1/22 Atlas PMps 67, +3 69, +5 69

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beth & Atlas

Member Since 2010
Good Caturday Morning from the igloo!!!!

We're here in the balmy arctic north this morning and it is a lovely day with clear sky and 4F. The weatherman hit it exactly right on the nose. We're calling this balmy as ....we're supposed to get even colder over this weekend!!! :shock: @-) ~O)

Yesterdays Condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34911

Recap:

99 3.0f
64 +3
90 +6
81 +10
68 3.0F
86 +3

Average this week: 103
Average last week: 97
1/9/11 average: 174


Atties number continue to amaze even me. And while he is giving me nailbite_smile, I am grateful to see them. He is feeling fine this morning and is scampering through the house on a Tortie hunt. Sometimes as I watch them play I think Attie may have damage to his vision. They will play chase and MudCat will bound off around a corner or under a table and Attie just runs right on by...and then has to hunt looking for her. Krueger and MudCat used to play like this with much more gusto, as he kept fine track of her. I notice a simlar problem with chase type toys like a ball or tossed mouse. If it is beyond 6-7ft, Attie loses it. Curious situation and not one to do much about...

Gary did stop by last night for an evening meal. So we did get a warm oceanfish delight! The lodge was double downed with hot socks. On cold mornings I always wait to see him because if he is in the lodge, it is warmed by him, the last of the heat sock(s) and disturbing him cools everything off. Usually he will wait for the warmth of the sunshine to poke it's nose above the horizon.

I am off to the Farmer's Exchange this morning for cat litter and bird seed. Two necessities to maintain home comfort and kitty entertainment...especially with guests coming.
 
Re: 1/22 Atlas Amps 72

Have a great day, all. I have to run to get ready for work, but wanted to say I am proud of Attie's numbers, and happy that Gary is hanging out. Go get those supplies quickly, so you can get back to your warm house and kitties.
 
Re: 1/22 Atlas Amps 72

Good morning!! Attie's numbers are looking great!

4F?? and to think, there are people here in FL who start freaking out about the cold when it drops below 70.

Have a great day!!
 
Re: 1/22 Atlas Amps 72

Just a quick note for some of you who are not only keeping track of Attie, but the little outdoor feral kitty Gary...

He just stopped by for his breffis. It is now down to 2F. Edit(still dropping now down to 1F) He headed straight to the lodge after eating. His breffis this morning was served warm and he ate every bit of it!

Feral Cat Winter Shelter Ideas What a stroke of genius! Debbie Peterson of the Chicagoland Stray Cat Coalition uses solar pool covers/blankets to keep her ferals warm during winter. Solar pool covers are used to attract and retain heat from the sun, to keep water in swimming pools warm. Debbie saw them as a way to upgrade her feral cat houses to solar energy! On a 10°F/-12°C night the temperature inside could easily reach 70°F/21°C! Torn but usable solar pool covers can be found curbside on suburban garbage pick-up days. Purchased new, prices vary based on construction and thickness. A 15 mil premium-grade 12' round blanket costs $32. Cut them with standard household scissors. Drape one over your feral cat house silver-side down, and the purring will start. Aim for full exposure to the south.
 
Re: 1/22 Atlas Amps 72, +3 57

Attie was all curled up on the family room daybed, you know that upside down kitty curl...poor baby I had to wake him for the +3 poke.

Well that's ok ...he needs to get up and grab that +3 minimeal.
 
Re: 1/22 Atlas Amps 72, +3 57

Beautiful numbers Attie!! Nice going!!
Yes, Floridians get very cold just reading about these ungodly temperatures around the country!!
Ella is at 0 degrees this morning...so you are having it easier there .....
Now, I am going to have to get my long johns on to read any more condos...I am soooo cold ~~it's under 70 here and we are ready to DIE I tell ya! :lol:
 
Re: 1/22 Atlas Amps 72, +3 57

Amazing numbers for Atlas -- it's so good to see how well he's doing.

Our temp so far is 5 degrees. Brrrr...
 
Re: 1/22 Atlas Amps 72, +3 57

You are amazing Attie! It is so great to see him in all these greens, day after day... awesome! :-D :-D

I am glad too to read that gary is faring OK with the temps and weather conditions. Very interesting on the solar pool covers - wow, and what an idea.
 
Re: 1/22 Atlas Amps 72, +3 57

Sienne and Gabby said:
Amazing numbers for Atlas -- it's so good to see how well he's doing.

Our temp so far is 5 degrees. Brrrr...


I know Sienne, I am really amazed myself...

Not sure exactly what to put my finger on or if we just finally got the puzzle pieces together?

1. The feeding regime that you and Laurie helped me with
2. Gave me the ability to increase the dose safely to the needed level
3. New meter with better consistency in testing
4. Setting up parameters for when to feed "the drops or not."
a) I think to a degree not carbing the greens all the time actually helped his body learn those numbers were safe. Sometimes I wonder if we're fooling the body that the extra sugar is still there and then create a set-up for a carb crash later? And then the liver never learns. Sort of like the athlete who carbs up for competition, does well, and then crashes the next day? The crash being harder than if he hadn't carbed up. (think tank on that one).
 
Re: 1/22 Atlas Amps 72, +3 57, + 4 54, +5 52

Well, I really didn't want to go out in the cold today. The Farmer's Exchange will be there tomorrow...

Looks like it is time to shave the dose this evening... slow, very slow drop here in the 50's....nearly bump time...but this is so slow...and there is food on board. Is it a 50's surf....

Indecision.... nailbite_smile
 
Re: 1/22 Atlas Amps 72, +3 57, + 4 54, +5 52

OK...how do I describe this....

We did 4 fingertips of Karo. I was just a little leery of triggering an honest bounce...might get one anyway as the SS indicates bounces from 55 and below.

Fingertip Karo Dose: Take the Karo bottle turn it upside down with your finger over the hole. Coat your fingertip, let cat lick Karo off your finger.

We did 4 FT's.
 
Re: 1/22 Atlas Amps 72, +3 57, +6 65

Saving the tree cat link for after I load up the laundry machine and get my butt off the couch/checking condos.

I like your fingertip description for the karo. You are doing an awesome job managing Attie.
 
Re: 1/22 Atlas Amps 72, +3 57, +6 65, +9 72

Attie looks great!! What a wonderful idea for the lodge! Of course, you now have me wondering if I could somehow make this work for my car!!! LOL

Have a great evening!!
 
Re: 1/22 Atlas PMps 67

Everybody just finishing their meals at the moment, Attie looking for his game of chase and seek.

Was finally out to the lodge. Gary was not inside, but the straw was deeply nestled into with both hot socks on the bottom. I actually had to dig a little to find them!

I am attaching pictures of our humble kitty lodge. Hopefully come springtime we'll get a fresh coat of paint and repair some of the shingles.
 

Attachments

  • The Lodge 002.jpg
    The Lodge 002.jpg
    656.5 KB · Views: 591
  • The Lodge 003.jpg
    The Lodge 003.jpg
    658.9 KB · Views: 573
  • The Lodge 004.jpg
    The Lodge 004.jpg
    671.2 KB · Views: 577
Re: 1/22 Atlas PMps 67, +3 69

Love the info here and we're trying the feeding strategy with Gracie. I'm hoping to be brave enough to try the carb strategy...no HCs unless under 50 but Gracie does like to spend time in lower numbers....makes me wonder if, when she was not FD, if she was one of those who hangs out in the 40s/50s. Attie is doing spectacular...hardly recognize his SS!!

Great photos of the "lodges" !
 
Re: 1/22 Atlas PMps 67, +3 69

I so enjoy that you are taking good care of the feral kitty. You have such a good heart.

Atlas is looking so good. Just Awesome.
 
Re: 1/22 Atlas PMps 67, +3 69

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Love the info here and we're trying the feeding strategy with Gracie. I'm hoping to be brave enough to try the carb strategy...no HCs unless under 50 but Gracie does like to spend time in lower numbers....makes me wonder if, when she was not FD, if she was one of those who hangs out in the 40s/50s. Attie is doing spectacular...hardly recognize his SS!!

Great photos of the "lodges" !

Just a note there is I didn't try the no HC strategy until Attie's bounces were more or less under control.

It will just take Gracie some more time to simmer. Like Sienne told me ...don't expect it to happen overnight. With the feeding you are not only trying to change the liver's mind, but also the metabolism. And if one has ever tried to diet...well...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top