of mine. They insisted on feeding their cats human grade cat food although both have health issues and like dry food. (Don't ask. I've had the dry vs. canned discussion with them.) One of their kitties has a big appetite and they have tried any number of strategies to get him to lose weight. They finally decided, based on input from the vet, that they needed to move to a primarily canned food diet for both cats. They tried every, and I do mean every, high quality canned food. No dice. Which canned food would both cats eat with gusto? Fancy Feast. Their comment: "We explained we're trying to give them prime rib and all they want are hot dogs, and not even organic hot dogs. Silly cats didn't listen."
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164 +1~130 Switched to Levemir

Well, it appears to be working. :-D Apparently the Wellness just needed a little garnish this morning w/ chicken dust. Maybe the drop was from not eating as much as usual.

Sienne :lol: :lol: :lol: That is Tess. Her favorite was Sophisticat. We finally got her eating Wellness and EVO, by turning them into soup, but there is a little regression sometimes.

BTB for the bean, it's still only 6am on Sunday morning.
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164 +1~130 Switched to Levemir

good luck with the Lev! And have a nice BTB. I meant to do that but got distracted.
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164 +1~130 +2~80 Switched to Levemir

Good luck with the Lev - I hope it works for Tess. :-D Nice start this AM - :mrgreen: already!

Love Sienne's remark - :lol: :lol: bring on those hot dogs.

have a great day guys - enjoy your BTB. I should have, wish I had, but here I sit, again....

Nice idea on the syringes - I should do that too. yes on the newcomer, yes on the fine for full doses.
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164 +1~130 +2~80 Switched to Levemir

hot_dog_cat.jpg
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164 +1~130 +2~80 Switched to Levemir

ooooh! Good Luck with the switch!!!! :mrgreen:
Glad you are around today...that first cycle or so can be action packed for some. :mrgreen:

I wanna see more pictures of Tess!
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164 +1~130 +2~80 +3~44 Switched to Levemi

Yikes! 44 at +3 with only !.1u Lev. Uh, Tess the idea was to slow these drops down! :o Fed .25 oz of FF Gravy Lovers Chicken 15%.

ooooh! Good Luck with the switch!!!!
Glad you are around today...that first cycle or so can be action packed for some.
Carolyn, that could be a bit of an understatement! :lol:
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164 +1~130 +2~80 +3~44 Switched to Levemi

someone did give you the memo about the possible action, right???

Depending on how the rest of the day goes, maybe ask a general question about future dose. Because excessive action CAN take place in the first cycle or two, then settle...Im not sure if you should (or can at .1???) reduce. But then maybe its best to try and reduce...then work back up. I dont know, Maybe PM Jill? She was real helpful to us when we made the switch. Latte had a big reaction on the first shot too.
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164 +1~130 +2~80 +3~44 Switched to Levemi

remember she still has Lantus shed behind this dose, so all you can do is manage this cycle and see how things shake out when the Lantus shed clears and she is left with just the Lev.

Stay on top of it, though. While this cycle is probably still *mostly* Lantus action, you don't really know how the Lev will come into play (later nadir? Maybe). Be prepared for the low numbers to last a while, if the Lev is helping.
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164 +1~130 +2~80 +3~44 +3.5~57 +4~52Leve

Up tp 57 at +3:30 fed .25oz of 9%

Carolyn, i was advised to shoot a reduced dose when starting Lev. i wasn't expecting this so early though. I wonder if she would have earned a decrease yesterday without the stress of the trip. Then the .1u wouldn't really have been a decrease.

Libby, this is why we waited to start, to be around for a couple of days to see what happens. I was wondering how much the Lantus shed would effect things.

I don't know that I want to try to reduce yet, we'll see how the cycle goes, but I'd like to hold steady for a couple of cycles until the Lantus is out of her system.

This is taking forever, tested again and down a little to 52 @ +4. Fed a little more 9%
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164...+3~44 +3.5~57 +4~52 +5~39Lev

And down again, I guess the nadir is on the move. Fed 15% w/ a drop of syrup.

With everything else going on does this qualify her for a decrease?
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164...+3~44 +3.5~57 +4~52 +5~39Lev

I just stopped by to see whether you had started the Levemir. Seems you have!!
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164...+3~44 +3.5~57 +4~52 +5~39 5.5~52Lev

OK, back up to 52, 15% but no syrup. Good thing we just got in a new supply of strips, but I think I need to order a case!
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164...+3~44 +3.5~57 +4~52 +5~39 5.5~52Lev

Congrats for moving to the lev--looks like it agrees with Tess!!!! Boy does it agree!!! :smile: :? --
Agree that you have a shed with lantus behind it..Hope she levels out by tonite!!
We are rooting for Tess's good numbers today :RAHCAT --Hugs from us!
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164...+4~52 +5~39 5.5~52 +6~44 Lev

And down again, fed 18% this time. It's going to be a long day.
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164...+4~52 +5~39 5.5~52 +6~44 Lev

Still in the 40s more 18%, if she doesn't come up this time we'll resort to syrup.

Oh Boy! I likes the Lev! Lots of the good stuff to eat! -- Tess
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164...+4~52 +5~39 5.5~52 +6~44 Lev

Tess - I am sooooooooooooooo jealous. then again I got my fair share last night. be good now, and eats up all that yummy gravy. ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164...+4~52 +5~39 5.5~52 +6~44 Lev

Boy have I missed a lot this morning!! That is amazing and I would have thought what Libby said...you still have the lantus shed to deal with. It will be very interesting to see how she does on this once that has cleared out. What a busy day for you...yikes!!! Nice catch on those numbers.

Ann..can you pls PM me your mailing address and I'll send the 33s to you? Cool.

Have a wonderful day!
Tess...look at you go...it's like niptinis!!!
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164...+4~52+5~39+5.5~52+6~44 ..+7~42+7.5~

I gave her a drop of syrup w/ her 18% at +7~42 and now some 9% at +7:30 ~59. I'm having a hard time keeping up with this girl.

Tess has barely woken up for all the tests and then eating. I like the 33 gauge lancets for these marathon sessions, she really doesn't notice them. :-D

Marjorie, interesting how this is working out. Almost a cumulative effect, w/ no Lantus the shed is draining but I would think that the Lev would need time to build it's shed. It almost seems like it kicked in on top of the Lantus. Be careful what you wish for. I wanted a later nadir right? ohmygod_smile :lol:
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164...+4~52+5~39 ..+7~42+7.5~59 +8~47

And back down again. Fed 18%, it is going to be a loooooooonnnnnnnngggggggg recap tomorrow. Marjorie, what was your record for tests in one day? ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164..+5~39 ..+7~42+7.5~59 +8~47+8.5~54

hi ann. you're doing an awesome job with tess. she's really giving you a workout!
my take on what we're seeing today is leftover shed action from the lantus combined with that initial lev response we've often seen when switching from lantus to lev. unless tess zooms up before pmps time, i would suggest skipping tonight's shot in an effort to drain the lantus shed before resuming 0.1u of lev tomorrow morning.
just my thoughts...
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164..+5~39 ..+7~42+7.5~59 +8~47+8.5~54

Great job today, Ann! Excited for Tess & the new journey on Lev :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164..+5~39 ..+7~42+7.5~59 +8~47+8.5~54

52 @ +9 it doesn't look like Tess is going zooming anywhere. We aren't feeding this just to see if she will stay up w/ out the added carbs.

Thanks Jill, we had just been discussing that. I didn't think that 39 would have been a true reduction number and all this change just needs to get out of her system. At least we know the Lev works! :lol:
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164..+5~39 ..+7~42+7.5~59 +8~47+8.5~54 +9

Ann, you are holding up like a champ today... nerves of steel! So glad that Tess is responding well to her new insulin, and that the chicken dust trick is working for the Wellness.

For years I fed Willie and Miss Belle either the highest quality canned food or homemade, and they did just fine. But dear god, if I was in a bind and needed to pick up a can of Friskies from the 7-11 up the street, it was like they knew the distinct sound of the pop top and would both come running in and rub all up against my legs just squawking away. I called it their kitty pizza party sleepover and/or kitty crack, depending on my mood and the enthusiasm of their reactions. LOL

Hope you guys have a great night!
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164..+5~39 ..+8~47+8.5~54+9~52+9.5~48+10~

48! Again! We didn't feed after the last test, to see if she could sty up w/out food, guess not. Skipping the shot tonight is looking lie a real possibility. which may be good, because I'm not sure we can get her to eat much tonight after all the extra good fus this afternoon, she's already had an ounce and a half more than usual for this cycle and she usually gets about 5 ounces a day..............now up to 56 @ +10, not feeding this to see if she will stay up this time.

images
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164..+5~39 ..+8~47+8.5~54+9~52+9.5~48+10~

Wow, what a day of excitement and hard work in here! I hope she lets you get some sleep tonight after all this, even if you DO skip the shot!
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164..+5~39 ..+8~47+8.5~54+9~52+9.5~48+10~

Wow missed a whole lot of action in Tess' condo today. Amazing! I admire you guys handling the lows. I think I'd need a xanex or some sort of anxiety pill to keep my feet on the ground. Great job today and best of luck with the switch to Lev. *clapping*
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164..+5~39 ..+8~47+8.5~54+9~52+9.5~48+10~

Ann....I think our record in one day was 20 or maybe even 25? Yikes....you have definitely had one of those days. Believe me, I feel your pain....you just wonder if it will EVER stop and why don't they just pick a nice 50s number and SURF? :YMSIGH: :YMSIGH:

You know, I was thinking about this earlier after seeing the start of your day and wondering if when people are switching from lantus to lev if it wouldn't be a good idea to shoot a lower dose of lantus the night before starting lev to start letting the shed drain knowing how the lev will kick in....hindsight. :roll:
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164..+5~39 ..+9~52+9.5~48+10~56+10.5~60+1

that's an interesting idea marjorie came up with...

had a red bull or monster energy drink yet, ann?

(or a bourbon?) :lol:
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164 PMPS~80

Tess is at 80 for PMPS. It isn't exactly zooming up, I don't think I want to shoot that number tonight Jill or Libby, what do you think"?

Marjorie, Ah Yes! Hindsight, wonderful thing! :lol: It is a good idea and maybe a tip Libby or Jill may wish to pass on. I think part of the problem was that Tess was about ready for a reduction on Lantus anyway.

Celi, If i shoot it will be a 5 Hour Energy, the taste alone can keep you alert. If no shot it will be a single malt Islay Scotch!!! or maybe the Balvenie.
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164 PMPS~80 shoot #???

I would skip. Let her Lantus shed drain and let's see what the Lev will do on its own tomorrow. It's not usually something that is necessary, but in this case I think it's a good idea. It's not as if you can really BCS a dose that is already just a drop. :smile:
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164 PMPS~80 shoot #???

Well I would have a Frappuccino or 2 !! Enough sugar to send me to Mars!! --
I had a night like this where Moonie would not come up! Fed a Lot of HC gravy only & later in the cycle added some HC food 18% + karo--She didnt want to come up, but eventually did! I understand where you are today and- Ann you are doing a fantastic job!-Tess!! You are sure WOWing us today on your new juice!!
WE'll be watching!!HUGS! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164 PMPS~80 shoot #???

Ann: you did an awesome job today and I think Libby has a good idea to not shoot tonight. Her numbers may go up but they'll come back down and it will give you and her little ears a rest. What a day I know you will not want to remember!
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164 PMPS~80 shoot #???

wow - look what I miss when I take an afternoon off from the board. aiyee - awesome job - sure looks like a skipped shot would be in your best bet. what a day for you. she sure didn't want to come up, did she?

i do like Marjorie's idea. hindsight now... but maybe for when others switch.

scotch on the horizon? looks like celi found you some....
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164 PMBG~80 no shot

OK
images


I took Libby's suggestion right away, but had dinner before posting. Sorry, but John made baguettes and they were still warm. Tess actually came in asking for dinner! :lol: Internal clock rather than hunger I think. I gave her very LC since she isn't getting insulin. What a ride today! We'll give her ears a rest tonight, she deserves it, poor baby.

Marjorie, I think your record of 25 tests is not going to be broken, so far only 20. :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164 PMBG~80 no shot

ah - that looks mighty fine - got any extra? :lol: :lol: and to boot you have the night off, and can catch up from a couple of whirlwind days. have a great night!

Impressed - 20 tests! poor Tess's ears....
 
Re: 1/23 Tess AMPS~164..+5~39 ..+8~47+8.5~54+9~52+9.5~48+10~

Marjorie and Gracie said:
You know, I was thinking about this earlier after seeing the start of your day and wondering if when people are switching from lantus to lev if it wouldn't be a good idea to shoot a lower dose of lantus the night before starting lev to start letting the shed drain knowing how the lev will kick in....hindsight. :roll:
i'm not sure reducing the night before is the best option in *most/all* cases when switching from one L to another L.

if you look at tess' ss, you can see her bounce broke. she was going down today whether or not a new insulin was introduced. add in a big response *some* kitties get when they switch to one of the L's ("if" it happens, it usually happens in cycle 1,2, or 3)... well, you can see the result in tess' cycle today.

when a bounce is breaking (numbers on the way down) with a kitty who drops into low numbers anyway, perhaps it's best to hold off on starting the new L until the next cycle.

theoretically, when switching from one L to another L... the old shed is draining while the new shed is being built. unfortunately, there seems to be a shortage of working crystal balls around here. :mrgreen: we never know if or when a particular cat will show an initial response to the new L... which is why we recommend a reduced starting dose as well as monitoring closely.

"The cat should be monitored closely on the first 3 days on Lantus/Levemir: do curves between the AM and PM-doses, e.g. AM pre-shot, +3 hours, +6 hours, +9 hours, PM pre-shot." http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm

just my thoughts...
 
Definitely no need to worry anymore. Tess has eaten about an ounce so far tonight, so she has had all she needs for today. Which is good since she is more interested in snuggling than eating. Which is fine w/ me. Except I still need to get up for that single malt.

Thank you all for the watchful eyes today. I means a lot to know you have support when facing days like this. It helps you keep your cool when you know youa aren't alone.
 
Great info, Jill!!!! Since I am watching closely to see if the lev helps Tess flatten out, then this is super good information to have.

Ann: alright...I guess we'll keep that dubious honor of # of tests in a day until some other newbie comes along with a totally unpredictable baby :lol:

I hope you and John and sweet Tess get lots of rest tonight. At least she did it during the day and not at night!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top