1/21 Tessie Lou AMPS 272 - Is this normal?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tessielou

Member Since 2010
Good morning everyone,
This is only Tessie's 5th day on Lantus. She is staying so flat in yellows, I was wondering what the experts think about her numbers right about now? Is this pretty normal? Is her shed full now? Why did she go from a PMPS of 273 last night to a +5 of 303. Does that mean she hadn't hit her nadir yet at +5, or that she hit it early and was already on the rise? I've been scouring other kitties' spreadsheets to try to figure out what's "normal" and I've come to the conclusion there is no normal. :?

Also, is anyone else out there who is in the very early stages of Lantus use, like my girl?

Thanks everyone,
 
Hi Sandy! The higher number overnight could be a few different things....it's within meter variance, so it could be nothing. It's possible that Tessie hit blue numbers during the AM cycle yesterday, and she could have had a little bounce from that. Either way, it's not really significant...it's just one number and I wouldn't worry about it. I'd be interested in seeing her mid cycle numbers today...will you be able to get at least one test around +6 or so?

Her shed may be full, or not yet. The tests over the next few cycles will tell us more.

It's very normal in the beginning to not see much response in the numbers, hang in there! It's good that you are looking at other's SS, it will help you...but as you said, there is no absolutely predictable path.
 
It takes roughly 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) for the shed to fill. Every cat is different (ECID) and it's hard to know exactly how a kitty will respond to starting Lantus. If nothing changes after the PM cycle, I would encourage you to increase Tessie Lou's dose tomorrow AM to 1.25u.

Also, the 303 last night is within the range of meter variance. There's a range of 10 - 20% on the number you get on any test due to measurement variance of your meter. It just looks like a bigger number since it's a different color on the SS.
 
Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
Hi Sandy! The higher number overnight could be a few different things....it's within meter variance, so it could be nothing. It's possible that Tessie hit blue numbers during the AM cycle yesterday, and she could have had a little bounce from that. Either way, it's not really significant...it's just one number and I wouldn't worry about it. I'd be interested in seeing her mid cycle numbers today...will you be able to get at least one test around +6 or so?

Her shed may be full, or not yet. The tests over the next few cycles will tell us more.

It's very normal in the beginning to not see much response in the numbers, hang in there! It's good that you are looking at other's SS, it will help you...but as you said, there is no absolutely predictable path.

Thanks, Laurie, I'm glad to hear this is normal so far. DH and I are gone until +6.5 today, but I will plan on getting one as soon as we get home. I can also get a +3 before we leave, if that would be helpful.
 
Hi Sandy --

We're early into our lantus journey like you. Princess just returned from a 4 and a half year stint at the falls two weeks ago, so we're learning all over again now, with a new insulin for us.

I know what you mean about there being no "normal" path. It's very frustrating to see so little response, or a HUGE response that's suddenly scary. Princess has been quite the rainbow cat the past week.

I'm trying to be patient and wait to see a trend in her numbers.

How's Tessie Lou as a Whole Cat? Is she feeling good? playing? grooming? These tell us as much as the BG tests about the cat a whole, really :YMHUG:
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
It takes roughly 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) for the shed to fill. Every cat is different (ECID) and it's hard to know exactly how a kitty will respond to starting Lantus. If nothing changes after the PM cycle, I would encourage you to increase Tessie Lou's dose tomorrow AM to 1.25u.

Also, the 303 last night is within the range of meter variance. There's a range of 10 - 20% on the number you get on any test due to measurement variance of your meter. It just looks like a bigger number since it's a different color on the SS.

Sienne, she does seem to feel better on Lantus. ProZinc was too hard on her and I'm really glad she's off that stuff. I promised the new vet (who is great to work with) that I would not make any dose changes until Day 8 (Monday), when I am supposed to call her and discuss Tessie's prior weeks' numbers. Do you think that would be ok? I really respect your opinion, but don't want to go against vet either.
 
Any tests that you can get are helpful, the more data the better! So yes, a +3 would be good too. :smile:

I never discourage more testing, but I'm a testaholic so don't feel that you need to do what I do. :mrgreen:
 
Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
Any tests that you can get are helpful, the more data the better! So yes, a +3 would be good too. :smile:

I never discourage more testing, but I'm a testaholic so don't feel that you need to do what I do. :mrgreen:

Mr. T must be incredibly laid back! At the end of the day, Tessie has had it with me and the tests. She is a very sweet girl, but she has her limit! I do think the cortisone cream helps her sore ear through the night.
 
patricia&princess said:
How's Tessie Lou as a Whole Cat? Is she feeling good? playing? grooming? These tell us as much as the BG tests about the cat a whole, really :YMHUG:

Hi Patricia! Nice to meet someone in the early stage, too. Was Princess on Lantus before? Tessie is feeling much better on Lantus. She was on ProZinc for 6 weeks and it made her not feel good most of the time. She actually growled when I shot her and looking back I think it was cause she knew it was going to make her feel worse. They are pretty smart. Now, she is back to being a snoop (loves to get in kitchen cupboards), and playing a bit with her mouse. She also tries to bathe herself, but she is so big, she can't get to her private parts. She does well on the rest of herself though. She purrs before testing now, thinking about those Live a Little Halo treats. ;-)

BTW, Princess is soooo cute!
 
Have to hop in shower and get ready. I'll check back when we get home and I get Tessie's spot check, around 3:30pm
BTW Laurie, I meant to say Neosporin cream, not cortisone cream! :oops:

Have a good day everyone!
 
Hi Sandy,
We're still really new and on Lev..but I can tell you I had the same questions and wondered and that oddly flat line...so very different than the pz. so accustomed to the flat line that movement in either direction suddenly became cause for concern whereas with pz movement was status quo.
I too had no idea what I was looking for. Now I have kind of a vague idea. flat is good...big changes are bad. gradually lowering of the am and pm is good, a little higher is not so bad. having bookend am / pm is a goal... and that's about the extent of my knowledge.
But wanted to say hi!
Lori
and tomtom too!
 
We also have a saying in LL that flat yellows are often followed by good things and numbers!!! Every time I want to raise Gracie's dose with flat yellows, she gives me green :lol: :lol: :lol: They read our condos, you know!! Have a great day, Sandy!
 
Thanks, Lori and Marjorie, it's so nice to bounce things off you guys and just to know you're there for support. A great big THANK YOU to everyone.
Ok, so good things follow yellows--I'm ready and waiting!

See you all later in the condos!
 
Hi Celi and Binks--thanks for checking in. Everyone is so nice here! And Binks is a handsome guy! Just got home and did a +7 on Tessie. It was 294--what do you know, another yellow! :smile: Have a great day/evening...
 
Every cat is different, but every vet is different also. We had a new vet and I dose changed without reviewing it with her first and she threw a little hissy fit (and charged me $35 for her 5 minute phone rant). We've managed Maverick since October with only the advice from the gang here, and saved a fortune. We are now looking for a new vet - one more receptive to the Tily protocol and trusts me as Maverick's mom also. So you know your vet. You could just say you are at the same dose and would like to try to increase. Some vets increase in full unit increments, tell them you aren't comfortable with that, what about 1/4 increases every "few days" instead. Or get some advice from the experts. Have a plan when you talk with your vet so that you are prepared. Maybe you will luck in with one of the awesome vets I've read about.

Tessie is a darling.
 
Karrie and Maverick said:
So you know your vet. You could just say you are at the same dose and would like to try to increase. Some vets increase in full unit increments, tell them you aren't comfortable with that, what about 1/4 increases every "few days" instead. Or get some advice from the experts. Have a plan when you talk with your vet so that you are prepared. Maybe you will luck in with one of the awesome vets I've read about.

Tessie is a darling.

Hi Karrie, this is a new vet for us. I had to fire our old one--she was terrible. Inflexible, rude, uninformed about diet and insulins. Anyway, this new vet is agreeable about hometesting (after she and I compared our meters and they were almost exact), and flexible when I asked for a lower start dose (she wanted 2 units, I said 1, and she said, ok, but promise me you won't change her dose for 7 days. I said, ok, because I knew it would take about 7 days to settle in anyway). So, I'm real encouraged about her. She also said there was no need to bring her in and stress her out, which I thought said volumes about her. My other vet was wanting frequent visits, and charging me for everything and anything.

I like your suggestion about "have a plan" and I will definitely have one when I call vet on Mon. I won't go up more than .25 at a time. Go low and slow, right? :smile:

BTW, Maverick's numbers are awesome! Very impressive! Can't wait to see blues and greens for Tessie...
 
OOh sounds promising - good job!

Thanks about Maverick. He's taken it easy on me and the gang here has directed us every step of the way. I don't know what we would have done with out everyone here. Made FD very manageable and not a big ordeal. You are new to Lantus and you'll be seeing blues and greens soon :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Regarding treats - have you tried the purebites freeze dried chicken yet?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top