1/2 Ivy Amps 226, +3 254, +6 171, +9 202, Pmps 180, +2.10 142 Libre

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...9-6-226-10-229-pmps-270-3-7-177-libre.285175/
Good morning everyone
Amps 226
Yesterday was mostly blue am cycle, mostly yellow pm & a few blue on Libre sensor bgs.
This am we go to the vet to try to get some answers about the itching on her shoulders.
Will update with what I learn.
Will sedate her in 1/2 hour to get her sleepy so they can attempt to handle her. Positive thoughts are appreciated.
Im not sure who gets more stressed, her or me (knowing she’s stressed). :(
Safe surfing kitties & peeps :cat:
 
Good meowning Staci and Ivy.

Sending lots of PAWsitive thoughts and vibes your way. I trust all will go well and you'll get your answers.
Not a bad start for Ivy this AM either :cat::bighug:

upload_2024-1-2_9-54-49.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-1-2_9-54-49.png
    upload_2024-1-2_9-54-49.png
    180.6 KB · Views: 123
Hi Staci :)
Paws crossed all will go well with the visit to the vet, that neither of you will be too stressed and that the vet will able to do everything she needs and give you some good clarity :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I'm also very happy to see these beautiful cycles :joyful:
 
Thank you everyone for all of your good wishes today with our vet appointment. We heard and felt your love. So much appreciated by both of us.
@Mikanmama @Fistuk & Shelly @Jason - Kona's Dad @xelo y sinver @Diane Tyler's Mom @Karolina KJ @cecile & bella @Christie & Maverick

So the vet thinks it’s most likely a food allergy problem. (Of course I spend several hours making a big old batch of her lamb recipe yesterday) :woot:
Back to the drawing board we go. I emailed my nutritionist to set up an appointment to go over what’s going on so she can then formulate a new novel protein recipe to try to see if we can make her feel better. We are going to try turkey this time.
(She’s previously eaten chicken and salmon recipes)
I didn’t really think duck or rabbit or ostrich would be easy to source.
The vet also thinks we should leave her dose at 3 units. She doesn’t like patients taking cats too low which she feels would be dangerous. I assume most vets feel this way.
We will continue to follow the protocol here and ask for assistance here. :)

Hope you’ve all had a good day and a safe surf. Thanks again for the good vibes. I will keep you updated with what happens next.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci,
Food allergy! I didn't think of that one!
Glad you consulted with the vet.
You are such a dedicated mom for Ivy - taking time and putting so much effort into making good meals for her.
Hope you'll find a good recipe that will work for Ivy!
Thanks for the update! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci,
Food allergy! I didn't think of that one!
Glad you consulted with the vet.
You are such a dedicated mom for Ivy - taking time and putting so much effort into making good meals for her.
Hope you'll find a good recipe that will work for Ivy!
Thanks for the update! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Awwww thanks, Kit. Just doing my due diligence. You would absolutely do the same for your babies! We shall see if making some changes will help her. I sure hope so :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
The vet also thinks we should leave her dose at 3 units. She doesn’t like patients taking cats too low which she feels would be dangerous. I assume most vets feel this way.
This is definitely what my vet has said to me about not wanting Kit as low as I try to get her. But she also sort of accepts that she can't convince me otherwise. But I think that's mostly because, in her words, she hasn't really seen an owner who is as observant about their pet as I am. I do appreciate that she phrased it that way. :joyful:
 
This is definitely what my vet has said to me about not wanting Kit as low as I try to get her. But she also sort of accepts that she can't convince me otherwise. But I think that's mostly because, in her words, she hasn't really seen an owner who is as observant about their pet as I am. I do appreciate that she phrased it that way. :joyful:
That’s great that you have that relationship and dialogue. My vet is new to me and we are just getting started with a relationship. She doesn’t know how dedicated I am. I walk in with a notebook and papers with bullet points and a list for discussion. Kind of OCD about my cat ;)
 
Miss Ivy is snug as a bug and high as a kite. She's beautiful.

End of December and beginning of January numbers are looking great.

I'm not sure if you've talked with @Snickers and Chrissy , but I do know she's had to eliminate certain things from a diet, if it ends up being a food allergy. Hopefully it all gets sorted out and Ivy settled in good number ranges with no more itchy spots.
 
She is a beauty, even sedated :)
The 2 vets I had since Bella is diabetic said the same things. The first one was great and experienced but still, she thought she was too low when she started reaching 80 and was worried she had too much insulin. The new one said she will just write me the prescription since, in her words, obviously I know what I am doing. But she would prefer if I fed her the prescription food.
I hope a change of diet helps, poor Ivy!
 
Miss Ivy is snug as a bug and high as a kite. She's beautiful.

End of December and beginning of January numbers are looking great.

I'm not sure if you've talked with @Snickers and Chrissy , but I do know she's had to eliminate certain things from a diet, if it ends up being a food allergy. Hopefully it all gets sorted out and Ivy settled in good number ranges with no more itchy spots.
Hi Sybil, thank you. She is a beauty, I agree. (I’m biased, for sure)
This is not the first time we have switched proteins. Last time was due to IBD as she has some diarrhea and vomiting. They felt best to switch. We tried lamb. Been on it a few years. Now itching. Maybe she’s developed an allergy to the lamb. Maybe the sweet potato we use as her carb?? I will discuss with the nutritionist for sure.

I agree her SS is looking better. I’d still like to see Less yellow, more blue and green. Wouldn’t we all?
I hope you and Basic are doing well. Thanks for checking in with us :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Ivy slept in her kitty bed the entire afternoon sleeping off her sedation
View attachment 68620
Ohhhh she's so so sweet :bighug:
I'm happy the vet appointment went well. Alergy sounds like a very reasonable cause for itchiness. poor girl. And poor you needing to cook all over again :banghead:
I hope the nutritionist will help you find a good formula that's easy to make (and not too expensive) and her itchiness will be gone quickly.
What an amazing mum you are, Staci. So great you take her to check this.
I'm happy you ordered the AnimalBiome. I still need to sit on my report and school my call with them. Damn this flu :woot:
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
She is a beauty, even sedated :)
The 2 vets I had since Bella is diabetic said the same things. The first one was great and experienced but still, she thought she was too low when she started reaching 80 and was worried she had too much insulin. The new one said she will just write me the prescription since, in her words, obviously I know what I am doing. But she would prefer if I fed her the prescription food.
I hope a change of diet helps, poor Ivy!
Hi Cecile, thank you. :)
I do feel like I have yet to find a vet who really wants to help me in a more involved way with the diabetes. I’ve been to 3 vets and a specialist internal medicine doc and they are all very hands off (I think they really don’t know how to manage this disease).
I’m still mourning the vet I had for numerous years who stopped working to stay home with her young children just before Ivy was dx with diabetes. We had an amazing relationship and she would have been great to work with through this situation. Still crying over that loss.
It’s good you have a working relationship with your current vet. Guess that’s the best I can hope for at this point.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Ohhhh she's so so sweet :bighug:
I'm happy the vet appointment went well. Alergy sounds like a very reasonable cause for itchiness. poor girl. And poor you needing to cook all over again :banghead:
I hope the nutritionist will help you find a good formula that's easy to make (and not too expensive) and her itchiness will be gone quickly.
What an amazing mum you are, Staci. So great you take her to check this.
I'm happy you ordered the AnimalBiome. I still need to sit on my report and school my call with them. Damn this flu :woot:
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks Shelly. Doing the best I can. Whatever my girl needs I will do. My son tells me I move mountains for her every day. (I think he’s right) but I don’t know any other way to be with my pets (and children, and they are my children too).
I look forward to doing the poop test and hearing what you learn from Fistik’s report and consult on once you feel better!
Have a great day, Shelly :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks Shelly. Doing the best I can. Whatever my girl needs I will do. My son tells me I move mountains for her every day. (I think he’s right) but I don’t know any other way to be with my pets (and children, and they are my children too).
I look forward to doing the poop test and hearing what you learn from Fistik’s report and consult on once you feel better!
Have a great day, Shelly :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I know what you mean... when it's your nature that's how it is. A good support system around you is important. I'm happy you have a vet and nutritionist you like and lean on :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top