1/22 Titus OTJ trial starting tomorrow

SarahTitus

Member Since 2019
Hello,

I’m going to be starting an OTJ trial tomorrow. I could’ve started today maybe, but felt better giving him at least one more day of insulin. I didn’t quite get to his food within 2 hour window this morning and when I came out he was by his bowl so I assume he snacked a little, but being 86 at amps I figured one more day couldn’t hurt. I haven’t been able to get as many readings this week. I’ve been really busy at work and sick.

Crossing my fingers for a successful OTJ trial and moving into remission. I’ve seen 2 license plates recently that had ‘OTJ’ I’m hopeful it’s a sign! Haha
 
Last edited:
Hi:)
Are you sure you don't want to use the one drop dose for a week first? It may seem unnecessary, but it gives such a gentle lift off! It gave me extra confidence that insulin was no longer needed when injections stopped. Whatever you do, I wish you and Titus the best!!
 
Here is the link to your previous post here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-13titus-doing-well-on-25-heading-towards-1.224257/

The protocol doesn't mention a 1 drop dose. It can be a useful transition for kitties who are still seeing a bit of higher numbers. You can also measure the number of drops in your 0.1 unit dose, by twisting the plunger and see how many come out. If more than a couple, you might want to try a smaller dose. My BD syringes were so bad at one point, that Neko's 0.25 unit dose as measured by calipers, was below the zero line. :rolleyes:
 
  • We've found many kitties benefit from reducing the dose from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely. During a two week OTJ trial, you want to see mostly green numbers (under 100) with only a few random blue numbers between 100 - 120 to help ensure a strong remission. Most kitties will be in the range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) overall.
Thanks Wendy - When I was reducing Tina, I was told the next step was the drop dose. I ran with it, and didn't go back and check what I just pasted above.
 
You can also measure the number of drops in your 0.1 unit dose, by twisting the plunger and see how many come out. If more than a couple, you might want to try a smaller dose. My BD syringes were so bad at one point, that Neko's 0.25 unit dose as measured by calipers, was below the zero line. :rolleyes:

This is helpful! That’s part of the problem with a single drop. I have trouble seeing the .1 mark, let alone trying to measure such a small amount. I did try a drop tonight. He was 74 pmps. He’s staying under 100, and has for a while, so I still feel good about it. If he’s under 90 tomorrow for amps I’ll start a trial. If he’s over I’ll try the drop dose for a 3-7 days depending on how he’s does.

Thanks always for your help!
 
Hi:)
Are you sure you don't want to use the one drop dose for a week first? It may seem unnecessary, but it gives such a gentle lift off! It gave me extra confidence that insulin was no longer needed when injections stopped. Whatever you do, I wish you and Titus the best!!
It just seems so minimal and I figured to follow the protocol is best. If he’s above 90 at amps tomorrow I’ll try to do a drop for the next few days.
 
Back
Top