Brianna & Xander
Very Active Member
First thread from over in the welcome forum.
Hey everyone,
I apologize if any of this hasn't been done correctly - I'm trying very hard to follow the rules but I'm also tired and overwhelmed.
Xander has seemed to be doing great since the switch from a mix of dry and wet food to basically entirely wet. Although I leave a small amount out for him overnight (and take it away during the day), he hasn't eaten any dry food since overnight on Friday.
His overall numbers have seemed to get quite a bit better so I've been happy about that.
My question is mainly just wanting to get an idea of what's going on right now and how I should be proceeding. I'm a very anxious person and really struggle with ambiguity and not being sure what the right move is so I'm just hoping for some clarity. But please be gentle with me; my mental state has been awful through this and especially the last week or so.
I've done a ton of reading so I know that some cats have a later nadir than others. So far on the Lantus it seems like Xander's is usually around +4-6, but there haven't been that many cycles to base that on.
Today he was much lower at PMBG than usual (214). While this isn't under 200, I was going to have to leave for a few hours and he was continuing to drop. Usually his number has settled pretty high in the last several hours of the early morning and by PMPS. Based on the sticky here and due to the combination of this being unprecedented for us, and that he was continuing to decrease, and that I had to leave, I decided to skip the dose.
He got down to 175 at about 9:50 AM (+13.25) and I thought this was finally his nadir. But then after going back up to the mid-200s for most of the day, he dropped down to 161 at 6:45 PM (+22ish). I have no idea what that means. Was this actually his nadir, almost 24 hours later? Or was this something else?
At 7:30 he was still in the 160s and since this seemed very unpredictable to me I decided to skip the dose again, but right about at PMPS time he started increasing pretty rapidly so I decided to give a half dose. By the time I had the syringe and Xander ready it had increased enough that I would've been relatively comfortable giving 2, but based on how unfamiliar this whole day was to me I'd probably have been worried all night.
I know that I'll almost certainly have to start being comfortable with dosing at lower numbers, but since I don't really understand the mechanics of what happened today I didn't feel comfortable with it. I also don't have syringes with half units, but since we just got this box of 100 we can't really afford to buy another box that has them right now, so micro-dosing would be difficult. Could someone please help me understand what this was, what I should do next time and why it isn't/is safe to dose even if he seems to go down so late in the cycle or even way later in the day without an AM dose?
I'm on my way to bed and I know it's the end of the day and we're only supposed to have one thread per day but I'm hoping to have some clarity for the morning dose so I'm not stuck wondering what to do again like I was tonight. Please let me know if I should just immediately start a new post in the morning and link back to this one, replying to any responses in the new thread lol
Thanks all for your help.
Hey everyone,
I apologize if any of this hasn't been done correctly - I'm trying very hard to follow the rules but I'm also tired and overwhelmed.
Xander has seemed to be doing great since the switch from a mix of dry and wet food to basically entirely wet. Although I leave a small amount out for him overnight (and take it away during the day), he hasn't eaten any dry food since overnight on Friday.
His overall numbers have seemed to get quite a bit better so I've been happy about that.
My question is mainly just wanting to get an idea of what's going on right now and how I should be proceeding. I'm a very anxious person and really struggle with ambiguity and not being sure what the right move is so I'm just hoping for some clarity. But please be gentle with me; my mental state has been awful through this and especially the last week or so.
I've done a ton of reading so I know that some cats have a later nadir than others. So far on the Lantus it seems like Xander's is usually around +4-6, but there haven't been that many cycles to base that on.
Today he was much lower at PMBG than usual (214). While this isn't under 200, I was going to have to leave for a few hours and he was continuing to drop. Usually his number has settled pretty high in the last several hours of the early morning and by PMPS. Based on the sticky here and due to the combination of this being unprecedented for us, and that he was continuing to decrease, and that I had to leave, I decided to skip the dose.
He got down to 175 at about 9:50 AM (+13.25) and I thought this was finally his nadir. But then after going back up to the mid-200s for most of the day, he dropped down to 161 at 6:45 PM (+22ish). I have no idea what that means. Was this actually his nadir, almost 24 hours later? Or was this something else?
At 7:30 he was still in the 160s and since this seemed very unpredictable to me I decided to skip the dose again, but right about at PMPS time he started increasing pretty rapidly so I decided to give a half dose. By the time I had the syringe and Xander ready it had increased enough that I would've been relatively comfortable giving 2, but based on how unfamiliar this whole day was to me I'd probably have been worried all night.
I know that I'll almost certainly have to start being comfortable with dosing at lower numbers, but since I don't really understand the mechanics of what happened today I didn't feel comfortable with it. I also don't have syringes with half units, but since we just got this box of 100 we can't really afford to buy another box that has them right now, so micro-dosing would be difficult. Could someone please help me understand what this was, what I should do next time and why it isn't/is safe to dose even if he seems to go down so late in the cycle or even way later in the day without an AM dose?
I'm on my way to bed and I know it's the end of the day and we're only supposed to have one thread per day but I'm hoping to have some clarity for the morning dose so I'm not stuck wondering what to do again like I was tonight. Please let me know if I should just immediately start a new post in the morning and link back to this one, replying to any responses in the new thread lol
Thanks all for your help.