1/21 Buster PMBG 40, +20 min PMPS 50 , +1 77, +4 153

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara & Buster

Member Since 2012
AMPS 238
+5.5 126
PMBG 38, second test 43 - avg 40

Buster took a pretty good dive today and is now at 40 for pre-shot. Now I know why he was thinking of jumping up on the counter to snag a Cheeto! I think in the past I have just stalled without feeding, but I'm feeling wishy washy today. Should I reduce his shot tonight?

Previous Condo
 
Just grabbed the info from the sticky for you on the 40's"

Some general rules when stalling (ECID):

** 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
** 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.

  • When 40’s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
  • If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
  • --- Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?

** Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.

Perhaps the most important guideline in shooting low is that any time you shoot your lowest ever number, you should get a +1 and +2 to give you an idea of how the cycle will go. If the +1 is not higher than PS, or if +2 is much lower than PS, that means “pay attention” over the next few hours. Those tests will also help you become even more data ready for the next time you are presented with a low preshot reading.
 
For any cat, a test in the 30's means a reduction in dose. I'd definitely reduce tonight, at whatever point you do shoot.

by the way, the link to his ss in your signature goes to last year's page. no biggie, but i thought i'd mention it.
 
Thanks Julie! I guess I'm just feeling a little insecure tonight. He used to do this, but hasn't in a long time. I'll check him shortly and see what's what. I will reduce the dose, too.
 
He bumped up a little without food so we're gonna give it a whirl. I will check often tonight. I will also fix our ss :oops:
 
Wow. Guess Buster decided he wants all of your attention tonight. :nailbiting:

Hope he decides to surf in some upper greens for you tonight, Tara! (No need to be dramatic tonight, Buster.)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top