1/20 Lucian AMPS 369, +6/HI Again, PMPS/469

Status
Not open for further replies.

nckitties3

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo

Morning all,

Nice to see something other than black!

Managed to get test with 1 poke this morning, free hand does seem to work better for me. But after that ONE video on UTube, I was afraid to even try it. :lol:

Have to get more FD Liver treats today, it's my only 'edge' ;-)

Hope everyone has a green day and happy kitties!

Debbie and Lucian
 
Re: 1/20 Lucian AMPS 369

Great Job! I actually poked through Gobby's ear last night and this morning :( but did get BG's. Poor Gob, Gob
 
Re: 1/20 Lucian AMPS 369

Nice work, Debbie! Hopefully we can start seeing those numbers slide down the rainbow...and STAY there! Enjoy your day!
 
Re: 1/20 Lucian AMPS 369

Wonderful condo today - woohoo!!! Even now, I still manage to occasionally accidentally pierce Trix's ear. I actually ended up getting my own ear pierced a few months after her diagnosis, to honor her courage through all of this...we're "Ear Pokey Sisters" for life!

Have a great day, Debbie!
 
Re: 1/20 Lucian AMPS 369, +6/HI Again

Another HI @ +6.

I'm not going to let it get to me, I know he had his shot this morning and he's trying to adjust. Hopefully, it will start coming down soon.

He's having very low carb lunch as we speak. I'll test again PMPS, it's all I can do is keep an eye on it.

Is it uncommon for some cats to go high when their dose is upped? Until they adjust? Or is he really having a problem?

I am extremely careful on his dose, I make sure it is accurate, even if it means loosing some medication.

Any thoughts?

Debbie and Lucian
 
Re: 1/20 Lucian AMPS 369, +6/HI Again

Hi guys yes it is common it is called NDW (new dose wonkiness). You are doing great, just put on those patient pants. Glad the testing is going better. Hope you have a great Sunday and are able to get some relaxation in, you deserve it.
 
Re: 1/20 Lucian AMPS 369, +6/HI Again

I'm trying to remain calm and be patient. If this is not that unusual, then I feel a little better.

I 'want' to keep testing him, but with what we have gone thru, I know I need to keep it to a minimum, he's seeming to calm down a little, maybe because I am doing it faster and without so many pokes. I don't want him traumatized like he was a couple days ago.

It seems to be getting better, at least he didn't run away after the test and ate his treats....thank heavens for freeze dried liver!

Thanks ya'll!
 
Still too high, but it IS reading and it's a tad lower than this time last night. I sure hope tomorrow is better, I'm worried about my boy. :sad:
 
The furshot yesterday may have drained his depot a bit, resulting in higher numbers today. As the depot refills, you may see better numbers again. Good work today!
 
That was last night and he was sky high yesterday AFTER an increased dose......before the fur shot..........so I dunno.
 
well, there's new dose wonkiness, too. My cat often has high numbers after an increase. But I think yesterday's high number could have been a bounce off the low 237 at AMPS. Anyway, it's nice he's coming back down from the Hi.
 
I agree, I'd much rather see numbers, even too high numbers, than just 'HI'.
I swear I thought I felt a dampness on my finger when I rubbed him after his shot, but it could have been my imagination. My fingers are always cold and I've lost some feeling in the right hand, so it makes it hard sometimes.
 
I always rub Hershey after his shot and smell my hand (a couple of times ;-) ). I've found that I can't always feel the wetness with such small doses.

Did you get a chance to read other people's condos, especially early ones from people who sound like they have it together now? I think it will really help you see that we all go through similar things. Just keep breathing and reminding yourself that you're making progress. :RAHCAT

Have a great evening -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
nckitties3 said:
That was last night and he was sky high yesterday AFTER an increased dose......before the fur shot..........so I dunno.
If after 6 cycles (3 days) Lucian is still running high, then that just means he might need another dose increase or a little more time to settle into it. After the first few increases/decreases, you'll eventually start to get a better picture on how your cat reacts to dose changes and know how long it might take for him to clear up the New Dose Wonkiness (on increases) or settle into good numbers that aren't too low (on decreases). For example, I just gave my kitty a "fat" dose tune-up at yesterday's AMS and he ran high all day yesterday. Today, he's already looking better. Sometimes, though, it's taken two or three days for me before I start seeing any difference, especially if it's a full .25u increase.

"General" Guidelines:
  • Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
  • Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
  • Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Reducing the dose:
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
  • If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
  • Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.

Random Notes:
Because of the cumulative nature of Lantus and Levemir:
An early shot = a dose increase.
A late shot = a dose reduction.

A "cycle" refers to the period of time between shots. There are 2 cycles in one day when shooting twice a day.

Sometimes a dose will need to be "fine tuned" by adding some "fat" or "skinny-ing up" the dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top