? 1/19 Ivy Amps 322, +3 318 , +6 217 Libre, +9 195, Pmps 394, +3 165 High PU/PD

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
Amps 322 Libre 😒
Yesterday:
? - 1/18 Ivy Amps 382, +3 243, +5.75 129, +8 236, Pmps 279 Libre Lots of pees

Ivy’s appetite has been a bit reduced this past week.
I’m able to get her to finish her regular food, but with my encouragement and some hand feeding.

I gave a 9 mg dose of Cerenia Saturday &Sundsy in case she’s feeling β€œoff”.
I may not give it today as she ate fine today so far.

She drank 5 ounces of water Saturday and yesterday in her a.m. cycle (but not the pm cycles).
That’s a lot of water for her in one 8-12 hour period.

*Drank almost 5 ounces already this morning so far (in 4 hours). BG is in 300s so far today on Libre.

Her urination was excessive yesterday (15 times).
Her normal urination is 4-7 per day.

Overnight last night urination was not excessive at all. BG was lower, not in 300s, but 200s & 100s on Libre.

Not sure if it could be a CKD issue, or maybe some kind of kidney infection or UTI? Pancreatitis?
(She’s not acting like she did when she had pancreatitis last February. And she is eating from her bowl if I hold it for her, not outside of her norm). Sometimes eats snack on her own, sometimes she needs encouragement.

She’s been taking a higher dose of methimazole 5 mg BID since 1/7/26 for hyperthyroidism.
Could that cause a spike in PU/PD and glucose?

She’s taking Animal Biome Gut Rebuild, 1 cap BID, a relatively new product for her.

Just trying to think of things that are different that could be causing the sudden PU/PD increase.
Could be possible the thyroid is more under control since increased dose and it’s throwing things out of whack???

I gave her a slight increase in insulin on Friday morning.
Friday night, her second dose, she had a somewhat lower glucose cycle overnight for around 2 hours.

It wasn’t too low, (50s on Libre, which would be over 100 on a handheld meter).
Saturday she bounced high into the 300s on the Libre most of the day.
That’s very high for her to spend the day in that high range.
She normally bounces after some lows, but the extended highs concerned me.

I was gave another tiny increase this morning of her insulin.
She is on a 2 β€œfat” unit dose now.

I tested her urine with a ketostix yesterday and today to test for ketones and it was negative.
I will continue to do that just to keep an eye on that.
I normally test her urine for ketones every third day, but I will do it more frequently since something seems to be going on.

Left a message for her vet to see if we should run a urinalysis.
I caught a urine today, it’s in the fridge waiting to see if it should be taken to the vet.

Any thoughts?

Hope everyone has a very boring day
😻πŸ₯°πŸŒŠπŸ„β€β™‚οΈπŸˆβ€β¬›πŸˆπŸ„β€β™€οΈ1/18/26
 
Last edited:
Good thing she's eating a little bettter today. I hope you can get some answers and figure out what's going on. You're such a great mama.
We're thinking of you and Ivy.
✨️🌿🌿🌿🌿🌿🌿🌿🌿🌿🌿🌿🌿🌿✨️
πŸ™‹πŸ»β€β™€οΈβ€οΈπŸ‘©πŸ»β€β€οΈβ€πŸ’‹β€πŸ‘©πŸ»πŸ˜»πŸˆβ€β¬›οΈπŸ€—πŸˆπŸ₯°βœ¨οΈ
 
I don’t know about the rest but it could be pancreatitis. Then again my Chai’s appetite is not like usual and here labs for not show much. I do also know methimazole can make cats nauseous. Good her appetite is more normal today . Vines.
 
I don’t know about the rest but it could be pancreatitis. Then again my Chai’s appetite is not like usual and here labs for not show much. I do also know methimazole can make cats nauseous. Good her appetite is more normal today . Vines.
Ivy’s symptoms are different from when we do know she had pancreatitis.
She had very loose stools, was loafing, hiding in a corner, and not eating at all.
So maybe it’s a mild case?
Or a UTI ?
(There was cocci in her urine results on 12/30/25, but vet thought it was because of a free catch urine sample.)
 
Pancreatitis symptoms do vary from episode to episode. Max only had loose stool a few times but he was always nauseous. That is what makes it so unpredictable. I treat tge symptoms and if I see improvement don’t see the vet. If not getting better then a vet visit is warranted. Did Ivy have nausea when she started her medication for hyperthyroidism or with other increases by any chance?
 
Pancreatitis symptoms do vary from episode to episode. Max only had loose stool a few times but he was always nauseous. That is what makes it so unpredictable. I treat tge symptoms and if I see improvement don’t see the vet. If not getting better then a vet visit is warranted. Did Ivy have nausea when she started her medication for hyperthyroidism or with other increases by any chance?
I usually treat her right away with Cerenia if I see loose stools. That seems to be an indicator with her.
She don’t have looks stools this time.
Appetite has been a bit off, but with encouragement, she’s eating.
Since we began the Methimazole pills 11/1/25, she’s not had nausea issues.
(Before the pills she was on transdermal, but it wasn’t bringing down her T4, so we finally switched.
I was very concerned about nausea and resisted the switch all along, but felt no option to help try to improve the T4.
This seems to be the first time an issue. But could be a uti?
I dropped off a urine specimen to the vet just now and I think they’re going to at least run it to see what they can see.
(Vet will let me know later today when he gets in).
That would go out tonight and hopefully we get an answer back, I’m hoping tomorrow.

The thought of putting her on an antibiotic pains me because I know it’s gonna make her nauseous.

If I have to do it, obviously I have to do it, but we’ll have to figure out if I need to add additional probiotic as a protective measure.
She’s already taking several different things that I think might give her support, but I don’t know if I would need something additional.
 
The thought of putting her on an antibiotic pains me because I know it’s gonna make her nauseous.
Just a thought: If you have to put her on an antibiotic, see if the vet will work with you in bypassing her gut and, instead, allow you to give her ab shots. This is something my vet mentioned to me that he would be willing to do if Jude has to go back on an antibiotic since the last experiences made him so nauseous. He said since I know how to give shots, it would be easy for me to do it.
 
Just a thought: If you have to put her on an antibiotic, see if the vet will work with you in bypassing her gut and, instead, allow you to give her ab shots. This is something my vet mentioned to me that he would be willing to do if Jude has to go back on an antibiotic since the last experiences made him so nauseous. He said since I know how to give shots, it would be easy for me to do it.
Thank you for letting me know that Mary.
That’s a huge fear I have with her and being nauseous! πŸ₯°πŸ’•πŸ’“

They are sending the urine out tonight and should have results in the morning 😘
 
I wish had some insights for you. Sorry Ivy girl isn't feeling well and presenting with these suspicious symptoms, I do hope you can get some answers soon. You're great at looking at for her, so I'm sure you'll get to the bottom of it!
Sending healing vines πŸƒπŸƒπŸƒπŸƒπŸƒπŸƒ
 
Staci, I am sorry that Ivy still isn't feeling well. I hope the vet can give you some answers in the morning.
Sending healing vines and prayers πŸƒπŸƒπŸƒπŸ™πŸ™πŸ™ Wishing you both a relaxed night πŸ₯°πŸ˜»πŸ„‍♀️:bighug:

Butch had similar symptoms not too long ago the excess peeing, drinking, not eating as well, and high BGs. (Also, walking low & slow. Urine coming out of the box due to his positioning) His blood work and urine culture didn't indicate anything different. I thought it was going to come back with answers. We took it has a pancreatis flare. Which these symptoms were somewhat different from past flares. I increased his dose and continued with Cerenia. Also, gave him Mirataz for a few days. I think the walking low & slow with urine coming outside of the box was due to pain. It passed within few days and his BG came down.
 
Staci, I am sorry that Ivy still isn't feeling well. I hope the vet can give you some answers in the morning.
Sending healing vines and prayers πŸƒπŸƒπŸƒπŸ™πŸ™πŸ™ Wishing you both a relaxed night πŸ₯°πŸ˜»πŸ„‍♀️:bighug:

Butch had similar symptoms not too long ago the excess peeing, drinking, not eating as well, and high BGs. (Also, walking low & slow. Urine coming out of the box due to his positioning) His blood work and urine culture didn't indicate anything different. I thought it was going to come back with answers. We took it has a pancreatis flare. Which these symptoms were somewhat different from past flares. I increased his dose and continued with Cerenia. Also, gave him Mirataz for a few days. I think the walking low & slow with urine coming outside of the box was due to pain. It passed within few days and his BG came down.
Thank you for letting me know, Madeline.
I remember when this was going on with Butch.
I’m so glad it passed and he got better πŸ’“πŸ’“πŸ’“πŸ’“
 
Back
Top