1/21 Toby's AMPS=400+3.5=243+8=284 PMPS=341+4=282

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peg and Toby

Member Since 2014
I don't know what to do at this point. I don't know if Toby is in a bounce, HDW, or just needs another dose increase. Gave his 14.5 units this morning. Don't know how much I will be able to test today. Will try to check in on him from time to time. Take Care, Peg and Toby
 
I just read in Crystal and Suki's condo if a cat is at or over 14 units you should increase 1 unit at a time . Does that apply to Toby too? It seems like we are falling behind. He hasn't hit green in quite awhile. Peg and Toby
 
I don't have much advice with regards to dosing, however, I did notice that you increased by 0.5u from the last dose of 14u. Also, you started a new pen, so that may have some bearing on his #s being a bit out of whack along with the fur shot. Fur shots will typically make the #s spike as the shed is draining. So, you'll have to replenish that shed, and wait and see what he does with this current dose if 14.5u. The last dose of 14u, you held it for about 5 days. How do you feel about holding the 14.5u for about that long, or perhaps a day or 2 longer to ensure that the shed is replenished and see where's at then before increasing again?
 
Bit of a rollorcoaster ride with these high dose kitties isn't it Peg? Crystal is currently on Lantus but I'm thinking of switching to Levemir once this pen runs out. Paws crossed for your dosing.

Suki & Crystal
 
(((Peg))) sorry to hear about your mother-in-law. I'll be thinking of you and your family today.

Toby got a fur shot a couple of nights ago. It can take 6 cycles for the depot to properly establish itself. And in the meantime, the numbers won't be great - says the voice of someone well experienced in fur shots. :rolleyes: Tonight is cycle 6 so paws crossed he comes down. Looks like he started to do so already today. If he isn't back in good numbers in a cycle or two, I'd increase.

Crystal is in a different phase from Toby, which can mean a different strategy. You also have to look at the nadirs they are getting. Suki's taking the fast track to get Crystal safely to a good dose and just getting yellow nadirs. Toby's had some blues and greens so found a good dose for a while, but the insulin resistance seems to be creeping back again, for whatever reason. You are increasing to try to stay ahead of that resistance. The amount you increase at this point will depend on the nadirs. If he was only getting yellows on a dose, then a one unit increase might be appropriate.
 
Peg, sorry about your MIL. Lots on your plate.

Fur shots can change the trajectory for a while. Lots of experience here.:)

Marilyn and Polly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top