1/23 Gandolf PMPS 279

Status
Not open for further replies.

cmk77

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=35023
WCR: All P's Present

Good Morning Everyone :mrgreen:

I need advice so am signing in early so I can get the support I'm going to need to dose Gandolf this morning. He's going through changes and as you can see he riding low this morning. Yay! We're going to shoot in about 30 minutes and want to be prepared. He's eaten and it's still dropping. So how do I handle this :?: ?

Cee
 
Re: 1/23 Gandolf + 10 86 +11.5 77 Dosing help needed

nice. :smile:

Will you be home today to monitor? Let's see what the +12 is.
 
Re: 1/23 Gandolf + 10 86 +11.5 77 Dosing help needed

Yes, I can be here today. Much later in the day I'm going out to visit DD, but that will be after nadir.
 
Re: 1/23 Gandolf + 10 86 +11.5 77 Dosing help needed

I'm thinking that unless he is still really dropping at +12, then this might be your opportunity to "shoot low to stay low." Maybe Gandolf is wanting to get back to the nice numbers he used to have all the time.
 
Re: 1/23 Gandolf + 10 86 +11.5 77 Dosing help needed

Does that mean to shoot the whole 3.75 and monitor, using HC if needed?
 
Re: 1/23 Gandolf + 10 86 +11.5 77 Dosing help needed

hmmm. Gandolf is probably just nadiring late, but since it has been a while since he has been in this range at shot time I would be tempted to stall a little. What do you think?
 
Re: 1/23 Gandolf + 12 66

Stalling helps. I'll wait 15 m. and check again. Obviously his numbers are still dropping. So when do I feed and how do we shoot a falling number?
 
Re: 1/23 Gandolf + 12 66

don't feed yet. You want to see that the drop has stopped without the influence of food.

This should help: Dealing with Low Preshots

With Gandolf, shooting a falling number is not normally a problem. Since he nadirs so late, you know that he is probably just reaching his nadir and that is why he is dropping. I'm sure he is about to turn upward. The only reason I'm suggesting stalling this time is that his patterns have changed some from what they used to be, so we just want to be extra sure that's what is going on.

The other common reason cats are dropping at shot time is that they might have a bounce that happens to be clearing out at PS time. Those are trickier to shoot because you don't know for sure when the number will head back up.
 
Re: 1/23 Gandolf + 12 66

WOOOOOHOOOOO 54!!!! He's hungry and asking for food. I'd love to navigate through this without a big bounce again. Day before yesterday when he clocked in at 86 we did a BCS and managed that OK. Just seems 3.75 looks big next to 54 and dropping. What if we just do the same and I think I'll wait just a few more minutes and perhaps Gandy will earn that official dosecrease down. But this time should I just do the 2.75 like we did the other night?
 
Re: 1/23 Gandolf + 12 66

I think Libby's point is that you don't want to shoot the dropping number since Gandolf may be clearing a bounce. I'd think stalling a bit more is in order.
 
Re: 1/23 Gandolf + 12 66

Doesn't dropping blood sugar also mean he needs to get some food into his system?
We're still stalling everything, holding on the food as well. I'm feeling we may need to use food to help flatten this out.
Raise it and manage it --just how much to shoot is my question. Am I thinking right?
 
Re: 1/23 Gandolf + 12 66

OK +12.5 = 64 he's on the rise now. Shall I shoot the full dose and monitor?
 
Re: 1/23 Gandolf + 13 64 on the rise again

I think we can shoot and monitor and I feel like a dosecrease is in order to 3.50. I hope this rapid rise isn't a bounce but it could be. Am I thinking right?
 
Re: 1/23 Gandolf + 13 64 on the rise again

This is still within the range of a surf - you need to think about meter variance. Get one more test to make sure what's happening.
 
Re: 1/23 Gandolf + 13 64 Please Advise

Gandolf hasn't earned a decrease. He may be getting close but given his departure from better numbers into yellows and pinks, you want to stick with the 3.75 until he earns the decrease. Keep in mind that you'll be shooting late which acts as a reduction.
 
Re: 1/23 Gandolf + 13 64 Please Advise

Great point, Sienne. just tested at 58, which is still a rise. I am comfortable shooting but do I decrease the dose? I am able to monitor so just want to do our best.

Thanks for all the support everyone.
 
Re: 1/23 Gandolf + 13 64 Please Advise

it looks like Gandolf is surfing, so you should be fine to shoot. Just be sure to get a +1 in case he needs some extra feeding in the first part of the cycle.

I agree with Sienne that a reduction hasn't been earned, but if you feel better shooting 3.5 today (call it a BCS) then going back to 3.75 tonight that would work. I think what we confirmed is that this wasn't a bounce clearing, but it was Gandolf's late nadir making a reappearance.
 
Re: 1/23 Gandolf + 13 64

Gandolf hasn't earned a decrease. He may be getting close but given his departure from better numbers into yellows and pinks, you want to stick with the 3.75 until he earns the decrease. Keep in mind that you'll be shooting late which acts as a reduction.
[/quote]


Shot 3.75 and will monitor very carefully. I will also stay close to forum today.

I clearly see your point and I defer to this cause I know you know better than I (not even that it was ever a question).
What I say next is with the utmost respect and honor: You are some tough coaches! And when I feel like whimping out, it's this great coaching that gets me through these HARD SPOTS. (Hands in prayer position before heart with a bow).
Thank you. I believe in coaching.

Cee
 
Re: 1/23 Gandolf + 13 64 Please Advise

Cee, I wonder if Libbby and Sienne, (and others), realize just how much we respect and rely on their wisdom! Also their willingness to share their knowledge.
Sometimes they will say something that I've read a dozen times in the stickies, and suddenly it makes sense.
Thank you, Ladies.
Good shooting, Cee. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top