1/22 Rusty PMPS 105, +4.5 82. dose shave.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=61678

Today thus far:
AMPS 126
+3 84
+5.75 30/ 32 on retest: fed lunch of FF T&G + 1 tsp. Karo
+6.25 74
+7.25 61
+8.5 61 snack: FF T&G
PMPS 105 usual dinner (Wellness Turkey); shaved dose to skinny 1.50.
+4.5 82

Good Morning, Everyone,

Rusty is a bit high this morning. It could be owing to any or all of the following: the partial fur shot yesterday at AMPS; the shaved dose; a bounce; too much FF T&G; eating the last of the bedtime food too close to AMPS; skimpy blood sample this morning; the fact that Rusty is a cat. In any event, I'm sticking with the "straight" 1.5 units (shaved from a lightly fat 1.50) and we'll see what happens today.

Rusty had a good test, breakfast (combo of Wellness Turkey and BG turkey), a good shot, a good play, and is now chillaxing on his cushion by the radiator. The outside temperature is -1, but it's supposed to get up into the 20s. The sun just cleared the tree line and it looks to be a beautiful day. Edward and I are going on a snowshoe hike later this morning with some friends. Rusty will have lunch served by his automat, but we should be back in the early afternoon. We'll get a +3 before we leave.

bbl, Everyone have a good day. Sending healing thoughts and vines to Sid, Rocket, Moonie, and all kitties and beans who could use some.

Ella & Rusty

Hey kitties, there's good ice on the pond. Let's do some more curling today. See you later.
Rusty
 
Re: 1/22 Rusty AMPS 126

Hi Ella,

It is always nice to hear your reports on Rusty. He's such a happy kitty. Chillin in his radiator place sounds appropriate for weather like this. It is cold here too, and suppose to get into the 20's also.

Have a nice day and great hike.
 
Re: 1/22 Rusty AMPS 126

Morning everyone!

It's a great start for Rusty, and yes, it could be anything for the underlying cause of the higher BG. Only Rusty knows. :-D I hope he likes this dose.

Wow, another cold one for you, but it does sounds like a great day is in the making. Enjoy your snowshoe adventure! Most of our snowy weather is gone now. Back to the rainy day patterns for us. :roll:
 
Re: 1/22 Rusty AMPS 126

Morning!! Rusty's number isnt bad at all, and can give a nice surf in a few hrs...
Moonie & I have been playing with the stick with the long fabric attached--I call it fishing for cats or cat fishing pole :lol: You & Rusty inspired it!
Moonie grabs it with her paw, while I gyrate the long fabric thing & she gets excited by it--By that I mean actually lifts her paw to stop it, or grabs it in her mouth! This is big playing for her with me...
I always loved playing with her--Love that Rusty is so playful-It's great.
Hope you have a great day snowshoeing around(I'm glad I can walk around :lol: )
Have a great Sunday--we will be in nyc--Hugs & Love from us!!
 
Re: 1/22 Rusty AMPS 126, +3 84

Morning bootiful Rusty boy - wish WE had those numbers.

Hugs Ella - you too Stu as you're sittin on Mama's shoulder...
 
Re: 1/22 Rusty AMPS 126, +3 84, +5.75 30/32!, +6.25 74

Hi again,
Our snowshoe hike wasn't as long as we thought it was going to be, so we were home by lunch time. Rusty was busy eating the shards of breakfast left in his bowl (his automat hadn't opened yet). So we tested: bg= 30!! retested: 32! Rusty got all FF T&G for lunch, plus a drop of Karo. Retested 1/2 hour later, and he was at 74. I know that's the Karo speaking (and the T&G) and will watch him closely this afternoon.

Question: We just took a shave-reduction from a lightly fat 1.50 to a "regular" 1.50. I'm increasingly leaning toward the possibility that the 126 this morning was a bounce and that Rusty may have gone low last night (see my list of possible "reasons" for the 126 this morning in my initial post today). My question is: should I take another shave reduction (to a skinny 1.50) because of the 30? Or should I take a full .25 reduction to 1.25 units? I'm assuming that I should take a reduction, just am not sure how much of one to take. Advice and/or opinion would be welcomed!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/22 Rusty AMPS 126, +3 84, +5.75 30!, +6.25 74, +7.25 6

Wow! Good catch there! At least he was feeding himself!I'm not sure, this could still be the shed draining. But normally a 30 is an automatic reduction. Rusty didn't go really low for his last reduction though, it was the overall numbers. I think you could try another shave, you can always go back up.

At least this will bump you up.

Rusty! More curling! Tess is "in the House!" -- Tess
 
Re: 1/22 Rusty AMPS 126...+5.75 30(!), +6.25 74...+8.5 61

Thanks, Ann. I was thinking along the same lines. He's been surfing the low 60s since +7.25 and just had his normal afternoon snack at +8.5 (FF T&G today). After the snack he wanted to play and we had a rousing game with the glitter/tinsel wand and the crinkle sack that his Auntie LindaBean brought for him when she visited us. He absolutely loves those toys! Now he's napping on his day bed next to the radiator. I hope he doesn't bounce. I think I'll shave his dose down to a skinny 1.50 and see what happens over the next few cycles.

bbl,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/22 Rusty AMPS 126...+5.75 30(!), +6.25 74...+8.5 61

Ella

Wow...glad the snowshoe hike was short.

I agree with Ann....it could be the shed since a dose can affect several subsequent cycles BUT you had a partial fur shot yesterday morning which, if it was partial, would have drained the shed a wee bit. I also agree that I would probably just shave and take him right back up if he fails the reduction.

Just as a note: remember that when there is a fur shot, skipped shot, stall, etc., we start counting cycles over again so you would consider this to be his 2nd cycle at 1.5u...again..that's just a note. It doesn't affect
whether you take him down. Good luck with the reduction.
 
Re: 1/22 Rusty AMPS 126...+5.75 30(!), PMPS 105. dose shave.

Hi again, and thanks to Ann and Marje for their help. I took Rusty's dose down to a skinny 1.5 (I think; it was not "scientifically" measured). Rusty enjoyed his Wellness Turkey dinner and has retired to his cushion by the radiator to await Edward's return from the Met HD broadcast of "The Enchanted Island". (an "encore" of yesterday's broadcast to movie theaters). I didn't go because it didn't start until 4 P.M. and would be way past Rusty's PMPS when we got home. That's OK. I heard the radio broadcast yesterday (spectacular singing).

Off to visit condos until Edward gets home and we have dinner. Thanks to everyone for visiting us today.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/22 Rusty AMPS 126...+5.75 30(!), PMPS 105. dose shave.

Hi Ella,

Good luck with the dose shave. Go Rusty!

Looking forward to watching Downton Abbey tonight. My sister ordered a DVD of the first year's episodes for my birthday gift, so I will be able to catch up on everything I missed.

Hope that you, Edward, and Rusty have a good night.
 
Re: 1/22 Rusty AMPS 126...+5.75 30(!), PMPS 105. dose shave.

Yikes on that 30! Fingers crossed for a good outcome on the new dose.

I love the HD broadcasts of the Met and try to see them whenever I can, although I missed The Enchanted Island. Darn! I missed Plácido Domingo as Neptune!

I hope you're having a nice evening, Ella.
 
GREAT CATCH!!!!!!!

curling%20cat.jpg
 
Well done, Rusty and Ella!

I have a question from when Linda came to visit. Did Rusty remember her? Do you think he played extra hard to show off for her? :-D
Liz
 
Purrfect pic, Celi!!! curling is really fun to watch, but the rules are complex.

Liz: yes, I'm sure Rusty remembered Linda. He's very smart. I know also that her playing technique really made a hit with him, and I have tried to incorporate some of what I watched her do when we play with those toys now (and I've also developed some new "moves" of my own). He is definitely a "player" and uses terrific strategy--he plans; he doesn't just react.

Now, it's really ni ni (almost midnight; alarm goes off at 6:15. I've set it to ring the "duck" ring so that we hear it!
 
Nice catch on the 30 today!

Rusty, thanks so much for the invite to come up there and learn curling. But can we do it in summer? We don't like the cold very much. Plus, we don't have a clue what curling is? But we'd love to come see you! Tink & Tawny (a/k/a T'n'T)
 
Darn! looks like I missed all the fun again! WOW on the 30! and congrats on the dose reduction. FWIW: I would have shaved the dose too. I find Mannie does better when I just do the shave.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top