1/19 Sam AMPS 396

Status
Not open for further replies.

KristenP&Sam

Member Since 2010
If today goes like yesterday did, I may up his dose to .6. Really want to get him into the vet for his checkup since being out of the hospital for a month. Must call them today.
 
I'm thinking to keep the 0.50u UNTIL you get numbers at AMPS and PMPS consistantly in the Yellows
 
I'm sticking to .5

And I don't do .05 increases. :-D That's just not going to happen with any kind of precision, so why try?
 
well Kristin..with the aid of a telescope and a microscope and using your extra large reading glasses I do think it's doable :lol:
 
KristenP&Sam said:
And I don't do .05 increases. :-D That's just not going to happen with any kind of precision, so why try?
If you have your mind made up I cannot do anything about it. :smile: I would say try because a) you can and b) it will help you be more precise and consistent about your current .1u incriments and c) it is a good way to be more aggressive with the dosing and not be really aggressive with the dosing - it's a good way to chicken out. :mrgreen:

Marcy posted a link to the Lev forum where someone had taken some great pictures. Of course this is with u-100 insulin but the increments part is still valid:
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=34424
Not sure if that was your topic or not - sorry if you have already seen it.

Even if the DH cannot handle the .05 currently [and you need to keep is a secret from him so you don't blow his mind] you can still do the .05u. I was lucky enough to have my septuagenarian mother come out here and take care of H a couple times so I could go have fun. I had 5 days to teach her everything and I did not bother showing her .05u incriments. So for the few days that I escaped we just dealt with .1u incriments. My point is that it is something that you can experiment with and I think might help you take more "chances" with the dosing without having to be as aggressive as upping by .1u. Upping by .05u is not as scary as upping by .1u.

And I'm not a fan of the 300s and occasional 400s you are reaching and hopefully we can get things a little lower without bottoming out the nadirs.

Consider yourself lucky I'm not suggesting you weigh his food... err maybe I've done that already? [just thought I would say that weighing food add like literally 15 more seconds to the routine and is not that bad :mrgreen: :mrgreen: ]
 
Okay, so now there are two things I'm not doing - .05 doses and weighing food. We have 4 cats who all eat out of the same four bowls (they cannot, apparently, read name tags) throughout the entire day, so weighing what he eats wouldn't be the issue so much as figuring out which bowls he's eaten from and when and how much the first cat at that bowl ate and...well, it ain't happening. :-D

On another note, Sam has a check up on Friday with the vet. I can't wait to see how the vet reacts when I tell her I'm not doing the scheduled feeding and have reduced his dose by 1.5 units. Can't argue with the SS tho. She seems pretty open-minded. I don't expect a kerfuffle or anything.
 
I bet she will be impressed with the ss. And just avoid talking about the scheduled feedings. My vet and I don't ever discuss food because we know we won't agree. (She hates Fancy Feast.....)
 
yes, sadly i too just nod my head at what the vet says...recently 'based on your cats weight start him with 3.5u levemir' umm, not so much. started with 1u and 3 doses later down to .75. OMG there is an .05 in that dose????? well it's different when your using a u100 insulin.
 
gator has anyone ever been scared to up by .1u? if your scared to up by .1u you have no business upping. i only upped by .2 minimum. but maybe that's why i have a cat who roamed the dark alley's of 600?
 
lori and tom said:
gator has anyone ever been scared to up by .1u? if your scared to up by .1u you have no business upping. i only upped by .2 minimum. but maybe that's why i have a cat who roamed the dark alley's of 600?
No comment. :mrgreen:
If you are calling me chicken... well OK I'll go along with that.
I'll just say that when I switched to ProZinc I was encountering some difficulties [and our dose was less than 1u]. The way *I* sorted that out was upping the dose by .05u every three cycles. Now H [as far as I know] did not generally have the big deltas [drops or change] like Sam does. So with Sam I might be a little more cautions on the frequency of increases until proper data was gathered.

Kristen I really am not suggesting you weigh his food... yet. ;-)
 
I would be with Sam since his deltas are bigger and a little more unpredictable than what I personally had to deal with. Scared, chicken, you name it/me. Some days Sam has relative flat curves then others he gets a big dipper. 321 to 99 the other day on .5u is what is really making me suggest a cautious increase.
 
On a side note, I have already prearranged the cat sitter for my upcoming trip, despite the fact that DH will be home. After his one successful dosing of Sam, he had to go on a business trip himself the next day, so I'm not sure if he'll retain that knowledge or not. Past history says we'll be a square one. It's okay, at least he's willing to try now. Also, I will probably be pre-loading some syringes and leaving them in the fridge ready to go so he doesn't have to try to get the dose correct, just pull one out and shoot. His eyesight, even with his glasses, is about as good as his hearing. As in, selective. I don't want to risk him getting that wrong. I barely trust the cat sitter to do it and she's a vet tech. I'm just a control freak that way, I guess.

PS. Sam's having a pretty nice day to day. :-D +6 was 154. I can live with that.

PSS. Gator, just a side note - to some, a delta is a the mouth of a river. I know from military life that a delta means a difference between two numbers/things/etc, but otherwise, I'd probably wonder why you keep talking about geology. Just saying. ;-)
 
KristenP&Sam said:
PSS. Gator, just a side note - to some, a delta is a the mouth of a river. I know from military life that a delta means a difference between two numbers/things/etc, but otherwise, I'd probably wonder why you keep talking about geology. Just saying. ;-)
Yes I know. I hear this frequently from Lori. :roll:

So if I used the proper mathematical symbol Δ would that help at all? ;-) "Delta" was something I first learned in high school math - and trust me I'm no math wizard!!

It take folks a while to learn the lingo here including "DH" - so I don't expect anything less for Δ.

I know how you feel about trusting your kitty to another's care. I had what I think would have been an incredible cat sitter who was very familiar with diabetes and ultimately I did not use her and only trusted H to family to care for him. I certainly couldn't trust H to my twit of a long time GF at the time. :roll:
 
I'm glad you did well in math. I didn't. I hate math. I hate thinking about math. I hate things related to math. Sam is the only earthly reason I would learn to use a SS, because to me, it's too much like math. Having said that, wipe delta from your FDMB database and just say "the difference". No one will think you're any less intelligent. In fact, the easier you are to understand, the smarter people will think you are. Trust me, I know the power of words more than most people.
 
Btw gator- coming to your defense (who woulda thunk it?)- my degree is in geology and I knew you meant the "other" delta.

Nice +6, Sam!
 
Just for the record - I did not do well in math. :-D

Delta is not something I made up and wish to torture all the non-math [or people that clearly have stated 'issues' with math ;-) ] folks here with. I wish I could find the link I learned it from, but nonetheless it is a long standing term. EDIT here's where I picked up the term:
http://tamingthecurve.blogspot.com


"Nadir" is another word that we use here just like "delta." Perhaps we should not use the term "nadir" either and just say "the lowest point of the curve?" Just sayin'. :smile:
 
I know you didn't make up the word delta. And I think, when talking to a newbie, you should explain what you mean by nadir. I know you're joking, but really, when I first got to this site and started reading, I almost left because most posts were almost indecipherable. Granted, when you're in one of these sub-forums, you probably know a little more, but there's a huge learning curve with this site and this disease.

Didn't mean to go off on a mini-rant there and hope it didn't come off that way. I'm swamped with work and getting very little of it done. Guess I should log off for a bit.
 
Man, what a GREAT day! I wish Bud's SS was like that.

You're already got a yellow PMPS. Please give the 0.5u several more days. My gut tells me it's going to continue to drop. It's not going to hurt him, is it ya'll? No keytones, right? If it don't hurt, give it a try.

When are you leaving on your trip?
 
I don't leave until next week, so I have time to work with this dose. I do plan on sticking it with it as long as we're getting these kinds of numbers or better. Sam was a nice mix of playful and lazy today. It was a good day.
 
On the pre-filling topic. You may want to experiment with this ahead of time. I only did it when taking H on a road trip where we went though mountain passes. What I ended up with was less insulin in the syringe than I filled them with. So I don't know if it was the pressure change or what.

Ultimately it worked out because I put in more insulin than we needed [and made more syringes than we needed]. I was more trying to preserve the bottle and not risk a whole bottle on the trip.
 
LOL I'm pretty sure my fridge won't be going through any mountain passes. However, should that happen while I'm away, I hope my husband notices. You never know with him...
 
Kristen make sure to tell whoever will be using the pre-filled syringes to gently roll them the way you do your vial. you are rolling your vial right? did anyone mention to you to gently roll the vial each time you use it?
and make sure your hypo kit is ready for dh or sitter if any 'signs' show up..ya know, like drooling, excessive meowing, unable to wake.
maybe dh and babysitter should have your board access and some phone #'s. oops, am i allowed to say that???
 
Yep, I roll the vial. In fact, sometimes I roll the syringe after I fill it to warm it up a little. I'll make sure DH knows. The vet tech/cat sitter already knows - in fact, I think she's the one that taught me at the vets.

I'll let him know about this site in case he has a problem. He already knows about hypos, too.
 
when are you leaving and for how long? sorry if i missed that. i don't want to think you've dissapeared if it's a long time.
 
oh that's not too bad. tell dh we'd love to meet him. we'll be on our best behavior for him :mrgreen:
 
I've put shortcuts on DH's computer that takes him right to the PZI board and anther that brings up Bud's SS and moved them to a blank corner of his desktop.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top