1/22 ELIAN amps 386; 328 +3 What am I doing wrong?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susie and Elian

Member Since 2013
Its been a few weeks now - why can't I get him regulated? I've only had one visit into the blue and that was yesterday. I don't get it. :sad:

I was so happy last night when I heard him playing with a toy and today he acts like he has no energy - he cuddled in bed with me and was just kinda limp - usually he's swatting the other boys to get away from me but not this morning.

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=87454 Yesterday's link
 
Hi guys .. I know a lot of us come here with the idea in our head that our kitty will just need a few drops of insulin, a new change of food, and they are good to go .. unfortunately, that's not how it usually happens .. regulation can take a long time .. don't get discouraged .. take a look at mocha's SS and see how long we kept at it before it all came together for us .. you'll get there, it will just be on Elian's terms ...
 
So, you're figuring that after 2 weeks on insulin Elian should be regulated?

Based on several years here I can state with a very high degree of confidence that you are going to be very disappointed if you hold on to that belief. It's rare to see a cat who, after 2 weeks, is regulated. We don't know how long Elian was diabetic. It takes about a week for the depot to form. Give yourself a break and realize that your expectations are unrealistic. Like we've no doubt pointed out, Lantus teaches patience.

Elian is probably feeling a bit crummy because he bounced. He saw blue numbers and his liver and pancreas panicked and he bounced into yellows. The bounce will clear. Just give it a bit of time.
 
(((((susie)))
you're not doing anything wrong! it takes time to regulate diabetic kitties. some require more time than others.

any chance you can get spot checks at night... at least a before bed spot check every night? it *looks like* elian might need a dose increase, but i wouldn't increase without knowing how low the current dose is taking him because it's possible some of those higher numbers are bounces from lower numbers. numbers his body isn't quite used to seeing.

what do you think? do-able?
 
It looks to me like Elian is just going to need more time, and probably more insulin, before you see regulation. You said this was the first blue number you'd seen, but guess what? It's the first blue number he's seen for probably weeks before he was diagnosed. His body doesn't recognize a number that low anymore, and like Sienne said, it probably caused his numbers to "bounce". However, the fact that he had a blue number means the insulin is doing something positive for him, so be encouraged by that!
The other thing you can't be sure of, but is probably happening, is that he's seeing blue numbers in between PMPS and AMPS, and that might be a reason for the higher amps numbers. Would you be able to get a "before bed test" at night? You may find evidence that he's dropping lower than you might think during the PM cycles.

Something often said here, that nobody likes to hear: "Kitty didn't get diabetes overnight, and it won't go away overnight either. This is a marathon, not a sprint."

Take joy and encouragement from the little things, like
I was so happy last night when I heard him playing with a toy
Those things matter :-)
Carl
 
Thanks everybody - I guess I did think that once he got the insulin into him he would start feeling better and the numbers would settle down. I am patient but am also used to making things happen!!!! I updated his SS - I did leave some info out from last night. I wasn't getting night time readings because I was giving him his shots at 10:30 am/pm which left little time to get a late night test. But little by little I'm moving him back to earlier - ultimately I will get him to around 8:30 am/pm.

He's wandering the house now and was outside on the patio with his brothers so hopefully he's feeling better. I worry so much about him - even with the others he has ALWAYS been my special guy. He's the shy one who the others bully at times - but in a playful way. He just doesn't interpret it that way. Having two daughters with "issues" and spending a lot of time with kids/young adults who have autism I kinda see him as being socially awkward like some of our friends! And I love him that much more! cat_pet_icon
 
I feel for you Susie! I'm going thru the same thing with Lucian. Every time I think he might be 'leveling off', he spikes. I'm not looking for regulation, just not so high!

Everything you've said, I've said and felt and if not for the generous people here, I couldn't keep it up.

Hang in there, our boys will get better. Sometimes I think it's harder on us! We want everything to happen yesterday!

I have no advice, I'm a newbee, but you're in my thoughts and hope those numbers mellow out a little for your boy too.

Debbie and Lucian
 
hang in there, susie! moving his shot times back will help.
we're all in this together. we worry when they're high. we worry when they're low.
things will get better...
 
Hey guys hang in there. TAke a look at Scrabble's ss the first time we were on insulin, he had numbers in pink and yellow for a good month before we started seeing some action. As Sienne said it takes patience and you are doing great!!! Unfortunately being on insulin and a diet change isn't a quick fix and the pancreas needs time to heal. Just keep doing what you are doing and know you are doing everything you can.
 
Hi Susie, Welcome to Lantus Land. I would like to second everything everyone has said. Regulation doesn't happen overnight. And, we certainly are all in this together. Some of us have been at it for quite a while. FD is unpredictable, full of surprises. We try to do what we can and we help each other.

So, welcome to Lantus Land! Elian is one handsome kitty.

Ella & Rusty
 
Hey, Susie -

Just wanted to say, "WELCOME" and encourage you to hang in there. It does take time and it will get better.

Have a great night -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Susie

I know most of us have sung this same song. We all come into it thinking "if I give this much insulin, he/she will have normal BGs and be regulated". The thing is that insulin is a hormone, not a medicine and so it's more unpredictable ...you have to also factor in the cats metabolism and absorption rates.

Studies on humans have shown there is up to a 50% variance in absorption rates from shot to shot even with the same dose. So...we all have to learn to take a deep breath, follow the protocol, and drink alot of adult beverages :lol: :lol: :lol: just kidding on the last part to see if I had your attention.

Bottom line...we are not in control. We can feed the best food, give the right dose at the right time, follow the protocol, but the kitty's body is in control.

You're doing great! Hang in there :-D
 
Hi Susie - I just wanted to day HI!, and to hang in there. it does get better, really it does. But it also takes time. I think it's great that Elian was playful the other day - there will be more of those as he gets better, numbers come down. I think you're doing great. :-D
 
Big hugs to the both of you. It's a dance that's for sure but it will get better.
This board is very helpful and will help you along the journey.
I'm new again too, and know its tough sometimes
Hang in there and give him a hug from me ;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top