1/23 punkin pmps 445 L+R +1/491 +2/370 +3/322

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member Since 2011
yesterday

on the bright side, this is a lower preshot than last night or yesterday morning . . . :lol:

fed punkin out of the auto feeder this morning. took just a moment of looking at it and listening to its little "whhhhhrrrr" as it turned for him to decide it was ok and dig in. anya, on the other hand, was back behind the corner of the cupboards, looking at it suspiciously with one eye visible and one eye behind the cupboard. if we had to feed her from it she'd starve.

i'm off to work. didn't give him any R this morning because no one would be here to test. i'll catch him at +6 and give him more.

Q - how quickly should i increase his lantus? i'll be out tonight from his shot until about +3, so don't want to try a larger dose of R tonight, and i'll be back at work in the morning again. the first time i can increase the R and monitor it would be tomorrow evening.

have a great day everyone. sorry to leave the ? mark out for hours but i won't be home to remove it.
 
Re: 1/23 punkin amps 349

Hi guys .. oh punkin .. what are we going to do with you and these pinks you seem to be hanging onto? Mocha never once had a problem with her auto feeder, but I know our civvie twix would be just like anya! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/23 punkin amps 349

Punkin won't miss out on his fuds just because of a noisy dish! :lol:

It's interesting to see how much faster the R works and clears for Punkin, than Weezer. This is quite a journey to share.
 
Re: 1/23 punkin amps 349

I don't have acro experience and may be way off, however IMHO Lantus is Lantus and it seems sensible to follow the protocol and give the dose time to show it's stuff, if any.

Looks like the last increase was pre-SRT, so reaction to increases may differ from before.

You checking for ketones? Any ketone history for Punkin?

Sorry no real answer - just my random thoughts. . .

I'm sure others will be around and chime in.
 
Re: 1/23 punkin amps 349

i've never checked him for ketones. i have the supplies, but he is the most secret pee-er there ever was. plus he has these giant furry thighs. i've stalked him, i've shut him in the bathroom with a box of lentils, and nada. i do water his food at every meal, which is why i've never thought much about the litter box - it's not like he has a choice about the volume of water he gets. he does drink some from the bowl.

he doesn't act at all off, though. the ketone question has been on my mind since i saw these numbers.

the child i work with didn't come to school today, so i'm back home. my daughter's having problems so i may have to go retrieve her today. if i do that i won't be here to check every hour on the R.

is it safe to give him .1R at +6 if i can't monitor him? is there enough data with 2 trials - or should i wait? i'm more concerned about measuring accurately than anything else. that's a teeny tiny amount to be accurate on.
 
Re: 1/23 punkin amps 349 +3/345 another Q

julie & punkin said:
is it safe to give him .1R at +6 if i can't monitor him? is there enough data with 2 trials - or should i wait? i'm more concerned about measuring accurately than anything else. that's a teeny tiny amount to be accurate on.

It would seem to me that if your AM+6 today is equal to or greater than yesterdays AM+6 it would be OK.
Have you been able to figure out any sort of onset/duration for R ?
 
Re: 1/23 punkin amps 349 +3/345 another Q

i can't tell much, sandy. libby commented yesterday that it would've kept his BG from going higher than it might otherwise have been.

yesterday at
amps 391 5.5u lantus
+3 418
am+6 347 .1R
+7 208
+8 340
+9 314

pmps 380 5.5u lantus .1R
+1 400
+2 342
+3 344
+5 334

i'm going to have to go get my daughter from college and i'll have to leave before +6. is R one that can be measured and left for my son to give in 1.5 hours?
 
Re: 1/23 punkin amps 349 +3/345 another Q

Maverick was a stealth pee-er also. I had to put the lid on the box and turn the opening towards the wall so he couldn't go. After a few hours I would take off the lid when he started snooping around. Eventually he had to go and I could do a test. I cut a Styrofoam cup down so it was just a tiny amount of cup at the bottom with a longer strip to hold it and maneuver it under him. He couldn't really squat that well because of his hips.
 
Re: 1/23 punkin amps 349 +3/345 another Q

No info on the R, just stopping in to wish you good luck. And to tell Punkin that these pinks are not becoming on him. We wan to see you in at least yellow , big guy.
 
Re: 1/23 punkin amps 349 +3/345 another Q

punkin is an excellent squatter! i could put that on his resume! get nice and low, don't let anyone see anything, don't do it when anyone's looking. if i closed off his box i'd be afraid he'd pee on my bed - he's been known to do that if he has a UTI. "welcome to bed - i got it wet and stinky for you!!!" :lol:

i have to go. i'm going to draw up the .1 and give the son instructions to give it. it can't be too awful to have it sit in the syringe for an hour.

thanks for all the help!
 
Re: 1/23 punkin amps 349 +3/345 another Q

Thankfully Maverick never once ever peed outside the box. Tsk Tsk Punkin! I guess I'd want to pee on my bed too if I had a UTI - never had one but I hear they are painful LOL. Are ketones common in cats with what Punkin has (word escapes my swiss cheese brain)? If they are, what about one of them blood ketone meters where the strips are made of pure gold guaging by how much they cost. Guess they'd be worth their weight in gold if it was needed though. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 1/23 punkin amps 349 +3/345 another Q

I need to ask a question out of ignorance: what does the R mean ? Is it a different kind of insulin? Thanks!
 
Re: 1/23 punkin amps 349 +3/345 another Q

julie & punkin said:
i'm going to have to go get my daughter from college and i'll have to leave before +6. is R one that can be measured and left for my son to give in 1.5 hours?
I did. I used to prepare the (3) syringes (2 for Lantus and 1 guestimated for R), then test/feed/shoot. I had to have them at thee ready to be able to pull off 3 shots in rapid succession. The only question mark was the R and I was able to adjust it quickly after the test.
If the meter gave me a number that didn't need R, I would put the syringe back in the fridge for next time.

R is not fussy like Lantus
 
Re: 1/23 punkin amps 349 +3/345 another Q

I think R is virtually indestructible.

I also think it may make sense to follow the dosing protocol with Lantus even with the acro. I believe that that was the point that Libby made in Weezer's condo with the SSs she linked. The only difference with a HD cat is that the R helps to squish the numbers a bit so the Lantus can latch on and bring the numbers down more easily than when you're using Lantus solo. You may want to ask Libby to clarify, though. since I've not actually done this myself.
 
Re: 1/23 punkin amps 349 +3/345 another Q

KarenAmelia said:
I need to ask a question out of ignorance: what does the R mean ? Is it a different kind of insulin? Thanks!
Hi Karen. The R is Humilin R, and is another type of insulin, that is very potent and can be dangerous in the wrong hands. It is often used in the Emergency Room when a cat is DKA and it is critical that the cat's numbers come down. We do not recommend anyone use it without the guidance of someone who has a lot of experience with it.
 
Re: 1/23 punkin amps 349 +3/345+6/244 +8/410 R +10/412

appears we're surviving. the son checked him at +6, i'd said to shoot if he was 300+, so he didn't shoot. then when he checked him at +8.5, punkin was 410 so he gave it then. THEN he called me to tell me. i nearly had a heart attack til i thought it over and decided that was ok, the nadirs wouldn't coincide.

this is a little nerve-wracking! i feel some urgency though, to get his numbers down, so am determined to get through it. each time we use the R i'm a little more comfortable with it when i see it doesn't make him bottom out.

karen & karrie, punkin has acromegaly - a tumor in his pituitary gland that caused him to become diabetic. it causes the cats to need higher doses of insulin to manage their diabetes, so he's a "different" case. Weezer has the same thing. We discovered saturday that his meter was reading wrong and his numbers were much higher than we thought. hence, this situation.

daughter home, appts for her tomorrow. we'll give punkin another .1 with the lantus tonight.
 
Re: 1/23 punkin amps 349 +3/345+6/244 +8/410 R +10/412

Hoping Punkin just hasn't adjusted to the new dose completely, sometimes they go a little higher before dropping.

When I was using R with KB I used it very sparingly, more to keep numbers from rising than to bring on a drop.
.1 is a very small dose so I wouldn't think that would cause a big drop. It should be out of his system in 3-5
hours but every cat is different Just be careful whenever using it to try not to have nadirs coincide.

I hope you see better results soon, not used to seeing him up there. (( Julie and Punkin ))
 
Re: 1/23 punkin amps 349 +3/345+6/244 +8/410 R +10/412

thanks nina! it's a whole new territory. i appreciate hearing how you use it. and HI! nice to see you! :-D

the DH gave him .25R with his lantus at shot time . . . so i'm staying home to keep checking him and see what happens. again, hoping he doesn't drop too much from it, but there is a long ways to go before it's a problem.

tomorrow morning i'll raise the lantus dose. tonight was the 4th dose of 5.5u.

oh and
woot.gif
got him checked for ketones. negative. couldn't believe it - he'd finished eating and was cleaning up anya's plate in the laundry room. i got the box of lentils, set it down in there and shut the door. decided i'd stay in there til he went. and it wasn't 5 seconds til he peed in the box, got out leaving a giant puddle behind. easy peasy. now i have a technique. we'll see if it works next time.

so can i reuse the lentils? they're non-absorbent. i blotted the whole thing with paper towels and set it back out in the garage. do they need to be rinsed or should i use all new?
 
Re: 1/23 punkin amps 349 +3/345+6/244 +8/410 R +10/412



Nothing like a pee check!!! I feel so lucky...I just take Gracie first thing in the morning, put her in the box, she pees and I catch it in her foil tray and off we go to test!!!

Boy I can sure understand your trepidation....I would think it's kind of like starting insulin all over again just because you don't know what to really expect from YOUR kitty. But you are so awesome and you know more than you ever give yourself credit for.

Good luck and I hope Punkin's numbers come down again into his lovely numbers from before.
 
Re: 1/23 punkin amps 349 +3/345+6/244 +8/410 R +10/412

Nice hooting! Will be interesting to see what .25u R does to the picture.
You had punkin tested for IAA, correct?
Sooo happy to hear you were successful in your mission to get a ketone test!
That's a relief.

Regarding the lentils, well I don't have answers, however do all possible they don't accidentally end up in the soup pot. . .
 
Re: 1/23 punkin +8/410 R +10/412 pmps 445 R

the only thing i'm a teeny bit, not exactly worried, but aware of, is that the most recent dose of R was 4 hours after the last. i thought it wore off by 4 hours - but i guess lantus onset at +2 won't be til 6 hours after the last R shot, so hopefully no issue.

what's done is done, right?! all i can do is monitor now.

of course, i only *thought* he had nice numbers before. now i think he's been sitting in the 300's for the past 10 months. :shock: ah, the clarity of hindsight.
 
Re: 1/23 punkin amps 349 +3/345+6/244 +8/410 R +10/412

(((((julie))))) You are doing a great job in a very difficult situation. I'm so glad there are folks in LL who can provide some guidance. Plus, you and punkin and dh and ds got a HUGE cheering section.
Liz
 
Re: 1/23 punkin amps 349 +3/345+6/244 +8/410 R +10/412

reuse the lentils? :shock:

it never occurred to me to use lentils in a litter box so that you could collect urine...at least I think that's what you're talking about--?
 
Re: 1/23 punkin amps 349 +3/345+6/244 +8/410 R +10/412

yeah, when you test for ketones you need the urine to not absorb into litter. so you can use aquarium gravel, lentils, a breeze box without the absorbent pad under it, hmmm, i can't remember what else. or if your cat cooperates you can stick the ketone test strip in the urine stream, or some people stick an old soup ladle or spoon and catch some to test.

OMG you're not thinking i'm going to EAT them! :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :lol:

i just mean, can i leave the box and use it again! ohmygod_smile what a thought!

now he's at
pmps 445 5.5u lantus, 0.25R
+1 491
+2 370
+3 322

i don't really know how to interpret any of these numbers, though.

eta - sandy - just saw your post. i take so long to post sometimes i miss some. if i weren't so VERBOSE i wouldn't have that problem! :lol: punkin was 7% iaa - so basically normal. under 10% was normal, i believe. and no, these lentils aren't ever going to be in the kitchen! ewwwwwwww
 
Awww Julie, thanks for your comments on Bailey's condo! That was such a nice thing to say :-D

Awesome on the ketone testing, and keeping track of the L + R... it's making me a little dizzy so I can't imagine how it feels for you :lol: I know nothing about R but it looks like he's gotten a decent response tonight! You guys are doing great, give Punkin scritches for me cat_pet_icon
 
When we were using the smart cat box the litter was safflower seeds, same theory as lentils. I don't know how apt to sprout the lentils might be. With the safflower seeds, I rinsed them a few times before tossing. That box was for every day use and the seeds lasted a week or so before having to be replaced.
 
Hello Punkin you're not doing it right please go and visit Weezer to see how it's done, you will make your mamabean and the rest of us very happy if you do.

Mamabean you might want to update your signature to get rid of that reference to the Freestyle Heartbreaker, my heart breaks for you everytime I see it :cry:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top