1/20 Beau - amps/513 - skipped last night's PM shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

alicia.1771

Member Since 2011
Last post 12/17 -- http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=58868

Hello everyone! It's been a while since my last post. Beau and work has kept me very busy and tired...still very sleep-deprived and I just caught a cold :(

Well, we had our very first skipped shot last night due to his low number that was still dropping at +13.25 and it was way past his meal time so I chose to feed and monitor because I wasn't sure if I had given a token shot that late I would be able to adjust his shot times back due to work. It probably wasn't the best idea given his AMPS but it's a good data I've gathered and a good lesson learned = NEVER SKIP A SHOT!

I'm hoping his shed will rebuild soon and we can pick up momentum again. He has been having really great numbers since last Friday night, surfing mostly in the green and blue zone except for a few bumps in between (not sure where some of the 300's come from since he didn't dip low before those numbers and has no access to other food).

Yesterday:
AMPS - 364
+5.5 - 55
+12.25 - 60
+12.75 - 54
+13.25 - 51 --> decided to skip shot, feed and monitor
+14.5 - 56
+15.5 - 65
+16.5 - 80
+17.5 - 98 --> already know at this point it will be a high number by AM

Today:
AMPS - 513 --> well, wasn't expecting it to be *THAT* high ohmygod_smile

So I have a few questions hoping some of you can advise:

1) If I had given a token dose late, say < 50% regular dose, can I keep the regular shot times or do I have to give the next shot 12 hours later? My thoughts were ok to shoot at regular time because the token dose will not be enough for him and his shed will be drained somewhat by the next shot. Since I wasn't sure about that I didn't shoot but would like to know so next time I can handle similar situation with more knowledge.

2) I know ECID but what is your "no-shoot number"? So far I've shot a 62 and a few low 80's, but it was either a steady or rising number and I was able to monitor. But last night he was dropping so I couldn't work up the nerve to shoot. Another reason was Beau doesn't seem to be a food spiker (please correct me if I'm wrong), as most of the time his BG has dropped by +2 after shot. Although he tend to go up a bit (or a lot) after some mid-cycle meals.

3) Looking as his SS, does Beau's good dose seems to be *between* 2.25u and fat 2.0u? I'm not sure how I would measure such an in-between dose? How do people shoot in drops?

Well, thank you for reading and I hope everyone is having a good Friday and I'm very thankful I get to stay home today to nurse my cold :)
 
Hey, Alicia!! Good to have you stop back.

I don't know if you've seen Libby's post on handling low pre-shot numbers. It's embedded in one of the sticky notes, as well. It's a good resource if you can't get on-line to ask a question or if there's no one around to lend a hand.

I don't know that I would go as far as to say that you should never skip a shot. Sometimes, you may need to do so to reduce the shed. Other times, you're so far off schedule that the only way to get back on schedule is to skip the shot. What I would say that skipping can be a strategic decision.

If you give a reduced dose (aka a "BCS" or big chicken sh*t dose), you should shoot on schedule. Shooting late AND reducing the dose double the effect on the shed. When you shoot late, it's like reducing the dose. Your way of thinking about a reduced dose was exactly right.

Basically, since you've already been shooting low, the fundamental "no shoot" number is below 50. Even very experienced Lantus users will not shoot the 40s or below. (There are notable exceptions like if you have a late nadir kitty but these are clear exceptions.)

The New to the Group sticky has some photos of micro doses as well as links to more photos and a description of "fat" and "skinny" doses. You can try to approximate in between. One thought is that Beau seems to be angling for a dose reduction. Once his shed is refilled, my guess is you'll see a lower number.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top