1/22/24 Basically New To Group Again AMPS 280

Heather & Shooter

Member Since 2009
Hi there. It has been well over a year since I have posted on here. I actually forget what all I'm supposed to do. My life has taken some major turns over the last few years and here I am again needing help. Please take a look at Shooter's spreadsheet and tell me what you think. I'm having a terrible time getting him regulated and am starting to wonder if I need to switch insulin. I raised the dose to 3 units over a week ago per vet request but it seemed like his numbers were higher. Someone on FB suggested lowering it again so now we're back to 2 units.
 
Hi there. It has been well over a year since I have posted on here. I actually forget what all I'm supposed to do. My life has taken some major turns over the last few years and here I am again needing help. Please take a look at Shooter's spreadsheet and tell me what you think. I'm having a terrible time getting him regulated and am starting to wonder if I need to switch insulin. I raised the dose to 3 units over a week ago per vet request but it seemed like his numbers were higher. Someone on FB suggested lowering it again so now we're back to 2 units.
I can tag a few experienced members for you, ,I'm no expert but I don't think it was a good idea to lower the dose

@Suzanne & Darcy
@Wendy&Neko
@Marje and Gracie

@Heather82372
have you looked at the 2 dosing methods to see which one you want to follow? Since you are feeding the kibble you will need to follow the SLGS method.
You can add it to your signature and SS :cat:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
 
Last edited:
I'm afraid you were listening to either the wrong person on FB, or the wrong FB group. Looks like Shooter was finally starting to see some upper blues (100's) on 3.0 units. But his numbers were still too high there. What he needed was another increase to 3.25 units, not the reduction.
 
I agree with Wendy. His dose needed to be increased. Rebound checks ( lowering the dose in response to a bounce) rarely work.
 
Shoot. Ok, thank you. Well, at least I increased to 2.5 the other day. How many days should I wait to increase to 3 or should I go ahead and do that tomorrow morning? I will reread the SLGS information again. Like I said, it's been a LONG time... :(
 
Back
Top