1/22 Ozy AMPS-62,PMPS-172.+4-260,+9-126

Status
Not open for further replies.

donaleen and Ozy

Member Since 2013
previous http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=112331

AMPS-62,+1-93,+3-140,+6-180,+9-197

Ozy went green on the second cycle of this dose. I suspect we will be reducing before long. Ozy has a lot of trouble with reductions holding. I really need help with holding his reductions. Advice appreciated here.

He is feeling pretty good. I think the Pepcid agrees with him. I think it works better for him than Cerennia.
 
Re: 1/22 Ozy AMPS-62

\M/ :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: \M/
Glad to hear Ozy is feeling better :cool:

A few thoughts about reductions - Is it possible that Ozy has been diabetic 1 year or longer? I'm wondering if perhaps the 'long term diabetic' guideline would be better in Ozys case?
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit.

I believe there is another guideline for kitties who have trouble holding reductions, about waiting for 2 'signals' that it is time to reduce.
I can't remember the details at the moment but will search.

I'm sure someone remembers the method and whether it is advisable.
 
Re: 1/22 Ozy AMPS-62

I think Ozy was diabetic a year before he was diagnosed so that would mean he has been diabetic for a year and a half. I suspect his insulin resistance is a result of going so long without treatment. His body got really used to those high numbers.

It seems really hard to find a good dose. It's either too much or not enough.

But, whatever. Yes, longer than a year.
 
Re: 1/22 Ozy AMPS-62

Nice start for Ozy this morning. I hope the reduction holds if you reduce later.

I've read that if a kitty is diabetic for over a year it is best to wait for three dips below 50 before reducing so the reduction will hopefully hold.
 
Re: 1/22 Ozy AMPS-62

Hi Donaleen, No idea on the reduction as Cobb is stubbornly refusing to earn one. :lol: But it's great to see Ozy back in green! And I agree about the resistance. Part of me thinks that's why Cobb has some as well.
 
Re: 1/22 Ozy AMPS-62

I am glad that Ozy is feeling better and the Pepcid has been helpful. As soon as we think we have it figured out... Sending prayers for Ozy. You are excellent caregivers; don't get discouraged.
 
Re: 1/22 Ozy AMPS-62,+1-93

Thanks Catherine, Suzanne, and Carla.

What I see with Ozy is that he can stay ahead of normal increases, that is, he can keep his glucose high. Sometimes I think even a yellow number can cause him to bounce (see the rise after he got a 262 on the 20th). I feel like I have to force him down but then I don't know how to hang on to it.

I was glad to see the 93. I think. Unless he is going to manage to go up and up.
 
Re: 1/22 Ozy AMPS-62

Morning Donaleen! ~O) ~O) I see we have a pair of copycats with this morning's AMPS. Hope your's doesn't zoom like mine just did. :roll:

An alternate strategy that some people use for reductions is based on the protocol described on the Tilly page. That is 3 drops below 50, or one drop below 40 before a reduction. And reductions are either .25U or .5U. There are some people here who do shaves on reductions, but that shouldn't be combined with the above strategy. It looked like you were trying the multiple reductions technique earlier, but then the p'titis flare messed things up.

I'm watching closely because I think I have to modify my reduction strategy too. I have tried 2 times under 50 or once under 40, and that worked for a while, but not so much now.
 
Re: 1/22 Ozy AMPS-62,+1-93

Thanks, Wendy. I always appreciate your counsel. I hope we can BOTH figure it out. I watch you a lot, too.
 
Re: 1/22 Ozy AMPS-62,+1-93

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
I believe there is another guideline for kitties who have trouble holding reductions, about waiting for 2 'signals' that it is time to reduce.
I can't remember the details at the moment but will search.

I'm sure someone remembers the method and whether it is advisable.
Wendy&Neko said:
An alternate strategy that some people use for reductions is based on the protocol described on the Tilly page. That is 3 drops below 50, or one drop below 40 before a reduction. And reductions are either .25U or .5U.
That's it! Thanks Wendy!
 
Re: 1/22 Ozy AMPS-62,+1-93,+3-140,+6-180,+9-197

Thanks Wendy and Sandy. I tucked that away. Not needing it this cycle, that's for sure.
 
Re: 1/22 Ozy AMPS-62,+1-93,+3-140,+6-180,+9-197

Hi Donaleen,
Very nice blue surf. :smile:
I'm very happy to hear that Ozy is feeling good today.

I take the "3 times below 50" approach too.
Lucy doesn't hold reduction either. :-|
 
Re: 1/22 Ozy AMPS-62,PMPS-172

WOOT! so glad to see Ozy having a great cycle again!

another technique to add to your toolbox, or put under your rock ;-) - keep him from getting a reduction. give him carbs before the nadir approaches to prevent the nadir from going low. that allows you to stay at a higher insulin dose and it can help the upper numbers flatten out.

i would be aware in doing that, that you don't want to end up in a situation where you have him overdosed. you do need to take reductions when they are warranted. but i think it might be worth trying out in his case. make sense?
 
Re: 1/22 Ozy AMPS-62,PMPS-172

Thanks Mariko. I intend to follow that advice. But no need for that right now!

And thanks, Julie. Feeding the bottom. Is that true even if the cycle is fairly flat, like it was a few weeks ago.

I would call today's cycles pretty ideal.
 
Re: 1/22 Ozy AMPS-62,PMPS-172

the goal is to flatten his cycle out and keep his numbers under 120.

so i'd make the judgement on what i would do in any given cycle when i saw the numbers.

if it looked like he might try to head toward a reduction, maybe give him a slightly higher carb meal or two early in the cycle.

if he looked flat, i'd probably just let him go and do the usual routine you've got.

if you're having to give a lot of carbs to keep him up, or it takes several hours, then you've gotta make a decision about a reduction. i'll let Sandy & Wendy with their iaa experience guide you on that. i just want to mention it as something to consider.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top