1/19 Base AMPS 111 +4 103

Basic's Mom

Member Since 2023
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...al-steriod-and-chin-acne.285696/#post-3144353

Do we have any post or links on testing without using the lancing device? Base is over me testing him at the moment. He is in the 100s today, so that is fine. It wont be fine when he is sitting in the 70s and dropping. I have a new lancing device (lost the original one. Started using the one that came with his ketone meter) and no matter the level I put it on, it is hurting him. Doesn't help that it is winter and I have to warm his ears longer. Ear warming has always been what he despises the most.

I'd like to try to do this without one moving forward. I've only tried once and he cried. He's never cried with a device. I am heavy handed and it would be nice to be able to read abiut this or watch some videos. If not, someone sharing what they've done would be helpful.

TIA
 
I test with just the lancet, I just push it enough to pierce the skin while holding her ear with a cotton ball on the other side. She usually does not say anything. She hated the device as well.
 
He's never hated the device until now with this new device. I'm not sure what to do. I could practice on myself, I guess. My fingertips aren't as soft as his little ear though.
 
Thanks for sharing. Awwww. Her little protest meow. Bless her. I thought we weren't supposed to puncture completely through. I have no clue how to do this though. When I did try freehanded, I hurt my cat. In an odd predicament with this.
Thanks again.
 
I don't go all the way through. The device did, a few times it even pierced my finger. I hold the lancet at a slight angle to go through the skin.
 
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...al-steriod-and-chin-acne.285696/#post-3144353

Do we have any post or links on testing without using the lancing device? Base is over me testing him at the moment. He is in the 100s today, so that is fine. It wont be fine when he is sitting in the 70s and dropping. I have a new lancing device (lost the original one. Started using the one that came with his ketone meter) and no matter the level I put it on, it is hurting him. Doesn't help that it is winter and I have to warm his ears longer. Ear warming has always been what he despises the most.

I'd like to try to do this without one moving forward. I've only tried once and he cried. He's never cried with a device. I am heavy handed and it would be nice to be able to read abiut this or watch some videos. If not, someone sharing what they've done would be helpful.

TIA
Awww I’m sorry to hear Basic isn’t happy with the poking. I just freehand too, no device when I have to poke Ivy.
I hope you can get him to calm down, Sybil. Sending you support so he doesn’t get upset :bighug::bighug:
 
I have always tested freehand never had a problem
Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets

Look at the lancet under a light and you will see one side is curved upward, that's the side you want to poke with
I really never have to look to see what end is curved upward because on the plastic part of the lancet one side has larger holes if you want to call it that and the other side of it has smaller ones, so that I know right away what side to poke with
 
@Staci & Ivy,
Thanks. He isn't upset, he's just over me holding his ear for so long to warm it and over this device.

@Diane Tyler's Mom
Thanks. I have read you telling people that. I've never been able to see the end until today. I just took a macro photo with my camera. Now, I know what this means. Ha

@Wendy&Neko
I hadn't, no. Not sure how how I misse dthat for 4 months.

His new vet doesn't want him below 80 (yes, she knows it is a human meter). I don't know what I'm supposed to do. I don't want to be dishonest with someone especially if we are supposed to be a partnership caring for him. I feel like I'm going to have to lie moving forward and not share his spreadsheet, if I have to find a new vet.

Thanks, everyone.

I freehanded his test today, but I hated it. He didn't cry, but I do feel like I'm going deeper than the device would. I guess I can try and find another device or just keep practicing freehand.
 
What size lancet gauge are you using now? After a while you can go to a finer one. I liked the Onetouch Delica 33g ones.
His new vet doesn't want him below 80 (yes, she knows it is a human meter). I don't know what I'm supposed to do. I don't want to be dishonest with someone especially if we are supposed to be a partnership caring for him. I feel like I'm going to have to lie moving forward and not share his spreadsheet, if I have to find a new vet.
You are right, it is a partnership. But you are the one there with the cat all the time and are the "senior partner" in this. Personal experience with Neko story - I found that if her nadirs were 80 and above, the overall range went higher. Her nadirs had to be under 80 for her to stay below renal threshold for most of the time. That's not to say the same would be for Basic, but is something you can gather data about. Neko's vet was concerned the first time her urinalysis came back with zero glucose. I was really happy about it. My vet got over it. :p

Honestly, Basic is looking really good right now. But you have to decide what your long term goals are for him. Is it reasonably regulated or do you dream of possible remission?

Ketodiastix, if that's what you had, should measure both glucose and ketones. And it might be handy to use a few of them to see at what BG numbers Basic starts spilling glucose into his urine.
 
I'm using a 30 gauge. I will look for smaller. I just bought 2 boxes of those. Wasn't having an issue until I started using the other lancet.

I would like him to go into remission, but I understand it may not be possible. She knows that is my goal, but said it isn't safe to be this aggressive. She stated she read all of the TR links I sent. Stated that I'm putting him too close for hypo events even though you can clearly see how much I monitor my cat. You can also see he's never been under 60. Told me I should try this method.

https://catvets.com/diabetes-toolkit/

I explained to her that I have gotten my cat to the numbers he is at today with no help from his previous vet.

She also stated that getting him done to a better weight would make remission more possible. I can't starve my cat though. I planned on started his diet after his first appointment. His previous vet would not direct me on how to start to reduce his calories. Because of him having the hepatic lipidosis at dx, but not diagnosed for 13+ days scared me from trying to go UT on my own. Because the steriods were applied and shot his numbers up, I had to wait to start his diet. I explained that him having the correct insulin dose is as important as him losing weight to help with a chance of remission. I don't think it is just one thing. I think there are several factors that help with remission.

She doesn't want me using ketostix. I have the nova max plus ketone meter, but currently out of strips. I will look for the ones you referenced above. Does his numbers need to be high again in order to test this. I'd rather he never see 300, 400, or 500s again.

I also explained that I'm tired of not being heard by veterinarians. Perfect current example: I questioned them about the topical steriod and was told I had nothing to worry about. I expressed my concern and was reassured. We know what happened next. I'm not sure when paid professionals stopped listening to clients and doing whatever they want, but I'm exhausted. I will refrain from listing all the things his previous vet did that harmed him or stopped his progression.

Her quote regarding TR:
"I found it interesting that none of the endocrinologist specialists I know recommend that protocol."

I am not an easy person to deal with once you lose my trust or I feel you are being unreasonable. Because they handled the topical steriod mishap the way they did and changed the office policy, I was no longer upset by it.

Then I received her email about her opinions on TR.

Thank you for your time.
 
Told me I should try this method.

https://catvets.com/diabetes-toolkit/
I found something rather ironic in this. I was looking at the Treatment section, Intensive section, and the only reference it linked to a published paper was the one on TR by Roomp and Rand. Adjustments are made by 0.5 units at a time and only 3 tests per day in whatever they call this dosing method. We reserve the word protocol to dosing methods that have research and papers published on them (TR). Note that for that reason, we call SLGS a dosing method too. The goals listed in the Treatment section start with regulating the BG, and the last and 9th goal listed was achieve possible remission.

Side note, the regular vet I saw who showed me how to ear test pointed me to FDMB and told me to follow what they said. EVID - every vet is different. Neko's IM vet was also happy with what I was doing, once he saw her spreadsheet. I didn't do everything my vet wanted, but we came to agreements as to what would be safe.

Weight can indeed play a factor in how easy it is to regulate a cat. The Royal Vet Clinic in London is doing an experiment right now with a special food that is helping kitties shed weight slowly and safely, and they are seeing quite a bit of success (remissions). Their current numbers show 50% of cats in their study going into remission on the food. This is in cats that have been diabetic for less than two years.
She doesn't want me using ketostix.
Why not? I can't think of a valid reason against them. And I can think of several reasons one would want to keep on top of ketones. I would worry more if his numbers are higher and he's lethargic and off his food. But we have seen cats in lower numbers with ketones too, if they are prone to them.
 
I didn't check the references at the end of the paper. Thank you for bringing this to me attention. I'm not able to open all of the references. One states the information has been removed from the page when the link opens. I found the first link interesting. Priorities on treatment and monitoring of diabetic cats from the owners’ points of view.

Not sure why vets include this study or method without being able to acknowledge the very recent studies indicating veterinary medicine for felines is still in the trash can. It is sad that this many people experience exactly what I'm going through. I wouldn't expect it from a feline only vet though.

The irony isn't lost on me either regarding the TR protocol being the only published reference. It is just maddening.

I did see the dosing increments and only testing 3xs a day (maybe for some, could never be me). I also noticed what looked like a cap on how much insulin can be used, but I could be reading that wrong. It wouldn't shock me if I'm not though. His previous vet said he couldn't have more than 4 units and wouldn't elaborate as to why she was putting a cap on the units.

I keep reading on the forum about amazing vets that work with individuals. That sounds dreamy. To have a vet endorse this forum sounds almost like make believe. That's where I'm at with vets. It didn't help that I was so incredibly excited and positive walking into his first appointment for it to end the way it did, hear from his vet a week later, only for her to email me back basically saying I'm putting my cat in danger. It has been an emotional rollercoaster. While I am a huge fan of real rollercoasters, I'm not a fan of emotional ones. Tired of not being heard or taken seriously.

That treatment being used in the UK for weight loss sounds great. Not sure when it will be available here or if it be made available for an affordable price. Putting him on a diet is extremely challenging. It started a few days ago and I've already caught his in his sister's bowl twice. Luckily, she is liking FF right now and only has lc in her bowl. Last week, she would only eat med carb. Basic has never seemed satisfied with food regardless of the type until recently when his numbers started stabilizing. I am not sure why either. I was told if he had been diabetic all his life, he would've died without insulin. He was no longer constantly telling me he is hungry and I no longer had to keep her food up. He was in her bowl last night and this morning though. Her portions are very small as she is small. I still can't have him consuming those extra calories.

Ketostix:
She said the reading isn't accurate enough. Because I have the meter to cross reference, I'm not overly concerned. I just used a stix this morning. My strips are on the way. With the price of them at $2.40 per strip, I wouldn't be likely to use them as often as the stix. I only use my meter when I keep missing him in the box. It had been almost 3 weeks since I last checked them. I need to be checking them weekly though with a meter if I can't catch him in the box.

Thank you again for your time regarding this. I appreciate you. I start checking references too.
 
Back
Top