1/20 Elian amps 468 +2.5 347 Need advice please?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susie and Elian

Member Since 2013
Hi everybody - Elian's spreadsheet is up and working as far as I know! Can you please advise me now as to what I need to do? The vet upped him to 1.5 units 7 cycles ago, I believe. I still can't get him into an acceptable range. Is it possible that the timing of my shots are not working? I do his amps every morning around 8, feed him but I don't give him his shot until 10:30. I do make sure he eats again before he gets his shot. So that means he gets his PM shot at 10:30 pm and why I don't have any bg numbers for pm - we usually go to sleep within an hour or two of him getting the pm shot.

Do I need to give him the injections right after he eats at 8 am or is that not a factor? Do I need to up him again? Or just leave it alone a while longer? Thanks in advance for any advice you can offer.

PS He is behaving like normal and is A-OK on the 5 p's! He's purring, playing, preening, pooping and.....oops - don't remember the 5th!!!!! But he's really acting just fine although he did lose a bit more weight at the last visit - from 16 lbs. to 15.13. But the vet says it's okay because he can still afford to lose about another 2-3 pounds or so.
 
Hi guys first of all your preshot number (amps, pmps) should be right before the shot. It doesn't matter what time you shoot as long as it is in 12 hour increments that work with your schedule. You want to test/feed/shoot in that order. Usually you want to have not fed Elian a couple of hours before shot time so you won't have any food spikes. make sense? I will leave the dosing up to the experts. You are doing great so far! happy Sunday!
 
If you are giving the shots at 10:00am and 10:00pm, then you want to test his blood sugar right before the shot.
And like Michelle said, we try not to feed within 2 hours before shot time, so we know the test number isn't inflenced by food.
If you want to work your shot schedule back to 8:00am and 8:00pm, then you'll want to shot earlier by 15 minutes per cycle until you get to the shot schedule you want (or by 30 minutes per day). If you get to the 8:00am and 8:00pm schedule, then you can do tests until you go to bed, to see how the cycle is doing.

We normally increase doses by 0.25 units at a time.
If you could get some night time tests, then we can help you to decide on any dose adjustments.
 
What we recommend is that you test, feed, and shoot all within a few minutes. Gabby, for example, gets her shot while her head is in her bowl and she's fed immediately after her pre-shot test. If you are feeding 2+ hours before you shoot, your pre-shot value is influenced by food. While it may or may not be a factor now, if Elian's numbers are lower, it will be an issue. You will be shooting a number that's higher than what you think and have a false sense of confidence. We suggest that no food be given at least 2 hours prior to shot times.

Lantus is a little different than the shorter acting types of insulin. Lantus doesn't onset for approximately 2 hours. You have time for Elian to eat before the insulin starts working.

I am not comfortable suggesting that you do anything with his dose until you can start to routinely get at least one test during the PM cycle. Cats can become hypoglycemic at night as well as during the day. Please get at least a before bed test every night. I suspect if you move Elian's shot time to 8:00, it will be much easier for you to get those PM tests.
 
Thanks Michelle - I was worried about that. Being a night person I was hoping to be able to give him his shots as late as possible at night but he is waiting for breakfast early every morning. So I've been doing a BG test, feeding him, waiting a few hours and then feeding again and giving him his shot. I guess I need to move him back to 8 am/pm. Can I give him his pm shot early tonight or am I better off not giving him one at all and then starting at 8 am/pm tomorrow?
 
Thanks Dyana and Sienne. I will go back to test, eat, shoot and move him back a few hours. It just means I will have to work around his pm shots and make sure I'm home on time every night. Of course I will do whatever I have to do for my guy!
 
Hi guys like Dyana suggested you will have to move your shot time by 15 min increments to get your shot time to where you need it. So tonight shoot at 10:15, then in the morning you will shoot at 10:00, and so on. I wouldn't miss any shots. Like Sienne said lantus works in 12 hour increments. Are you feeding small meals throughout the day? I feed Scrabble about 5-6 times a day. That may help with the hunger issues. Good luck, there is a lot to learn but you are doing awesome!!
 
Your guys are adorable!! When you have a chance, can you add in the background info on Elian so we don't end up plaguing you with the same questions. Here's the link to the Profile template. You don't need to use it but it helps if you include the information that's covered.
 
THanks Michelle! Yes, I feed him and his brothers 3-4 times per day - sometimes more. Nobody is every hungry but, like many, I had my guys on wet food and free feeding on dry. I have removed ALL dry and am only feeding Fancy Feast Classics now. Thank goodness Pet Supplies Plus has a sale on Fancy Feast this week - I loaded up on cases already and will load up one more time before the 23rd when the sale ends! If anybody has a store near them and isn't aware - it's only $.50 can with loyalty card as opposed to the normal $.63 or $.58 at WalMart.

I will move Elian back 15 minutes each day until I can get him back on track. The first vet's office staff had told me that I can "shoot" him within an hour of his scheduled time. Of course they're the same ones that started him at 3 units SID and said he needs to have dry food, among other nightmare info. hence being Elian's FORMER vet! I wish it was that easy that I could give him tonight's shot an hour early. :sad:
 
Sienne - I'll try to update as much info as I can. I did put some info in my signature - not sure how much more there is but I'll check it out. Thanks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top