1/21 Rusty PMPS 89, +4.25 85

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=61593

Good Caturday Morning, Everyone,

Rusty started out with a fine AMPS and then, as luck would have it, pulled away just as I was shooting. I think most of it got in, but smelled Lev. (didn't feel any wetness, however). This morning I shaved the "lite fat" off Rusty's dose and went to a "straight 1.50". We'll see what happens. I'm pretty sure that--discounting this possible fur shot-- he'll be able to hold the new dose, but if he doesn't, we'll go right back up. (Rusty has had numbers in the range of a "normal" cat for almost all of January and we've gone from skinny 1.75, to fat 1.50, to lite fat 1.50, and now, fingers and paws crossed, to "straight 1.50".)
After breakfast we had a great play with the tinsel wand and crinkle sack. Rusty also "helped" me put the magazines for recycling into the big paper bag!

Today is a chore day: to the landfill this afternoon. It's pretty cold (7 degrees) with light snow. We hope that all of you who are dealing with extreme weather conditions stay warm and dry.

Continuing to keep Sid and Lydia, Rocket and Claudia in our thoughts and sending them lots of healing vines (and more vines to all kitties and beans not feeling well),

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/21 Rusty AMPS 77 (fur?)(dose shave)

Morning Ella, and Edward, and Rusty,

Here's hoping that the shot was a good one. And good luck with the new dose too. I hope he holds the reduction. So many kitties seem to do well with the shaves, and are able to hold them. I hope Rusty does too.

Brrrrr on the temp! But do enjoy your time out, even if it is chore day. I should be doing that too! Rusty - good kitty for helping your bean. :-D
 
Re: 1/21 Rusty AMPS 77 (fur?)(dose shave)

Good luck with the new dose. I hope he does very well on it :smile:

It is very cold here too. It is 10 deg right now but sunny so I'll take it.
 
Re: 1/21 Rusty AMPS 77 (fur?)(dose shave)

Good Morning Ella.....hope it was a good shot. What a nice amps for Rusty this morning :-D He is doing so well, I hope the shave works well for him. :-D
Mmmm outdoor fun in the frigid crisp air.
I'm forgoing my usual Sat. trip to the library. It's supposed to be 50 By Tuesday. There goes the skating pond.
 
Re: 1/21 Rusty AMPS 77 (fur?)(dose shave)

Hi Ella,

So glad to see that Rusty has been hanging in the normal numbers range. Nice.

And BRRRRRRRR on the 7 degree temp. Sending you some of the warm Houston weather to warm you guys up a bit.
 
Re: 1/21 Rusty AMPS 77 (fur?)(dose shave)

Morning! Great on the dose shave! Rusty has been doing fantastic! Hope he will continue to do so--
Have a good day outside, here we have about 2" nothing much, but it is cold!
Stay warm everyone--Rusty hold your dose--Ella & Ed have a hearty walk-
Hugs & Love from us!
 
Re: 1/21 Rusty AMPS 77 (fur?), +5.5 62, +9 80

Good luck with the shave and hope that wasn't a fur shot....he's looking pretty good today.

Hope you all are staying warm and having fun. Tobey is on his way up to see you!!
 
Re: 1/21 Rusty AMPS 77 (fur?), +5.5 62, +9 80, PMPS 89

Hi again,
I guess it wasn't a fur shot this morning. We got all our chores done and Rusty got in some good play time. His "friend", Shadow, came calling, frisking through the snow, but Rusty was asleep in his basket and so didn't see him. Shadow is getting much bigger and fluffier (probably fluffed out because of the cold; I think the high today was around 15 degrees).

Thanks for visiting us today, everyone. Tena, how nice to see you. I see you have opened a Curry condo today and that's where I'm headed now.

bbl,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/21 Rusty AMPS 77 (fur?), +5.5 62, +9 80, PMPS 89

It's looking good for the new dose and no fur shot either. You are going to have to give up your crown! :lol: :lol: I love lookinng at all the beautiful greens on Rusty's SS.

Rusty, you are the bestest host! I like curling, especially sliding down the ice instead of the stones. Beans don't know what they are missing. Aunt Ellabean? Thank you for all the cookies. . My bean will never figure out why I didn't eat all my fuds! :lol: :lol: -- Tess
 
Re: 1/21 Rusty AMPS 77 (fur?), +5.5 62, +9 80, PMPS 89

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) said:
I just want to chime in to say that it is very possible for a drop of insulin to run down the side of the needle after shooting. Sometimes it is there already, before you begin to shoot, and stays on the skin while the rest goes in. Sometimes you pull out the needle too quickly and there is a drop left in the syringe. If you wipe off the needle with a small piece of paper towel before you shoot, you can minimize the problem. Also, if you count to 10 while giving the shot, you can be more certain that all of the insulin got in.

As you may know, Rusty is a long-haired kitty and I am an expert at giving fur shots!! :lol:

Have a good evening, or have a good morning!

Ella & Rusty

Thanks for this advice, I think there may very well have been insulin on the needle outside the syringe on both of the previous two nights as I air shot a fair amount to get our dose so I will start implementing the paper towel approach. Also I have been withdrawing the needle pretty much as soon as the plunger has been depressed but kind off pushing on the area to try and make sure the full dose is in as the needle comes out but I will slow down with removing the needle as well (I won't tell Vyktor it was your suggestion though or he'll be sending nasty vines your way!).

Great to see Rusty's numbers looking so good and I hope he holds his shaved dose well.
 
Re: 1/21 Rusty AMPS 77 (fur?), +5.5 62, +9 80, PMPS 89

Wow! Another beautiful day for Rusty. Wait....didn't I just hear someone say that? :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top