1/19 Rocket AMPS 104 +2.5 65 +7.5 124 +9 110 PM BG 99=NS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rocket & his Mom

Member Since 2010
Morning all,
still under the weather myself...

we had little sleep as Comet for whatever reason was restless last night again...he is ok during the day...sleeps/eats/pees/poops just fine....but come night time he pants too much but late at night...so thinking he is thirsty we make sure he drinks water and then dh takes him out...but he is restless....so last time i was awake was 4:30 am....dh and i never heard the alarm...so we both got up late....7:30 am!!! dh was gonna be late for work...i immediately tested Rocket and gave pheno and pepcid (meds were late too)...

amps 104...fed he ate just fine
+1 108 gave zofran
+1.5 fed again
+2 67 gave fluids and chicken dust
+2.5 65...found him laying on the litter box.....i think the drop makes him feel unwell...fed FF

yesterday viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34723

i think the bupe is out of his system...so we are back at the roaller coaster game of the constant testing...

since i need to get back to the old time i will work my way back by 15 mins until we reach 5:30 am again for ps time...

perhaps i should give him a lesser dose than 0.5u

back in half hr.....his heart is beating pretty fast and we are only at +2.5 here.....this is freaking me out...

would the 0.5 u be too much for him?
 
Re: 1/19 Rocket AMPS 104 +1 108 +2 67 +2.5 65 +3 70

i don't particularly think he enjoys being in the 60s...mild trembling noted....now +3 70....he looks pretty tired...where i fed him and tested him at +2.5 is where he still is....

it seems Rocket does not fit the norm to perk up when in really low numbers....i think he is at best in the mid 70s to mid 80s....

i think my theory may be right....going low makes his pheno levels get out of wack....

thoughts?
 
Re: 1/19 Rocket AMPS 104 +1 108 +2 67 +2.5 65 +3 70 +3.5 74

Good Morning Claudia,

I'm sorry you guys had such a restless night. I think it may be reasonable to think that rocket feels better at 70-80 BG. You live with him and know him best. I hope you get some rest and feel better today. :razz:
 
Re: 1/19 Rocket AMPS 104 +1 108 +2 67 +2.5 65 +3 70 +3.5 74

What is the healing range? What about maybe not shooting unless he goes above 120? Maybe the pheno/bupe will have him holding his numbers on his own in the healing zone?

HUGS>
 
Re: 1/19 Rocket AMPS 104 +1 108 +2 67 +2.5 65 +3 70 +3.5 74

Sorry to hear it was a restless night... hope you guys have a good day today!

Christie and Willie
 
Re: 1/19 Rocket AMPS 104 +1 108 +2 67 +2.5 65 +3 70 +3.5 74

Karrie and Maverick said:
What is the healing range? What about maybe not shooting unless he goes above 120? Maybe the pheno/bupe will have him holding his numbers on his own in the healing zone?

HUGS>
Karrie,
the pheno is for life...but he is not on bupe anymore....

should i reduce the dose to 0.25u?
i don't know any of this stuff....i don't know what the healing range is?

i just checked my meter...and i noticed that i DID get up to test him at what would have been his amps of 5:30 am and he was 97...but for whatever reason (probably the meds i'm on for the flu) i went back to bed rather than test 1/2 hr later....and give the pheno/pepcid then....i left food out and he nibbled on it probably shortly after i tested him....it's all a blurrrrrrrrrrrrr.....and what he ate is Evo which is higher in carb (not much) than the FF....so not sure if that played a role in him at 7:30 am being 104 then i panicked and shot the 0.5u and fed again...then +1 he was 108 (most likely from the food).....

this diabetes/shooting thing is soooooooooooo confusing to me....and with all the other stuff that he's had going on...makes it more unpredictable....so not sure what to do....if maybe his therapeutic levels would be better off in the 70s range and up....someone in the epi-feline group was mentioning to me Feline Hyperthesia Disorder

she said this:
The hyper behaviors may be provoked by petting or stroking your cat.
Hyperesthesia is often found in highly aroused, anxious, or aggressive cats. The
exact cause is unknown, however stressful events in your cat's life may
provoke it by causing severe anxiety. It is thought that changes in brain chemicals
occur during chronic anxiety and that this can lead to the hyperesthesia
disorder.

Stressors that can trigger anxiety include:
* moving to a new home/change in schedule
* the addition or subtraction of a family member, including other animals
* aggression among cats in the household
* underlying pain may also play a part in this syndrome. Pain is a strong
stimulus for anxiety in cats. Medical conditions/trauma.

There is no diagnostic test for feline hyperesthesia syndrome...


so how can i help him manage both diabetes and his neurological problem if indeed that is what causes the tremors?
 
Re: 1/19 Rocket AMPS 104 +2.5 65 +3.5 74-EXPERTS input NEEDE

Just giving you a bump, since I am not an expert, and I have not been following Rocket's condition closely enough to comment.

The healing range for the pancreas is, I believe, under 120.

But I too would be concerned by Rocket's symptoms. Is his lying in the LB something you've ever seen before?
 
Re: 1/19 Rocket AMPS 104 +2.5 65 +3.5 74-EXPERTS input NEEDE

Kathy and Kitty said:
But I too would be concerned by Rocket's symptoms. Is his lying in the LB something you've ever seen before?
i only saw him lying on the LB while on the bupe or when he got the tramadol.....each time i would pick him up and bring him back to bed....

i found this regarding the LB http://www.felinecrf.org/symptoms.htm#l ... _litterbox

when he first started going low on his BG he would be hunched over by the waterbowl....drinking away....
 
Re: 1/19 Rocket AMPS 104 +2.5 65 +3.5 74-EXPERTS input NEEDE

Did his heart rate come back down?

I'm going to see if I can get some other eyes on your condo to answer your question about dose or I'll be back.
 
Re: 1/19 Rocket AMPS 104 +2.5 65 +3.5 74-EXPERTS input NEEDE

Sienne and Gabby said:
Did his heart rate come back down?

I'm going to see if I can get some other eyes on your condo to answer your question about dose or I'll be back.
yes his heart rate came down once he started to go up

now +4.75 77...nibbled on food

i'll be out for 1 hr...going to get more meds for myself....will check my condo as soon as i get back
 
Re: 1/19 Rocket AMPS 104 +2.5 65 +3.5 74-EXPERTS input NEEDE

Claudia

I'm not a lantus user but...I think that under 120 is perfectly fine to go without a shot. I don't know that anyone knows the exact number at which damage starts to occur but given all that he's got going on, you need him comfy and if that means over 70 then I would be just fine if it were me.
 
Re: 1/19 Rocket AMPS 104 +2.5 65 +3.5 74-EXPERTS input NEEDE

I've done a bit of consulting. We're on the same page as Jen. Why not hold off on insulin if Rocket is consistently below 120 the way he has been for the last few days? The worst case scenario is that you need to give him some insulin if his numbers are back up. This will be one less thing for you to worry about.
 
Re: 1/19 Rocket AMPS 104 +2.5 65 +3.5 74-EXPERTS input NEEDE

OK...
sorry took so long to reply....i went to a walk in clinic as i need abs for myself...and took longer than expected...

i will hold off on insulin if he is consistently below 120.....until he goes higher i will consult to see if he needs maybe half the dose he was getting...to start...

i will update for what will be his pmps time tonight...

this whole thing makes me nervous with the neurological situation....as i've said...he does not fit the norm for many things....so hopefully he will sustain those numbers as before....with no insulin....see SS...fully updated...

he is eating now and will check at his +7.5
 
Re: 1/19 Rocket AMPS 104 +2.5 65 +3.5 74-EXPERTS input NEEDE

We always say here Know Thy Cat and I believe you do...Moonie feels good in the 80's & up range, I see it in how she acts--
As not giving the insulin may help him, I think you got some great advice here...
Still in our thoughts & prayers for Rocket to be all better soon--Hugs from us here!
 
Re: 1/19 Rocket AMPS 104 +2.5 65 +7.5 124 +9 110

ok so if by pmps time he is under 120 then no shot....

strangely he has been over-grooming as of today....i hope i don't have any more problems with him...he has enough going on as is....

+9 110 fed him some FF and sprinkled some fortiflora....ate it all up!

eta: is it normal for them to go down later in their cycle? i don't think i've seen that in Rocket's cycle before.....

thoughts?
 
Re: 1/19 Rocket AMPS 104 +2.5 65 +7.5 124 +9 110

Maverick sometimes goes down again before preshot. Not sure why it happens. Its like a little wave. Like today... +6.75 he was 97 but PMPS he was 87. I wonder if its his pancreas kicking in after the insulin peaks. But I don't have a feeding schedule like you and Rocket. So just want to say it happens. A bump for you and an expert will have a better explanation of why its happening for Rocket.

Edit. I forgot about your being under the weather too. Hope the antibiotics are starting to work Claudia. Hugs.
 
Re: 1/19 Rocket AMPS 104 +2.5 65 +7.5 124 +9 110

hi guys...just getting around to some of the condos...

hope you are both feeling better...
 
Re: 1/19 Rocket AMPS 104 +2.5 65 +7.5 124 +9 110

try not to worry about the numbers, Claudia. Rocket is doing fine with his diabetes right now, and so are you. It's not too unusual for cats to do a "double dip" at the end of the cycle (just to dip down again a little bit). It's also possible that the 124 earlier was a teeny tiny little bounce, or a response to the food he ate a little before that. He's doing fine.

Can you refresh my memory - what was Rocket's usual numbers range when he was OTJ before? I was thinking he ran in blue sometimes anyway, but I might be confusing him with someone else.
 
Re: 1/19 Rocket AMPS 104 +2.5 65 +7.5 124 +9 110

I think (but I'm not sure) that going down before PMPS is called "double dipping" and that it is quite common. Good luck, Claudia, with holding off on the insulin if Rocket is below 120. I hope that it will help.
Thinking of you and continuing to send vines to Rocket (and to you and Comet, too; take care of yourself!).

Hugs,
Ella

p.s. I just see that Libby says it is a double dip, so that's what it is!!
 
PM BG 99...feeding...no shot

hopefully this will work for him...with no tremors...

he was green and sometimes blue...Libby his old SS is linked to my signature
 
Missed you this morning Claudia but more healing vines and moral support. You are doing an awesome job!!! Hope you are better.
 
Hi, Claudia.. I hate to hear you are under the weather & hope you feel better soon ;-)
Rocket's #s look great & I continue to pray for you both during this challenging time.
Thank you for your support & kind words over the past few days :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top