1/20 Holley AMPS 155, +1 128, +1.5 89, +2 82, +3.5 94, +4.5 171, +7 315 PMPS 299, +1 319, +2 219, +2.5 167, +3 157, +5 155

I did another check after 15 minutes and she’s at 112. Not sure if I should feed a snack or what.
Now at 89 after 1tsp LC. Going to feed more. Will be late for work.
 
Last edited:
She will just eat it all in one shot. She doesn’t graze ever. I know 89 is good but she’s only 2 hours post shot so I’m nervous.
I know, I would be too. That's is a good drop from PS. How long has it been since she had food? MC or HC? What's her last reading? How long can you stay with her? I know you're already late for work. I'm hoping you get more help soon. I'm not sure who else to try to tag.
 
I know, I would be too. That's is a good drop from PS. How long has it been since she had food? MC or HC? What's her last reading? How long can you stay with her? I know you're already late for work. I'm hoping you get more help soon. I'm not sure who else to try to tag.
She’s had a whole second can of fancy feast in the last 45 minutes. She got her first can at short time, two hours and 15 minutes ago. I just checked her. She was 84 so she went from 82 to 84 instead of dropping again. I just left for work. I had to call a friend I paid him to go to my house and keep checking her until I know she’s not going to keep dropping. I have moderate carb and high carb food set out for him and a syringe of Carrow syrup just in case he is going to give me each reading when he gets it and I will instruct him on what needs to be done.
 
She’s had a whole second can of fancy feast in the last 45 minutes. She got her first can at short time, two hours and 15 minutes ago. I just checked her. She was 84 so she went from 82 to 84 instead of dropping again. I just left for work. I had to call a friend I paid him to go to my house and keep checking her until I know she’s not going to keep dropping. I have moderate carb and high carb food set out for him and a syringe of Carrow syrup just in case he is going to give me each reading when he gets it and I will instruct him on what needs to be done.
Oh, good that someone can check on her and she seems to be holding steady for now.
 
Hi Jenn, is your friend able to do bg tests? Please tell him not to feed Holley a lot--you want her to remain a little bit hungry in case she continues to drop. Let me know if he is going to be testing.
 
Hi Jenn, is your friend able to do bg tests? Please tell him not to feed Holley a lot--you want her to remain a little bit hungry in case she continues to drop. Let me know if he is going to be testing.
Yes he will be testing. I’ll be guiding him on whether to feed or not. She is always hungry no matter how much she eats.
 
That's good. Since she's dropping, I would grab a test 30 mins. from the last one.
The last food she received was low carb, right?
In terms of quantity, I usually feed Jude a couple of teaspoons at a time, wait about 30 min. and then test.
Let us know what her next number is.
 
That's good. Since she's dropping, I would grab a test 30 mins. from the last one.
The last food she received was low carb, right?
In terms of quantity, I usually feed Jude a couple of teaspoons at a time, wait about 30 min. and then test.
Let us know what her next number is.
He’s going to test her in 10 minutes. I was checking every 15 minutes, then was giving her a little more than a teaspoon at a time. And yes, it was low-carb.
 
At the next test, if she continues going lower, I would give a little LC mixed with MC.
These are safe numbers. It's just good to flatten her out and keep her surfing about where she is and not allow her to keep dropping. Big drops lead to bouncing.
another half hour interval?
 
If you gave her MC/HC food, it will be out of her system 1-2 hours after ingestion, so you will want to test at that point to make sure she doesn't drop back down once the carb effect is gone. Otherwise, it looks like she might be headed up or at least she is not dropping further.

She's had a nice little trip to the lagoon today! That .50u is already giving her some action. The timing just wasn't great with you going to work, but they like to keep us on our toes. Since she's not a grazer, have you considered a timed feeder? That might save you some worries since she does tend to nose dive occasionally.
 
If you gave her MC/HC food, it will be out of her system 1-2 hours after ingestion, so you will want to test at that point to make sure she doesn't drop back down once the carb effect is gone. Otherwise, it looks like she might be headed up or at least she is not dropping further.

She's had a nice little trip to the lagoon today! That .50u is already giving her some action. The timing just wasn't great with you going to work, but they like to keep us on our toes. Since she's not a grazer, have you considered a timed feeder? That might save you some worries since she does tend to nose dive occasionally.
No, did not give any MC or HC food. No food since before i left. This is why i had dropped her dose, she was dropping too much too fast. I wasnt getting any sleep and was late to work a few times. Losing my job isnt an option unfortunately.
But yes, I had made a post in the main forum the other day asking about treat options and opinions on auto feeders. I have one in my amazon cart now and will be ordering it by tomorrow.
 
No, did not give any MC or HC food. No food since before i left. This is why i had dropped her dose, she was dropping too much too fast. I wasnt getting any sleep and was late to work a few times. Losing my job isnt an option unfortunately.
But yes, I had made a post in the main forum the other day asking about treat options and opinions on auto feeders. I have one in my amazon cart now and will be ordering it by tomorrow.
Did you see the post under the Shopping Partners tab regarding the Pet Libro. Several here have used the Pet Libro. I'm not sure if there is some sort of a discount there or not.

I also work outside the home, a thirty minute drive one way from home, so I completely understand your concerns about balancing the unpredictability of her insulin needs with a job. Last year, I took Jude to work with me for a couple of weeks, and let me be more specific, I snuck Jude into my office because we aren't allowed to have animals at work:oops:! But little dude just kept going low and worried me sick. So, I get it.

From my experience so far, this is what I've observed about FD. While every cat is different, I do seem to see a consistent pattern that shows that things are hardest in the beginning as kitties are responding to the newness of the insulin--highs, lows, nose-dives, etc.--unpredictability. Most (not all) cats seem to find a point of regulation overtime. And if you can keep the insulin consistent and hold them in those greens, you've got a greater chance of regulation (not to mention remission). And that's a good goal. Sometimes it just takes some time to get to that point. So this is likely the hardest adjustment period for you. It won't be like this forever.

That said, you've got to balance what you are able to do for Holley with her treatment, and frequently missing or running late to work is untenable. Something to consider in the future: perhaps make dose increases when you're going to have a couple of days off, if possible. This is what I do. That way I'm around to monitor. And bottom line: no one here is going to force you to do anything in terms of treating Holley that you don't want to do. They will give you guidance, they want you to follow a dosing method because that's good for your kitty and that's how they are able to guide you, but you hold the syringe, and you make the decisions, and those decisions are unique to your own circumstances. There have been times that I have had to give Jude an unearned dose decrease because he kept going low, and I couldn't monitor because I had to work. And I have to work to pay for Jude's insulin and food, etc. So, that was my balance.

The good news: Holley does occasionally nose-dive, but so far, in the few times she's had those drops, she seems to hold things in fairly safe numbers with LC food manipulation, which is good. She's not going dangerously low. And today she (and you) did really well!! She's so fortunate to have you caring for her.

She's very likely going to bounce after these greens, so hopefully you'll have a quiet evening.
 
Last edited:
Did you see the post under the Shopping Partners tab regarding the Pet Libro. Several here have used the Pet Libro. I'm not sure if there is some sort of a discount there or not.

I also work outside the home, a thirty minute drive one way from home, so I completely understand your concerns about balancing the unpredictability of her insulin needs with a job. Last year, I took Jude to work with me for a couple of weeks, and let me be more specific, I snuck Jude into my office because we aren't allowed to have animals at work:oops:! But little dude just kept going low and worried me sick. So, I get it.

From my experience so far, this is what I've observed about FD. While every cat is different, I do seem to see a consistent pattern that shows that things are hardest in the beginning as kitties are responding to the newness of the insulin--highs, lows, nose-dives, etc.--unpredictability. Most (not all) cats seem to find a point of regulation overtime. And if you can keep the insulin consistent and hold them in those greens, you've got a greater chance of regulation (not to mention remission). And that's a good goal. Sometimes it just takes some time to get to that point. So this is likely the hardest adjustment period for you. It won't be like this forever.

That said, you've got to balance what you are able to do for Holley with her treatment, and frequently missing or running late to work is untenable. Something to consider in the future: perhaps make dose increases when you're going to have a couple of days off, if possible. This is what I do. That way I'm around to monitor. And bottom line: no one here is going to force you to do anything in terms of treating Holley that you don't want to do. They will give you guidance, they want you to follow a dosing method because that's good for your kitty and that's how they are able to guide you, but you hold the syringe, and you make the decisions, and those decisions are unique to your own circumstances. There have been times that I have had to give Jude an unearned dose decrease because he kept going low, and I couldn't monitor because I had to work. And I have to work to pay for Jude's insulin and food, etc. So, that was my balance.

The good news: Monster does occasionally nose-dive, but so far, in the few times she's had those drops, she seems to hold things in fairly safe numbers with LC food manipulation, which is good. She's not going dangerously low. And today she (and you) did really well!! She's so fortunate to have you caring for her.

She's very likely going to bounce after these greens, so hopefully you'll have a quiet evening.
I did see that one, but its a bit out of my budget. I found one on amazon that has good reviews and in my price range.
I wish i could sneak holley in to work with me but i work in a food warehouse in the office and theres cameras everywhere. Trust me ive thought about it before. At least when she was first diagnosed i was working at the vet hospital so she was with me and constantly monitored.

I almost felt like i was being idk the right word but was made feel like the decrease decision i made was incorrect and made me feel like i was in the wrong in another post i had made. But i did what i felt was right for her and i.
Were super short handed so im working 6 days a week then 5, alternating weeks. So i dont have much time at all to monitor. im doing my best :(
 
Wow, she's gone back into outerspace after that dip!
Also, I get what you mean about being made to feel like you did the wrong thing by reducing. But you decide what is best for you and your girl. In the end, the decision is yours, and that, sometimes, is hard to communicate to those that are helping without it coming out wrong or being take the wrong way.
So whether you decide to keep this dose or reduce her again, it's what is best for you and her and I completely respect that. All you can do is all you can do.
I hope she comes down easy for you and no more scares right before work! I hope Monster hasn't been talking to Holley, because that's exactly what she would do, wait until I go back to work to start pulling some sneaky moves!
 
Wow, she's gone back into outerspace after that dip!
Also, I get what you mean about being made to feel like you did the wrong thing by reducing. But you decide what is best for you and your girl. In the end, the decision is yours, and that, sometimes, is hard to communicate to those that are helping without it coming out wrong or being take the wrong way.
So whether you decide to keep this dose or reduce her again, it's what is best for you and her and I completely respect that. All you can do is all you can do.
I hope she comes down easy for you and no more scares right before work! I hope Monster hasn't been talking to Holley, because that's exactly what she would do, wait until I go back to work to start pulling some sneaky moves!
This seems to be her trend...unfortunately... id love to keep her on 0.5 because it does bring her into the greens more..but she nose dives way too much. I guess well just see what happens. cant wait to see what shes at when i get home in 2.5 hours 🙄😅
 
This seems to be her trend...unfortunately... id love to keep her on 0.5 because it does bring her into the greens more..but she nose dives way too much. I guess well just see what happens. cant wait to see what shes at when i get home in 2.5 hours 🙄
Again, the good news is that her numbers were good today. She dropped, but not tooooo low--she didn't even earn a dose reduction. She was pretty flat. And her other drops have been similar. It's just something to keep in mind. Pretty soon, she's going to be surfing like Monster! 🏄‍♀️
 
Again, the good news is that her numbers were good today. She dropped, but not tooooo low--she didn't even earn a dose reduction. She was pretty flat. And her other drops have been similar. It's just something to keep in mind. Pretty soon, she's going to be surfing like Monster! 🏄‍♀️
I do wonder what she would have dropped down to had i not had to go to work and feed her to steer.. I for sure cant wait until shes surfing..this is exhausting and the poor girl is so tired of being poked
 
This seems to be her trend...unfortunately... id love to keep her on 0.5 because it does bring her into the greens more..but she nose dives way too much. I guess well just see what happens. cant wait to see what shes at when i get home in 2.5 hours 🙄😅
I think when you're able to keep her on the dose for a longer period of time, she's going to stay in the greens much more. She reminds me a little of Monster in wanting to be in those greens. And she did her fair share of bouncing too.
 
I think when you're able to keep her on the dose for a longer period of time, she's going to stay in the greens much more. She reminds me a little of Monster in wanting to be in those greens. And she did her fair share of bouncing too.
Sometimes i wish she wasnt so small, id do a Libre but shes so small itll take up like half her body lol.. And idk if shed try and rip it off or not. I might look into it though.
 
Sometimes i wish she wasnt so small, id do a Libre but shes so small itll take up like half her body lol.. And idk if shed try and rip it off or not. I might look into it though.
It is a headache for sure when you're beginning, but I'm so glad I have it now. I don't Iike NOT using it now. And the 3plus, is pretty small, about the size of a quarter. But I also know she's pretty small too. It's something to think about.
 
I do wonder what she would have dropped down to had i not had to go to work and feed her to steer.. I for sure cant wait until shes surfing..this is exhausting and the poor girl is so tired of being poked
That's why I think it will be a good idea to get the feeder. That way, you can set her up for grazing.
 
It is a headache for sure when you're beginning, but I'm so glad I have it now. I don't Iike NOT using it now. And the 3plus, is pretty small, about the size of a quarter. But I also know she's pretty small too. It's something to think about.
I havent seen the 3 plus, i didnt realize it was that small! im used to the 3 which was bigger than the half dollar. I might have to look into it.
 
Back
Top