I think you are misunderstanding some comments, it is true that you want to gradually start shooting lower PS, but I do think that on that day you made the right choice by skipping.
I am not one for encouraging skipping, I only skipped/delayed my shot once with George, that was when he gave me his first amps in the 50's, I followed TR, and was fortunate to have a flexible schedule and be with him 24/7 if I needed to. I also adhered to the TR guidelines, waiting the appropriate cycles before each increase, and because I was able to test a lot I knew exactly how low the dose was taking George, this meant that I could be confident that I was not overdosing him.
By jumping from 1u to 2u, effectively doubling that dose you could well be running the risk of overdosing him, combine this with your schedule and you really do run the risk of a symptomatic hypo or worse.
One other thing that I think is important to highlight, is that we don't know if that 136 on January 1 2018 was the lowest he got. He might have been on his way up, or even though you NS he may have continued to drop into that PM cycle, there is a strong possibility that he went lower than that 136 on Jan 1st, when a kitty is overdosed you can run the risk of low numbers for many hours past the shot time (well past +12) so a NS is not a guarantee that you will keep him safe, especially when you have gone 'off piste' with the dosecreases, this is because a depot that has become over full with too strong of a dose will keep on influencing those numbers well past the point of what you would consider the normal duration of the shot as it emties, releasing more insulin into the system, with the resulting drop in BG.
You hold the syringe, so it is your choice, but I just wanted to try and convey how risky a strategy this can be.