1/19 Tessa AMPS 81 +2 94 +4 93 +6 72 +8 100 +10 104 PMPS 101 +2 82

Good to see the lower start this morning!
Do you think you can set an alarm for a later test at night? Say +5 or +6? I'm wondering if she is dropping lower at night and "mini-bouncing" in the day.
 
Good to see the lower start this morning!
Do you think you can set an alarm for a later test at night? Say +5 or +6? I'm wondering if she is dropping lower at night and "mini-bouncing" in the day.

I might be able to do that once or twice but definitely not on any sort of regular basis. I have a chronic medication condition that already makes me exhausted most of the time, I can't imagine how bad it would be if I added interrupted sleep into the mix.

Maybe I should just go back to the Libre? I have one on hand and Abbott is replacing the two that I had to remove early.
 
Would adding more meals overnight be helpful? I can have my husband pick up a timed feeder tonight when he gets off work. It doesn't have ice packs but I can chill the food ahead of time. Tessa doesn't care, she'll eat anything at any temperature. I'm pretty sure if I set a block of frozen food in front of her, she'd sit and lick until she could get a piece off of it lol.

I also looked back at Tessa's spreadsheet from before her cycles became flat and it looks like her bounces were almost always overnight and her low points were almost always during the day. Is it normal for cats to have their pattern change?

I'm probably grasping at straws here trying to assuage my guilt. I feel so irresponsible and selfish for not doing enough tests overnight. I'm literally putting Tessa's life and health at risk so I can sleep a little bit longer.
 
Would adding more meals overnight be helpful? I can have my husband pick up a timed feeder tonight when he gets off work. It doesn't have ice packs but I can chill the food ahead of time. Tessa doesn't care, she'll eat anything at any temperature. I'm pretty sure if I set a block of frozen food in front of her, she'd sit and lick until she could get a piece off of it lol.
LOL. When does she get meals at night? Just before you go to bed? At +2 or so?

I'm probably grasping at straws here trying to assuage my guilt. I feel so irresponsible and selfish for not doing enough tests overnight. I'm literally putting Tessa's life and health at risk so I can sleep a little bit longer.
Do NOT feel guilty! You are not putting her life or health at risk. :bighug:

Let's not stress her out with the Libre. Let's just give her some time. Maybe she's taking a little longer to get over the PFS since she is at a lower dose.
 
LOL. When does she get meals at night? Just before you go to bed? At +2 or so?

Yes, she gets a meal at shot time and then right around +2 or +2.5.

Do NOT feel guilty! You are not putting her life or health at risk. :bighug:

Let's not stress her out with the Libre. Let's just give her some time. Maybe she's taking a little longer to get over the PFS since she is at a lower dose.

Thank you, I'll try. I definitely tend to beat myself up a lot and I've been extra emotional today due to some other things going on in my life.
 
I'm kind of questioning that 81 this morning since she's been higher since then. Could have just been a fluke reading on the meter or maybe a bad strip? I'm going to change out the batteries later today just in case and I just emptied the pack of strips I had so I'll open a new pack later.

I also had a thought that maybe the insulin pen I have open is going bad and that's why her numbers are slightly higher. It's been open since November 29th. It has less than 20 units left so I might go ahead and switch to a new pen.
 
I also had a thought that maybe the insulin pen I have open is going bad and that's why her numbers are slightly higher. It's been open since November 29th. It has less than 20 units left so I might go ahead and switch to a new pen.
Don't throw away the old pen. If it's not the insulin, you can always go back and use it. I suspect she is going lower at night and bouncing in the day. Try that meal at +4 at night and see. I don't think she is dropping dangerously low, so you needn't worry about safety.
 
Don't throw away the old pen. If it's not the insulin, you can always go back and use it. I suspect she is going lower at night and bouncing in the day. Try that meal at +4 at night and see. I don't think she is dropping dangerously low, so you needn't worry about safety.

Okay, I'm going to try the meal at +4 first and see how that works and we'll go from there.

Interestingly enough her AM +6 today is much lower than she has been lately so you're probably onto something with the mini bounce theory.

I tested twice (once on one ear and once on the other ear) and got similar numbers. I did just open new test strips and I haven't tested them against control solution yet (will do that when I get off work later).
 
Ugh now I'm really confused because she's up to 100. I tested the strips against control solution and the result was smack dab in the middle of the reference range so it seems like everything is accurate. She was on the heating pad when I tested her so maybe my theory about that increasing her BG is right?

I'm tempted to buy a different meter just in case this one is going wonky. I've heard that the ReliOn meters are not always accurate.
 
She did have a pretty decent drop from PMPS so I am thinking the mini-bounce theory could be right. Hopefully the extra meal overnight helps. The automatic feeder has 2 slots so I could add another overnight meal if a +4 meal isn't enough.
 
I'm tempted to buy a different meter just in case this one is going wonky. I've heard that the ReliOn meters are not always accurate.
Some folks have reported that the ReliOn reads higher than the AT.

She did have a pretty decent drop from PMPS so I am thinking the mini-bounce theory could be right. Hopefully the extra meal overnight helps. The automatic feeder has 2 slots so I could add another overnight meal if a +4 meal isn't enough.
Let's give it a couple of days with the food at PM+4 and see what happens.

Her numbers are still within meter variance of green. :-)
 
Back
Top