1/22 Vet wants to go up a full dose!

Malcolm & Heidi

Member Since 2023
I sent my cats curve test to my vet and they want my cat to go up a full dose. I do not feel comfortable doing that. He's on 2.5 twice a day but they want him to go up to 3.5. I'm not doing that. I know he needs to go up some, so I was thinking .25, so he'd be on 2.75. And then I would go from there.
Here are his curve from yesterday:

306 (amps) +2 285 +4 286 +6 317 +8 327
+10 327 +12 324
325 (pmps) +2 293

what do y'all think? should I just go up .25 or more, like my vet wants? I'm so frustrated with them. They started him on 1 when he first got diagnosed and then quickly jumped him to 2. Which I feel has messed up his numbers since.
 
Your instincts are correct. Cats respond well to smaller changes in dose.

I tried clicking on the link that is your spreadsheet, and it says the file is deleted. We'll be able to help you better if we can look at his blood sugar data.

I see you have DKA in the fairly recent past. Are you testing regularly at home for ketones?
 
When I tap on your Spreadsheet it says it's been deleted
This is what it says
Sorry, the file you have requested has been deleted.

Make sure that you have the correct URL and the owner of the file hasn't deleted it.

6 Cycles means 3 days, every 12 hour cycle is considered one cycle
AM is one cycle and the PM cycle would be the second cycle

I see on one of your previous threads
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/insulin-dosage-help.284693/#post-3134615

Elise said
If you are feeding a canned or raw diet I would consider switching to TR because we increase more quickly and with past DKA it would get into lower bg numbers more quickly. With TR you can increase every 6 cycles until you start to see blue or green nadirs . You would need 4 tests each day.. you would need amps, pmps, and one additional test each cycle.

I assume you are following the SLGS method ? It doesn't say what you are following in your signature and we can't see your SS
 
Last edited:
I don't know why you can't see my spreadsheet. I have it set for everyone to see. I'm having trouble with this site honestly, when I went to post, it only said to post a thread. I didn't see anywhere to just post.
I bought ketone tests but I opened the seal all the way so I don't think I can use them since I think they're contaminated now. I guess I should order more.
As far as the tr or slgs I still don't really understand that. Im still all new to this. He got diagnosed in November of 2023
 
We can't see the spreadsheet because somehow you deleted the file. Or you put the wrong link in your signature. Let me see if @Bandit's Mom can help you. She's in India, so not sure if she's awake now.

If you bought a container of ketones test strips, you need to open the seal to take one out. As long as the rest are still in the container and nothing else got in the container, they might be OK. However, they are typically only good for a certain period of time once the package is opened. It should say on the package how long that time period is.

TR (Tight regulation) and SLGS (start low go slow) are the names of the two dosing methods we use here. There is a sticky note on dosing methods you can read at some point to get the details. The two dosing methods tell you how long to stay with a dose, and when it needs to be increased or decreased. The details on length of time to hold a dose, when to increase and decrease differ between the two dosing methods. But first, let's get that spreadsheet viewable by us, then we can see what makes sense to do to the dose. Going up by 1 unit, however, is too big an increase at his size of dose.
 
I'm really not sure why my spreadsheet isn't working. I clicked share and have it set to anyone can see it..... I guess I'll delete and try to upload it again if I can figure that out again. I'm tech illiterate.
I've read the sticky but I still don't really understand the methods. I need it simplified.
Also, I opened the entire seal on the container after reading you're supposed to only make slit to pull one out a time, so I think they're ruined now
 
It says the URL can’t be found when I click on it.
You asked about cycles. A cycle is 13 hours and starts when you give insulin. So there’s a morning and an evening cycle.
 
I'm going to assume you are following the Start Low Go Slow dosing method for now, which is our more conservative one. You are good to increase to 2.75 units. With our dosing methods, we don't hold the dose as long as you have been. With SLGS, you hold the dose a week, do a curve, then increase if their nadirs or low point are not in the 90-149 range. Even if you were following Tight Regulation for dosing, you are still good to increase to 2.75 units.
 
Ok thanks. I hadn't planned on going that long with the 2.5 dose. I just hadn't had any time with my work schedule to do a curve. My job had me out all day from 9 am until 7 pm up until last Friday without any days off. finally had a chance to do a curve. Should I start the 2.75 dose tonight then at the pm shot?
 
Last edited:
Back
Top