1/22 Pearl PMPS 202, +1 147, +2 89 THANK YOU FOR THE HELP

Margaret and Pearl (GA)

Member Since 2020
Good morning all!

I hope you're having a nice Friday.

I am so relieved and excited to share that PEARL has now been in the BLUE for 5 CYCLES IN A ROW!! I can hardly believe it!! (Before this, she only ever got 2 cycles in a row - once). I feel like I am getting the hang of stopping her dives, and noticing her behavior when she is dropping rapidly so I know to test at times I may not have been planning on (she gets clingy and just sits there and stares at me like she doesn't know what to do).

I am so THRILLED to be seeing blue numbers now for the past 3 days. Amazing what a dose adjustment can do. And I am growing more confident in seeing lower numbers and not panicking - if I can stop dives at this level, I am confident I can stop dives should they happen when she is low, too.

Happy Friday :)

Link to yesterday's post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...52-constipation-question.241837/#post-2724709
 
Last edited:
Good morning all!

I hope you're having a nice Friday.

I am so relieved and excited to share that PEARL has now been in the BLUE for 5 CYCLES IN A ROW!! I can hardly believe it!! (Before this, she only ever got 2 cycles in a row - once). I feel like I am getting the hang of stopping her dives, and noticing her behavior when she is dropping rapidly so I know to test at times I may not have been planning on (she gets clingy and just sits there and stares at me like she doesn't know what to do).

I am so THRILLED to be seeing blue numbers now for the past 3 days. Amazing what a dose adjustment can do. And I am growing more confident in seeing lower numbers and not panicking - if I can stop dives at this level, I am confident I can stop dives should they happen when she is low, too.

Happy Friday :)

Link to yesterday's post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...52-constipation-question.241837/#post-2724709
This is all wonderful news!! You’re doing an amazing job with Pearl. :bighug:
 
What wonderful news to share! I have to say that you have the most detailed spreadsheet I have seen yet which is fantastic! I just started on here and am switching my boy to Lantus soon to bring down his numbers. We are in the black and red right now and can't wait to see those blues! Good job and Congratulations!!! :bighug:
 
I haven't dealt with a drop like the one we are having right now. She is down to 89, and at what point do I need to worry? I have fed her MC food at both +1 and now at +2 to try to slow the drop - do I need to do a drop of honey or add HC food right now? And how often do I start testing now?

THANKS!
 
I don't think you need to add syrup just yet but I'd get another test in 30 minutes so that you can get a better picture of what the MC is doing (or not doing) to slow her slide...
others may be along with other ideas but I'll stick around! It is early in her cycle, but usually we don't give HC with that high of a green number. Good call giving MC.
 
Your SS says 92 at +2? She is still in safe numbers, I'd hold off on the HC or syrup just yet. What % carb is your MC food? I'd check again at +3 but if you are nervous since it is your first green, you can check again in 30 minutes. The early cycle drops like this tend to be scary, especially the first time around.
 
I don't think you need to add syrup just yet but I'd get another test in 30 minutes so that you can get a better picture of what the MC is doing (or not doing) to slow her slide...
others may be along with other ideas but I'll stick around! It is early in her cycle, but usually we don't give HC with that high of a green number. Good call giving MC.

Thank you so much, Lyla. You know how Pearl likes to make these big plummets, and we've never been down in the green before, so I don't know how far she plans on going. I will write again in 20 minutes, her next test.
 
Your SS says 92 at +2? She is still in safe numbers, I'd hold off on the HC or syrup just yet. What % carb is your MC food? I'd check again at +3 but if you are nervous since it is your first green, you can check again in 30 minutes. The early cycle drops like this tend to be scary, especially the first time around.
Hi Christie and thank you. Yes she is at 92 +2 (I think the 89 was the AT reading, I wanted to compare it since it's our first green). Pearl tends to drop big so I want to be proactive and I don't know how far she plans on going. Usually the readings are so high, her drops still keep her in the yellow or blue more recently. Our MC is 13%, it slows drops sometimes but never stops them. Do I need a bit higher carb?
 
Ok, but just keep in mind that what looks like a big drop from 300s to 200s, isn't really that substantial :). She may flatten out by +3. Sometimes the early cycle drops peter out especially if she isn't used to green, but let's see how she goes. Please take off the 911, that is usually for emergencies like symptomatic hypos, or very low numbers like in the 30s or very sick cats. Remember, you are in control, you can test and steer as needed, I'll stay to help you.
 
Ok, but just keep in mind that what looks like a big drop from 300s to 200s, isn't really that substantial :). She may flatten out by +3. Sometimes the early cycle drops peter out especially if she isn't used to green, but let's see how she goes. Please take off the 911, that is usually for emergencies like symptomatic hypos, or very low numbers like in the 30s or very sick cats. Remember, you are in control, you can test and steer as needed, I'll stay to help you.
Yep, changed title prefix a bit ago. Thank you so much Christie. Her +2.5 is 96, up from 92, so looks like she is not dropping at the moment. At what number do I need to start worrying about HC intervention, below 50?
 
Yes you're safe! You did a good job to slow her initial drop but we don't want her to stall out here so don't feed her right now.
 
Yes you're safe! You did a good job to slow her initial drop but we don't want her to stall out here so don't feed her right now.
Ok, yep somehow I instinctively knew not to feed her right now. So we want her to keep dropping some if she can, yes? Is +4 maybe a good time to give another mini meal? THank you!
 
Yes, a +3 mini meal is a good idea. I would get a +4 and then I might have a better idea about the rest of the night.
Hi Elise, Her +4 is 101, so not much different from the 92 @ +2 and 97 @ +3. I assume this means I need to keep testing? I did give her a mini meal at +3 and she did eat it all.
 
What wonderful news to share! I have to say that you have the most detailed spreadsheet I have seen yet which is fantastic! I just started on here and am switching my boy to Lantus soon to bring down his numbers. We are in the black and red right now and can't wait to see those blues! Good job and Congratulations!!! :bighug:


Thank you so much. I just started on Christmas, and doing Pearl's spreadsheet has a been a lifesaver. I probably test a leeetle too much, but for me it helps me create the pattern to understand how her body works. For example, Pearl is a diver, and sometimes she can dive 100+ points in about 30 minutes. And then at the end of the cycle, she dips down - that is just her normal. Lantus is a great insulin so happy you are changing to that, and get some more BG tests in during the day/night if you can, you won't regret it.

I also see you are using AT meter - can I ask why? My vet requires AT for any information I send her, but what i do is use the ReliOn Primier compact meter from Walmart for all my testing, and occasionally also test AT for reference. On curve days required by my vet, I use both the ReliOn and AT for that. Just in case you don't know you can do this - ReliOn strips are like 17.5 cents per strip versus the 1 dollar for AT.

Thanks for your encouragement!
 
Thank you so much. I just started on Christmas, and doing Pearl's spreadsheet has a been a lifesaver. I probably test a leeetle too much, but for me it helps me create the pattern to understand how her body works. For example, Pearl is a diver, and sometimes she can dive 100+ points in about 30 minutes. And then at the end of the cycle, she dips down - that is just her normal. Lantus is a great insulin so happy you are changing to that, and get some more BG tests in during the day/night if you can, you won't regret it.

I also see you are using AT meter - can I ask why? My vet requires AT for any information I send her, but what i do is use the ReliOn Primier compact meter from Walmart for all my testing, and occasionally also test AT for reference. On curve days required by my vet, I use both the ReliOn and AT for that. Just in case you don't know you can do this - ReliOn strips are like 17.5 cents per strip versus the 1 dollar for AT.

Thanks for your encouragement!

I just updated Big Kitty's spreadsheet after starting the Lantus yesterday and he's still high but much steadier than on the Novalin. I have a feeling I'll need to increase his dosage from 3 units to bring him down into better numbers by mid of this week but am not sure yet. I would love to get more readings during the day but I work a full time job and am out of the house most of the day. I woke up at 2am last night just to get a +6 after his PM shot and it was surprisingly at 401. This is good considering he has been averaging 600-650 daily.

I am using the AT meter because I had switched from another pet model that was horrible. AT needs very little blood to test and it is very easy to use. I have read on this site that ReliOn is much cheaper but needs a much bigger blood sample to read. I may pick one up just to see the difference in numbers and ease of usage. I think it's wonderful how you care for Pearl and manage her diabetes and I may reach out as I get into those blue and green numbers for some advise. Big Kitty tends to have big drops to so I can only imagine that it's scary the lower the numbers get. This site has been the best resource for me so far and I am more than thankful for it!
 
Back
Top