1/20/14, AMPS 580!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sorry this is so frustrating but yes, the dose seems too low.Have you seen the PZI protocol?

As it states, hold the dose 3 cycles and up by .25 or .5 depending on how high the number is. I would increase by .5 and monitor for midcycle numbers. So I'd go up to one unit or 1.2 and watch him. If he is still too low after 3 cycles, increase again.

It could be that PZI isn't just not going to last long enough for him and your choice will be to dose 3X a day or go to another insulin. I'd try a higher dose and reevaluate. He does seem to bounce too, but I definitely think he needs more insulin.

Are you sure getting ketone tests at these higher numbers?
 
I have been trying to get advice on the dose, and tried going as low as I can but I don't see any consistent improvement, so I think I am going to have to up his dose. I try to ketone test every time I change the litter box (every other day, I have 2 cats and 2 boxes) because usually that will inspire Jack to use the box so I can get in there with the strip;) but I haven't had success lately. Last time I tested he was good. I do need to test him again though, and will try this evening.
Thanks Sue:)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top