1/19 Pearl AMPS 256, +1.5 310, +3 260

Margaret and Pearl (GA)

Member Since 2020
Hi all!

I hope you are all having a nice Tuesday.

Question: on a cycle like today's where Pearl isn't really dropping, how much more should I test? I had gotten into the habit of testing toooo much and was wearing both Pearl and I down, and then someone suggested I could ask about how frequently I should be testing - I hadn't though of that, lol! On a cycle like today, should I test at the +6 or some other number, or just wait till the PMPS?

Link to yesterday's post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...398-3-277-8-292-pmps-421.241701/#post-2722714

Thanks!
 
The answer is, it depends on your cat. Many people get a +2 to give them an indication how the cycle will go. If the +2 is higher than the preshot, it'll be a quiet cycle and you don't need to test more, unless you want to. If it's the same as preshot, you'll get a normal Lantus cycle with some downward movement. A +2 lower than the preshot means an active cycle with more monitoring needed. The +2 did not work for Neko when she was on Lantus, a +3 or +4 was better for predicting her cycle. If it was going to be a quiet cycle, I topped testing. I liked to save strips.
 
The answer is, it depends on your cat. Many people get a +2 to give them an indication how the cycle will go. If the +2 is higher than the preshot, it'll be a quiet cycle and you don't need to test more, unless you want to. If it's the same as preshot, you'll get a normal Lantus cycle with some downward movement. A +2 lower than the preshot means an active cycle with more monitoring needed. The +2 did not work for Neko when she was on Lantus, a +3 or +4 was better for predicting her cycle. If it was going to be a quiet cycle, I topped testing. I liked to save strips.
Thanks so much for this, Wendy. Pearl usually drops +1 to +3 by quite a bit (if she is going to drop), so maybe I should keep making sure i test there no matter what. But understanding the trends is so helpful - whether the number is going up, staying the same, or some downward movement. Thanks!
 
Back
Top