1/21 Deb's Spot amps 122

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deb & Spot

Member Since 2009
yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34895

A tad higher today then usual, not sure why except maybe he ate his +9 snack a little later than usual. He woke me up a minute before his +6 snack, so just as soon as we walked out into the kitchen and he jumped up on the counter, the feeder opened. Of course, at that time, the drooler wanted outside and Ralph and Ali were more than happy to ask for a little snack of their own. So all the household was taken care of and I headed off btb, where I proceeded to have some really wierd dreams and woke up with hives....I hate that when it happens!

We had a half foot of snow overnight and we are expecting about an inch more, nothing to get too excited about, but I am so sore from falling and shoveling snow...all I could muster up this morning was to shovel a path from the house to the garage. I can't wait for the weekend....tonight I am taking out my Respite girl and then no more work until Monday!!! Planning on a jammie day and a Steeler's win on Sunday!!!

Ralphie is still showing some progress. He's not 100%, but he certainly is better today than he was on Monday and Tuesday, and a month ago. I can see it in his eyes...I feel so much happier knowing that he isn't in as much pain. Just wondering tho, after this dose of pred is gone, then what? I read that it is an addictive med and that long term use isn't suggested, so that means I won't be able to continue using it. Why oh why does the good stuff have to be so bad????
 
Very nice #'s, though. Congratulations! :)

I hope that you feel better soon. And I also hope that the snow stops for you soon, too. We've got cold temperatures here, but no snow, thank goodness.
 
thanks for visiting my condo and sharing your experiences with lev. Much appreciated.

looks like the animals run the show at your house, but then again, whose place don't they control? :lol: Enjoy your jammie day, sounds like it was much deserved.
 
Hi, Good morning!

Nice AMPS today! The cats run things here too. I am more likely to get out of bed for a cat than for any other reason! As your neighbor about an hour to the West, I feel you on the snow. Ick! Give the shovel a break and rest up. Have a great Furday!
 
Deb -

Pred isn't "addictive" in the sense that heroin is addictive. It's a medication that if it's taken for more than a brief period of time, needs to be tapered off very gradually since is is a steroid and has systemic effects on the endocrine system. Many of the IBD kitties here are on long term steroids. I would talk to your vet. It may be that a course of steroids is reducing whatever inflammation that was causing Ralphie to be in pain and once that's gone, he won't need the pred any more. If the problem is chronic, he may need to continue on pred but maybe at a low dose.
 
Glad to hear Ralph has got some sparkle in his eyes. Awesome update.

Man thats a lot of snow. Glad you have the weekend off. I love your idea of a Pajama Saturday. I think I'm going to do that darnit. I think you should leave your tree up :mrgreen:

Even that low blue looks so awesome. Keep up the awesome numbers Spot!!!
 
Well, it is still a nice low blue AMPS for Spot this morning! Sorry your btb brought so many weird dreams....
Hope you have a good day and make it fast so you can have that relaxing Saturday you were talking about! :YMHUG:
 
Sienne, thank you for your information on the pred. Makes me hopeful that maybe this course of action will help him and he won't need anymore. I was wondering why, on the bottle, it says to bid him for 5 days then QD for five more, then QOD for five then lower the dose from 1 to 1/2 until it is gone. Makes sense now.

Pat & Karrie: I was thinking about the jammie day being on Sunday, however, Saturday AND Sunday sound pretty darn good to me!! BUT...got my niece and nephew coming in for the weekend, so the jammie day may just have t wait a few more weeks, darn it!! :smile:

Angie, Iorwen, & Violet, thanks for visiting! Violet, where in Ohio are you? You just may be close enough to join us for our annual get together in August this year!
 
i vote that you, the nephew, niece AND the kitties have a pajama weekend!

cat_pajamas.jpg
 
Nic eamps today Spottie--Deb I am getting tired of SNOW!!! Worst January I can remember!--All we do is shop for food, cook the food, eat the foood & watch tv!!
Oh alright that's not So bad :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: PJ PARTY!!!! I think I like em!!--
Hope Ralph keeps improving..Been on pred. myself for 2 yrs & had to be weaned off..Hope he feels great soon! Have a good evening!
 
Hi Deb and Spot! happy furday to you! more snow???? sheshhh. jammie day says like the perfect solution! and football with that. :-D :-D SWEET! have a great evening. I am glad that ralphie is feeling better, and that maybe the pred will be a solution for him.
 
Well Spot, whatcha doing up there????
You are pretty good about bringing yourself back down. I have faith in you! :mrgreen:

Sorry about the dreams and hives. :-Q Hope your day at work got better. :YMHUG:

Im glad Sienne was able to clear up the question about pred. And it looks like your vet is most likely having you taper appropriately. You DONT want to stop abruptly. I hope Ralphie doesnt need to stay on it. Some cats do for various reasons (Latte was on it for a little over a year...which is what caused her diabetes and often wonky numbers). Other cats just need a burst of it. Humans with asthma often have to go through rounds of pred to reduce inflammation. Just all depends on the reasoning for its use.

I hope you are already kickin' back in your pj's and ready for a party!
 
Hi Deb, Your household sounds really in tune today (with the exception of your hives!). Good news about Ralphie feeling better and I hope that you will be able to taper off the medicine. Have a great weekend relaxing!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/21 Deb's Spot amps 122/pmps 74

recap:
amps ~ 122
+6~ 68
+9 ~ 71
pmps ~ 74
+4 ~ 103

I'm going out on a limb here and say that Spot is feeling a little stressed right now. Niece and nephew are here and they have just spent the past 10 minutes acting like..... well, let's just say they were dancing around and getting on each others nerves AND then my nephew proceeded to search out Spot and carry him to me for his test...Spot does not enjoy the extra attention, he will hang out with company, but children he tends to hang back.

Celi: OMG, that picture is just so cute, look at those booties!!! I certainly would be nice and comfortable wearing that ensemble, lol

Roni: Shop, cook, eat, watch TV, hey what is wrong with that??? Much better than step on ice, fall on ice, shovel snow, shovel snow, slip on slush, you know, lol So, the pred, it worked for you. How did it make you feel? Im just wondering because if he was in that much pain and this stuff works so well...I could just kick myself in the arse right now because this is something I should have picked up earlier. He's been in pain for over a month now....and if I would have known that was what it was, I could have save myself almost $600....blood test was almost $300 and xrays almost $300. Pred was $11!!! I'm not complaining about spending the money on him, tho, he is certainly worth it!

Carolyn, I thought that the Pred had something to do with increasing BG's, so I hope that this is just a little sumptin sumptin to get him healed and feeling better and nothing we would have to do for a while, especially since he has been running a little higher than usual. And yes, now I have been bathed and am in jammies and getting ready to get all the furries nini snacks together and head off to bed!

Ella, thanks for visiting and thinking of us! I hope you have a wonderful weekend also!

Well, off I go....jammie day tomorrow also means I may be able to visit many many condos!!! Nini all!!
 
Jammie day sounds fantastic! Sounds like you all have had a wonderful day so far... so glad that your Ralph is doing better! Hopefully Spot's numbers are back in the greens soon!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top