1/22 Slashy AMPS 266

Status
Not open for further replies.
Since you aren't thinking about increasing until the middle of next week it might be to soon to determine, but base on the past week's number you would be within protocol if you decided to increase.

Just for my own information, I know Slashy is on 4 units, which could be considered a high dose, but is there a reason you are thinking to increase by .5 unit instead of a micro dose of .25. The reason I ask is looking at Slashy's SS it appears that at 4 units his is getting down into the mid 100's, and from everything I have read, sometimes even a drop can make a difference. Plus, is it possible that some of those spikes into the 200 and 300's could be food related, meaning could he have eaten within 2 hours of the test?

Also, maybe some of the veterans can help you and me both understand the rebound effect. Is it possible that all the yellows you saw on 1/18 are a rebound from being in the green on 1/15 and 1/16.

Other than the splash of pink yesterday morning, Slashy is doing a heck of a lot better than he was prior to last week. I am interested to know what the veterans say about the dose increase, and why they say it because it would be great information to have for future evaluation of the spreadsheets.
 
msarobix said:
Since you aren't thinking about increasing until the middle of next week it might be to soon to determine, but base on the past week's number you would be within protocol if you decided to increase.

Just for my own information, I know Slashy is on 4 units, which could be considered a high dose, but is there a reason you are thinking to increase by .5 unit instead of a micro dose of .25. The reason I ask is looking at Slashy's SS it appears that at 4 units his is getting down into the mid 100's, and from everything I have read, sometimes even a drop can make a difference. Plus, is it possible that some of those spikes into the 200 and 300's could be food related, meaning could he have eaten within 2 hours of the test?

I am not comfortable w/ .25 changes. Doesnt seem realistic that one can hit the same mark on a consistent basis, especially if more than 1 person is giving insulin. He was doing very well at 5, until the day we were green at amps, thats when we started at 4. Then, the pancreatitis set in.

Regarding eating.. he eats constantly, every 2-3 hours. We have a feeder during the day. He eats at 7:30 when I leave the house. Feeder is set at 9a, noon and 3p. We get home at 5-5:30. He currently is on a med that has to be given on an empty stomach so lately he doesnt eat from 3-6:30. At night, I am the feeder :) I dont get alot of sleep.

Also, maybe some of the veterans can help you and me both understand the rebound effect. Is it possible that all the yellows you saw on 1/18 are a rebound from being in the green on 1/15 and 1/16.

As I understand it, rebounds are fairly immediate. You don't get them 2 days after a good day. The bounce is the liver "panicking".

Other than the splash of pink yesterday morning, Slashy is doing a heck of a lot better than he was prior to last week. I am interested to know what the veterans say about the dose increase, and why they say it because it would be great information to have for future evaluation of the spreadsheets.
 
Slashy & Rick said:
I am not comfortable w/ .25 changes. Doesnt seem realistic that one can hit the same mark on a consistent basis, especially if more than 1 person is giving insulin. He was doing very well at 5, until the day we were green at amps, thats when we started at 4. Then, the pancreatitis set in.

Regarding eating.. he eats constantly, every 2-3 hours. We have a feeder during the day. He eats at 7:30 when I leave the house. Feeder is set at 9a, noon and 3p. We get home at 5-5:30. He currently is on a med that has to be given on an empty stomach so lately he doesnt eat from 3-6:30. At night, I am the feeder :) I dont get alot of sleep.

As I understand it, rebounds are fairly immediate. You don't get them 2 days after a good day. The bounce is the liver "panicking".

I can see how you wouldn't be comfortable with a .25 increase if more than one person is doing the insulin shots. I did have to practice and I think I am getting really close to being consistent. Maybe sometimes she gets a half a drop more or less, which is probably +/-.05 difference, but for the most part I think it is pretty consistent. Once I understand how to twist the plunger it was much eaiser, and I just watch for the drops on the needle and go from there. Plus, I us a magnifying glass to check accuracy with the line. I know how much below the line the plunger is and I try to get the same amount each time.

You are probably correct about rebounds from low numbers, maybe I am thinking about the rebound from dose increase, which can happen between 1-3 days after the dose increase.

So the yellow +9 on 1/19 might be food related, but that doesn't really explain the yellow PMPS and the pink and yellow AMPS.

Like everyone else I am sure you are very frustrated when after a few days of great numbers you get a pink. I sure hope you are able to figure it all out. I will be watching and learning right along with you.

By the way, I hear you about the sleep. I have been getting up at least once during the night to do a BG reading and usually earlier than usualy to pull the food 2 hours before AMPS. I just think how I am doing it for Sami and her health and I just deal with it. I would do just about anything to make my kitties feel better. My husband thinks I am crazy, but my cats are my kids and I treat them as such.
 
By the way, I hear you about the sleep. I have been getting up at least once during the night to do a BG reading and usually earlier than usualy to pull the food 2 hours before AMPS. I just think how I am doing it for Sami and her health and I just deal with it. I would do just about anything to make my kitties feel better. My husband thinks I am crazy, but my cats are my kids and I treat them as such.[/quote]

LOL.. you are a better person than me. He wakes me up 2-3 times per night to feed him. Its all I can do to drag myself up to give him a snack, much less test him (I get scolded by the team here for not getting more nighttime checks..I do my best). We cannot leave food out because 1) he is a pig and would eat it all in no time, and 2) we have 4 other (healthy) who would chow it down as well. This was not an issue before as we used the trough method w/ dry food. We went to canned only in Oct and they are always after us to eat. Slashy is the worst.
 
Rick, will you be able to get any daytime spot checks tomorrow? It's hard to tell if the pink is a bounce from a lower number, or the dose losing steam. Either one of those things can look the same without spot checks. I'm guessing he could use a little increase, but can't be sure without knowing where the pink came from.

IMHO, you don't have room for a 0.5 increase, Slashy is surfing nicely in the blues and we would just want to bring that range down a little bit, and I think he is at a point where increasing by more than 0.25 at a time would be too much.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top