Jen&Eddie
Very Active Member
Yesterday's condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=112365
AMPS = 318 (1.4u)
+6 = 264/249 (immediately before and immediately after food)
+10 = 269
PMPS = 303
+3 = 229
+4 = 227
+5 = 185 (1/2 can FF)
+6 = 150
I'm not sure how long I should let this dose settle in, or if my approach is totally wrong, or if I'm missing something here. Trying to keep my patience pants on, and my intention is to continue to hold this dose for at least two or three more cycles, unless advised of something that makes more sense.
You can see Eddie got a pretty flat cycle on the first cycle at 1.4u which was 1/20 AM, then he had a nice PM cycle. Following that, the AM cycle of the 1/21 cycle was high and flat, and I think this is reflects a rebound cycle. Then, the PM cycle is good again on the 21st. That's four cycles on 1.4u. Next, on the 1/22 AM cycle it was OK. No blues that I saw, but a nice approx. 50% decrease at nadir. Then PM cycle last night on 1/22 was high and flat again.
Eddie has been known to have at least one flat cycle, and then will precipitously drop generally in the PM, when increasing the dose. He's also been known to have extra long duration from time to time. He seems to need some time to settle into a dose.
This morning we had a lower AMPS but I won't be able to see what Eddie's numbers are until approximately AM +6.
I'm working on a sliding scale and with a "tough love" approach in terms of shooting through the rebounds. My thought process is that at some point, Eddie's liver will stop freaking out when he's seeing relatively normal numbers, and stop rebounding. Given his good response in at least two of the cycles to this dose, I don't think it's a matter of not enough insulin, but I certainly could be wrong. I read somewhere that the "liver panic" not only releases glucagon but also hormones that have the effect of creating temporary insulin resistance. I *think* this is what I'm seeing with his high flat cycles following a good cycle, where it looks like the insulin is having zero effect.
I'm not worried about the pre-shot bounces, but I do worry about the high-flat cycles where the entire cycle, or even day :shock: is a rebound. Thankfully Eddie isn't showing any signs that he's any worse for the wear, but I don't think my "tough love" approach is going to work if I can't get him to normal numbers because he's in a cycle-long rebound every other cycle. I also don't want to set him up for chronic rebound. I'm all for a more aggressive approach, and that's what I'm doing with my current "experimental" protocol, but if it isn't going to work, then I want to try something else.
This morning was cycle 7 at this dose. Looking for thoughts and guidance here. If someone sees something else going on in Eddie's numbers rather than what I'm seeing, I'm definitely open to suggestions.
AMPS = 318 (1.4u)
+6 = 264/249 (immediately before and immediately after food)
+10 = 269
PMPS = 303
+3 = 229
+4 = 227
+5 = 185 (1/2 can FF)
+6 = 150
I'm not sure how long I should let this dose settle in, or if my approach is totally wrong, or if I'm missing something here. Trying to keep my patience pants on, and my intention is to continue to hold this dose for at least two or three more cycles, unless advised of something that makes more sense.
You can see Eddie got a pretty flat cycle on the first cycle at 1.4u which was 1/20 AM, then he had a nice PM cycle. Following that, the AM cycle of the 1/21 cycle was high and flat, and I think this is reflects a rebound cycle. Then, the PM cycle is good again on the 21st. That's four cycles on 1.4u. Next, on the 1/22 AM cycle it was OK. No blues that I saw, but a nice approx. 50% decrease at nadir. Then PM cycle last night on 1/22 was high and flat again.
Eddie has been known to have at least one flat cycle, and then will precipitously drop generally in the PM, when increasing the dose. He's also been known to have extra long duration from time to time. He seems to need some time to settle into a dose.
This morning we had a lower AMPS but I won't be able to see what Eddie's numbers are until approximately AM +6.
I'm working on a sliding scale and with a "tough love" approach in terms of shooting through the rebounds. My thought process is that at some point, Eddie's liver will stop freaking out when he's seeing relatively normal numbers, and stop rebounding. Given his good response in at least two of the cycles to this dose, I don't think it's a matter of not enough insulin, but I certainly could be wrong. I read somewhere that the "liver panic" not only releases glucagon but also hormones that have the effect of creating temporary insulin resistance. I *think* this is what I'm seeing with his high flat cycles following a good cycle, where it looks like the insulin is having zero effect.
I'm not worried about the pre-shot bounces, but I do worry about the high-flat cycles where the entire cycle, or even day :shock: is a rebound. Thankfully Eddie isn't showing any signs that he's any worse for the wear, but I don't think my "tough love" approach is going to work if I can't get him to normal numbers because he's in a cycle-long rebound every other cycle. I also don't want to set him up for chronic rebound. I'm all for a more aggressive approach, and that's what I'm doing with my current "experimental" protocol, but if it isn't going to work, then I want to try something else.
This morning was cycle 7 at this dose. Looking for thoughts and guidance here. If someone sees something else going on in Eddie's numbers rather than what I'm seeing, I'm definitely open to suggestions.