Kelly and Buddy
Member Since 2018
Previous Post
@Wendy&Neko @Bobbie And Bubba @Sue and Luci - I'm going to reference some comments/questions you all made in the previous post because they are very relevant for today.
Buddy is a hot mess. I feel like it's one step forward, 5 steps back. Yesterday morning, when I got up to do his AMPS, he took a few steps out of his room and then completely fell over. He got back up, walked to the counter where we test and shoot and, before I could get to him, fell again trying to get up. His BG was where I expected (256). I fed him and gave insulin. As the morning went on, he seemed normal and I did not see any more issues with walking or jumping.
Later in the day, my son left he cabinet with our garbage can unsecured and, SHOCKER, Buddy opened it, climbed in and drug out a chunk of molded cheese that I found in the back of a deli drawer in our fridge. He didn't eat a lot but he definitely got some. Then last night, I (like a complete idiot) left a stick of butter out to soften before making homemade bread. Came back later and found only pieces of the wrapper on my dog's bed. Buddy must have found it, opened it, and then licked it off the counter to the floor where Bella, the dog, happily finished it off. I has hoping he didn't eat too much but now, after countless piles of the most repulsive diarrhea, I'm thinking Buddy might just have eaten the whole stick - or close to it. I had a hard time getting to eat this morning with his AMPS and that NEVER, EVER happens.
In addition to all this, Buddy has a slightly runny nose. Minor clear discharge, no sneezing, no runny eyes so I haven't been too worried yet. Last night, as I was loving on him, I noticed (what I believe was) his right lymph node was huge (as in as large than a marble). Of course, my first thought went to lymphoma but I can't imagine it would have become so large without me noticing. Then I wondered if it might just be because of his cold. Needless to say, I was worried.
Today, the enlarged gland or whatever it was, is completely gone. Buddy doesn't act completely himself but I'm hoping it is just an upset stomach from a stick of butter. Not crazy about his numbers his morning but might be a bounce from last night??
So, here are my questions/concerns (several of which are related to the discussion @Bobbie And Bubba and @Wendy&Neko were having on my previous thread about dosing). I would appreciate any advice/information that anyone has to offer.
1) Any thoughts about the falling over?
2) Would it be unusual for an extremely enlarged lymph gland to completely go down in 8 hours?
3) Dosing. My never ending battle. I am following SLGS because of work schedule. My understanding is/was that anytime he drops below 90, I do a reduction. It seems like every time there is a point where the reduction immediately shoots him right back up and I go through the same process again. I feel like I will never get him regulated.
Like last night, he went below 90 but his numbers were all safe and he almost never drops low in a.m. I did not do the reduction this morning. My question is can I stay at this dose as long as I am able to monitor at night AND his a.m. reading doesn't drop to a really low number (then I would reduce). I feel like he almost needs a higher dose in the a.m. but I know I can't do that.
4) My other question is exactly what Wendy and Bobbie were discussing. If/when I do the reduction and he immediately jumps back to purples and yellows, do I have to wait the full 7 days? I typically try to wait until the weekend to do in increases (since I can monitor much more) but sometimes waiting 7 days keeps him in high numbers for a long time.
5) Final question. It seems very difficult to get a cat into greens using the SLGS method if reductions are to occur when a cat drops below 90 because a 75 or 80 is okay but with SLGS that earns a reduction which seems to almost always put Buddy back out of greens. So, I am okay to skip the reduction and see how Buddy does? Or is this ill advised if I am not around to monitor most of the day?
Sorry for so many questions. Buddy has just decided to throw me a bunch of curveballs lately.
@Wendy&Neko @Bobbie And Bubba @Sue and Luci - I'm going to reference some comments/questions you all made in the previous post because they are very relevant for today.
Buddy is a hot mess. I feel like it's one step forward, 5 steps back. Yesterday morning, when I got up to do his AMPS, he took a few steps out of his room and then completely fell over. He got back up, walked to the counter where we test and shoot and, before I could get to him, fell again trying to get up. His BG was where I expected (256). I fed him and gave insulin. As the morning went on, he seemed normal and I did not see any more issues with walking or jumping.
Later in the day, my son left he cabinet with our garbage can unsecured and, SHOCKER, Buddy opened it, climbed in and drug out a chunk of molded cheese that I found in the back of a deli drawer in our fridge. He didn't eat a lot but he definitely got some. Then last night, I (like a complete idiot) left a stick of butter out to soften before making homemade bread. Came back later and found only pieces of the wrapper on my dog's bed. Buddy must have found it, opened it, and then licked it off the counter to the floor where Bella, the dog, happily finished it off. I has hoping he didn't eat too much but now, after countless piles of the most repulsive diarrhea, I'm thinking Buddy might just have eaten the whole stick - or close to it. I had a hard time getting to eat this morning with his AMPS and that NEVER, EVER happens.
In addition to all this, Buddy has a slightly runny nose. Minor clear discharge, no sneezing, no runny eyes so I haven't been too worried yet. Last night, as I was loving on him, I noticed (what I believe was) his right lymph node was huge (as in as large than a marble). Of course, my first thought went to lymphoma but I can't imagine it would have become so large without me noticing. Then I wondered if it might just be because of his cold. Needless to say, I was worried.
Today, the enlarged gland or whatever it was, is completely gone. Buddy doesn't act completely himself but I'm hoping it is just an upset stomach from a stick of butter. Not crazy about his numbers his morning but might be a bounce from last night??
So, here are my questions/concerns (several of which are related to the discussion @Bobbie And Bubba and @Wendy&Neko were having on my previous thread about dosing). I would appreciate any advice/information that anyone has to offer.
1) Any thoughts about the falling over?
2) Would it be unusual for an extremely enlarged lymph gland to completely go down in 8 hours?
3) Dosing. My never ending battle. I am following SLGS because of work schedule. My understanding is/was that anytime he drops below 90, I do a reduction. It seems like every time there is a point where the reduction immediately shoots him right back up and I go through the same process again. I feel like I will never get him regulated.
Like last night, he went below 90 but his numbers were all safe and he almost never drops low in a.m. I did not do the reduction this morning. My question is can I stay at this dose as long as I am able to monitor at night AND his a.m. reading doesn't drop to a really low number (then I would reduce). I feel like he almost needs a higher dose in the a.m. but I know I can't do that.
4) My other question is exactly what Wendy and Bobbie were discussing. If/when I do the reduction and he immediately jumps back to purples and yellows, do I have to wait the full 7 days? I typically try to wait until the weekend to do in increases (since I can monitor much more) but sometimes waiting 7 days keeps him in high numbers for a long time.
5) Final question. It seems very difficult to get a cat into greens using the SLGS method if reductions are to occur when a cat drops below 90 because a 75 or 80 is okay but with SLGS that earns a reduction which seems to almost always put Buddy back out of greens. So, I am okay to skip the reduction and see how Buddy does? Or is this ill advised if I am not around to monitor most of the day?
Sorry for so many questions. Buddy has just decided to throw me a bunch of curveballs lately.
Last edited:
