1/20 Mikey PMPS 230 +2 217 Mikey has a flat, needs pit crew

Status
Not open for further replies.

MikeysMom

Member Since 2011
AMPS 154 So maybe this morning I'm glad the new needles are hard to figure and my shots have been a little skinny-that's the lowest preshot I've shot yet! I gave Mikey a few drops of gravy with breakfast as well, but I'll admit I was a bit nervous!. I don't have to leave for tonight's event until 2PM or so, so I'm here to monitor. It's the second blue AMPS in a row, and since PS numbers tend to be the last to come down...I'm also happy about that!

Tonight will be the first time I won't be home to give Mikey his shot or for several hours afterward, so I'm a very worried Mommy today! My roommate will give him his shot and monitor him. I gave her my logon here and told her if she has questions to post under "Help for Amy's Mikey" or similar and told her about the ? and 911 icons. Luckily I'll be reachable by text throughout the night...thank goodness for Twitter and that it's expected-I'm a NASCAR reporter and it's our Hall of Fame induction ceremony,which will be televised, but media are seated off-camera. The downside is, we can't leave during the broadcast, so I can't call, only text, but that's better than nothing. Things went fine last night and I'm sure they will tonight (I already told her not to shoot if he's as low as this morning)and the rest of the week while I'm gone off and on. But it's teh first time, so I'm a nervous wreck!

Here's yesterday's condo:http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=61488

Good thoughts and vines to all the kitties and beans today.
 
Re: 1/20 Mikey AMPS 154 Nervous Momma Part II!

We will all be here for Mikey. I'm sure all will go well. You are lucky to have a friend willing to stand in for your like this. Welcome to the nervous momma club :lol:
 
Re: 1/20 Mikey AMPS 154 Nervous Momma Part II!

Did you shoot last night? There's no dose on your SS.

I don't know that I would have given gravy this morning. Remember, Lantus takes about an hour or two to kick in. It sounds like you and your roommate are prepared. We'll keep an eye out for her but I'm sure everything will be fine.
 
Re: 1/20 Mikey AMPS 154 Nervous Momma Part II!

+2 107 +3 96 +4 116 Nice numbers this morning. The gravy was more to keep me from freaking out shooting so low with Mikey's early activity. A drop of well over 100 in 2 hours isn't unusual for him. Anyway, he's had a great day, and he'll be fine tonight. I'm just worried because it's my first time leaving him for shot time.
 
Re: 1/20 Mikey AMPS 154 +3 96 +4 116 Nervous Momma Part II!

it's like leaving your baby with a sitter - far harder on you than on mikey! he'll do fine. i think what sienne's point was that the gravy will be out of mikey's system in perhaps 30 minutes, but the lantus won't onset for a couple of hours, but if it was to make you feel better then that's a-ok!!! we understand that.

you have to remind yourself that shooting low numbers is a whole different game than shooting high numbers. it's common for cats to drop from a 300 amps to 150 nadir, so you think that logically if the cat can drop 150 points from this dose, and i shoot a 150, my cat will be at 0 by the nadir and quite dead. makes sense, but it isn't how it works at all.

as you shoot lower preshot numbers, the curve flattens out and they might only drop 50, or even 10 points, by the time they get to the nadir. it's an odd thing, but i've seen it happen every single time lower numbers are shot. people shoot 60 and the cat only gets to 50. it's totally illogical.

have a great time at the awards show tonight! we'll watch for your roomie and give her a hand if she needs it.
 
Re: 1/20 Mikey AMPS 154 +3 96 +4 116 Nervous Momma Part II!

WHAT? NASCAR REPORTER? How come I'm just now findin' out about this!!! WOW!! Oh you're so lucky....GO MARK! Hubby used to be a diehard Earnhart fan but he's about given up on that and hollering for several others. We'll be watchin' induction - which one is you????

Mikey - be good for MamaBean and Roommate. Mama's job is VERY important.... :-D

BIG hugs,
 
Re: 1/20 Mikey AMPS 154 +3 96 +4 116 Nervous Momma Part II!

LOL Yes, I'm a NASCAR reporter. Unfortunately, at the moment, the site I do most of my work for I also co-own, which means my income is oh, about zero. My site is Frontstretch.com (shameless plug here). I also do a lot of the updates for kennywallace.com and if you get the Athlon Sports racing preview magazine, I wrote about half of the driver previews. We don't have a ton of content in the offseason but we're ramping it up now. The annual media tour is this week, which is why I'm leaving poor Mikey so much. I know he'll be fine. Thank goodness I live with one of my friends; I do travel to about 10 races a year. And there is a slim possibility of a PR job that would have me away almost every week, so...I better get over it!

I don't think I gave enough gravy to raise the carb% of Mikeys food above 7%. It was like, three of the little pieces of food with the gravy. His curve was good today...pretty much his normal daytime numbers.
 
Re: 1/20 Mikey AMPS 154 +3 96 +4 116 Nervous Momma Part II!

WOO HOO!!! NASCAR'S LOIS LANE IS ON THE FDMB!!!!!!!!

have a wonderful time tonight!

and Mikey...while Momma's gone.... :-D

funny-pictures-cat-drives-an-invisible-racecar.jpg
 
Re: 1/20 Mikey AMPS 154 +3 96 +4 116 Nervous Momma Part II!

Mikey had a safe, if flat evening. His PMPS was 230 and +2 217 My roommate was pretty sure it wasn't a fur shot, so probably just a Mikey flat. If he had to have one, he picked a good night, so i didn't worry and had a great night...that i sorely needed! Six more days of craziness, but we'll make it through. I'll do his AM shot tomorrow and them roommate will test and do PM.

Love the invisible race car!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top