1/18 Pudge AMPS 124 (NS)..

kitten68

Very Active Member
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-17-pudge-amps-113-2-101-3-88-4-80-5-79.297570/

for the life of me i could not remember last night/this morning too well w his feeding.. very tired. couldnt recall when fed last. also struggling to keep a good time.. so skipped.

if any have advice on what to do if you arent sure on food, plz lmk.. far as i can tell he doesnt get too much of a bump in numbers depending but its in me now lol not to give food two hours before.. i feel weird. and if im not sure, we skip. :blackeye:

would like to go back up, if thats possible too.. (reduced as did ok when in 50s previously but maybe need to again build back up.. i resent we had to stop momentum late last year but alas.. sometimes things dont go as youd like.) trying best over here.. hoping can go back. :blackeye::bookworm::coffee: appreciate any tips..

@Angela & Cleo @Suzanne & Darcy @Sienne and Gabby (GA) :cat:
 
I’m not clear on what you are saying. Are you saying you skipped hos shot because you are not sure of he ate? Ate when? Within the two hours before shot time?
 
I would not have skipped this morning’s shot and here’s why: his AMPS isn’t particularly lower than what he typically has and you’ve shot lower before (yesterday, for example.)

And as you said, his numbers do not usually go up that much with eating.
 
Now, having said all that, don’t beat yourself up. Pudge is getting really really nice numbers. Can the dose be tweaked, sure, it probably can as long as your schedule and situation will accommodate it. But right now, it’s still really good to see all the nice blue and green on Pudge’s spreadsheet. You still test him a lot and you deserve tons of credit for these good numbers.
 
Finally, I did look at Pudge’s spreadsheet (trying to see what you meant by losing ground late last year.)

I think that you are over-using syrup in Pudge. I was looking at January 1. We usually don’t recommend using any kind of karo syrup or honey, etc or even HC food usually — until the cat drops to 50 or below. Since you are following TR, 50 is your “take action” number where you need to be vigilant with testing and feeding (bit taking action doesn’t necessarily mean giving syrup, although in some cases it can.) Many times, a little LC food is all that is needed to help the cat surf in green. Depending on how responsive Pudge is to carbs, you can try different carb amounts all the way up to 9 percent to help steer his numbers when you feel uncomfortable with seeing something in the 50s ….particularly if you see it early in the cycle and you don’t have a history on how he does in those numbers when it’s early in the cycle. If he doesn’t respond by stabilizing his BG, then you can even try tiny amounts of MC food up to about 15 percent…. before you go for the nuclear option of giving syrup. This is just food for thought for next time. It helps to have a lot of different carb options with the carb percentages written on the cans with a sharpie pen. It also can help to post here and get someone on board with you when you’re dealing with numbers lower than you feel comfortable with, and when you feel panicky. It helps to know that someone else is with you.
 
I’m not clear on what you are saying. Are you saying you skipped hos shot because you are not sure of he ate? Ate when? Within the two hours before shot time?
hiii ❤️ right! im so used to picking up food two hours before (to have an undisturbed number BUT also to make sure he’ll eat his dinner/breakfast right..) and/or making sure he has a snack i just feel hazy when i dont know when he last ate especially if near shot time.. :blackeye: but thank u for saying; his numbers weren’t too off then what they usually are right.. thing is im pretty sure about the food bump but not 100%.. i test +1s to find this out?.. :cat::coffee: but for future i will try to keep in mind. (i was so tired last night i forgot to write a note.. :blackeye: i have a dry erase board) so in this instance dont worry i guess on it too much unless number was lower than usual i guess and if number looks typical?..
 
Now, having said all that, don’t beat yourself up. Pudge is getting really really nice numbers. Can the dose be tweaked, sure, it probably can as long as your schedule and situation will accommodate it. But right now, it’s still really good to see all the nice blue and green on Pudge’s spreadsheet. You still test him a lot and you deserve tons of credit for these good numbers.
i cant explain how nice that is to hear…… i really appreciate your saying.. thank youu. ❤️:blackeye::cat: glad to hear it.. ive been thinking so too maybe but i am hard on myself.. :coffee: i dont know. im going to try taking in how nice his numbers have been.. which i have been doing more.. but thats just nice to hear. and great to hear can tweak, future, etc… thanks. ❤️ okay..
 
hiii ❤️ right! im so used to picking up food two hours before (to have an undisturbed number BUT also to make sure he’ll eat his dinner/breakfast right..) and/or making sure he has a snack i just feel hazy when i dont know when he last ate especially if near shot time.. :blackeye: but thank u for saying; his numbers weren’t too off then what they usually are right.. thing is im pretty sure about the food bump but not 100%.. i test +1s to find this out?.. :cat::coffee: but for future i will try to keep in mind. (i was so tired last night i forgot to write a note.. :blackeye: i have a dry erase board) so in this instance dont worry i guess on it too much unless number was lower than usual i guess and if number looks typical?..
Yes. If the number looks like it is something you have shot before and you can monitor the cycle a but then go for it.
 
i cant explain how nice that is to hear…… i really appreciate your saying.. thank youu. ❤️:blackeye::cat: glad to hear it.. ive been thinking so too maybe but i am hard on myself.. :coffee: i dont know. im going to try taking in how nice his numbers have been.. which i have been doing more.. but thats just nice to hear. and great to hear can tweak, future, etc… thanks. ❤️ okay..
Yep! It’s true. You and Pudge are doing great!
 
Finally, I did look at Pudge’s spreadsheet (trying to see what you meant by losing ground late last year.)

I think that you are over-using syrup in Pudge. I was looking at January 1. We usually don’t recommend using any kind of karo syrup or honey, etc or even HC food usually — until the cat drops to 50 or below. Since you are following TR, 50 is your “take action” number where you need to be vigilant with testing and feeding (bit taking action doesn’t necessarily mean giving syrup, although in some cases it can.) Many times, a little LC food is all that is needed to help the cat surf in green. Depending on how responsive Pudge is to carbs, you can try different carb amounts all the way up to 9 percent to help steer his numbers when you feel uncomfortable with seeing something in the 50s ….particularly if you see it early in the cycle and you don’t have a history on how he does in those numbers when it’s early in the cycle. If he doesn’t respond by stabilizing his BG, then you can even try tiny amounts of MC food up to about 15 percent…. before you go for the nuclear option of giving syrup. This is just food for thought for next time. It helps to have a lot of different carb options with the carb percentages written on the cans with a sharpie pen. It also can help to post here and get someone on board with you when you’re dealing with numbers lower than you feel comfortable with, and when you feel panicky. It helps to know that someone else is with you.
:cat: sorry yess was referring to October.. had to put the brakes a little cuz i had some life stuff (didnt even pan out… :facepalm:..) but eh what can u do.. :blackeye:

and oh!! for us we only use syrup cuz monkey has food sensitivities.. he is single protein. and most foods with single proteins seem to be LC.. and the carb foods have other proteins. tried looking for a food in a can cuz it’d be easier but nothing so far.. its been suggested and is also on a stickie for that that putting syrup in the food could substitute.. which relieved me a lot. cuz we can’t do alternatives. and its ok! i just try to see/keep on eye on if numbers go up, we good.. haha (?) :woot::blackeye::coffee: so i have to syrup his food to make homemade carb food, and theres a special syringe for dosing the syrup too i use, and i try best.. :cat::bookworm::coffee: (?) and when its early in the cycle as that, i will give him some carbed food.. in past, have tried and do try LC first.. but if i see falling still, i carb the food up. :/ (he’d been in 50s some last year so i remember and have a bit of data w that which helps me base things.. :cat::bookworm: thats how things went usually. the SS are so important..) am going to keep that in mind too tho to come here if really need.. :cat::cat::cat::cat: thats a nice reminder..
 
Yes. If the number looks like it is something you have shot before and you can monitor the cycle a but then go for it.
:bighug::bighug: i will try my best; its alien to me but will try.. haha. just from the begining it was always u need to pick up food, but know thats for in the beginning especially.. but im gonna try taking +1s to see how things look now we’re at these numbers.. but will keep in mind too. :cat:And just today too.. its been hard keeping a good time. really gonna try to make a good time and keep the good time frm now on.. :coffee:
 
:cat: sorry yess was referring to October.. had to put the brakes a little cuz i had some life stuff (didnt even pan out… :facepalm:..) but eh what can u do.. :blackeye:

and oh!! for us we only use syrup cuz monkey has food sensitivities.. he is single protein. and most foods with single proteins seem to be LC.. and the carb foods have other proteins. tried looking for a food in a can cuz it’d be easier but nothing so far.. its been suggested and is also on a stickie for that that putting syrup in the food could substitute.. which relieved me a lot. cuz we can’t do alternatives. and its ok! i just try to see/keep on eye on if numbers go up, we good.. haha (?) :woot::blackeye::coffee: so i have to syrup his food to make homemade carb food, and theres a special syringe for dosing the syrup too i use, and i try best.. :cat::bookworm::coffee: (?) and when its early in the cycle as that, i will give him some carbed food.. in past, have tried and do try LC first.. but if i see falling still, i carb the food up. :/ (he’d been in 50s some last year so i remember and have a bit of data w that which helps me base things.. :cat::bookworm: thats how things went usually. the SS are so important..) am going to keep that in mind too tho to come here if really need.. :cat::cat::cat::cat: thats a nice reminder..
Yes. That’s always an option to add a drop or two of syrup to his regular food. I would do it that way. The thing is, a lot of the time, the regular food does the job to keep the cat surfing in green.
Tell me, what do you feed him? I ask everyone that these days because I have a boy with IBD and I haven’t found an acceptable food yet for him. He either doesn’t like it or it’s not what he needs.
 
:bighug::bighug: i will try my best; its alien to me but will try.. haha. just from the begining it was always u need to pick up food, but know thats for in the beginning especially.. but im gonna try taking +1s to see how things look now we’re at these numbers.. but will keep in mind too. :cat:And just today too.. its been hard keeping a good time. really gonna try to make a good time and keep the good time frm now on.. :coffee:
Yes, you are right that the thing about no food for two hours prior to shot time is most important for newbies. As you gather a lot of data on your cat and you get to know how they respond to carbs, you can relax that rule of your need to. It’s not a bad rule to follow, but if you forget to take the food up, it won’t keep you from shooting. You really have the right idea about all this stuff.
 
Yes. That’s always an option to add a drop or two of syrup to his regular food. I would do it that way. The thing is, a lot of the time, the regular food does the job to keep the cat surfing in green.
Tell me, what do you feed him? I ask everyone that these days because I have a boy with IBD and I haven’t found an acceptable food yet for him. He either doesn’t like it or it’s not what he needs.
:cat::cat: just when numbers lowish i add syrup.. otherwise i just give snacks and little meals and do find that right, its ok.. especially when in greens ill give like little snacks by the hour.. :bookworm::coffee: good to know.

and aw! :bighug: chicken nugget here eats Merrick Limited Ingredient Turkey.. its nice. got liver in it, too. he also gets turkey breast treats.. ive been wanting to make him that broth but i still havent gotten round to.. im hoping i can muster it soon haha. :blackeye::woot:.. (Merrick also has Limited ingredient in chicken and duck.. think possibly also salmon. :woot: tried these by chance? he might like one hopefully)
 
Last edited:
Yes, you are right that the thing about no food for two hours prior to shot time is most important for newbies. As you gather a lot of data on your cat and you get to know how they respond to carbs, you can relax that rule of your need to. It’s not a bad rule to follow, but if you forget to take the food up, it won’t keep you from shooting. You really have the right idea about all this stuff.
ok :blackeye::bighug: will try to follow.. just feel nervous.. cuz i want the number to be as ok as possible.. but should be ok u think?.. ill try. haha. for future will also do best to just write time/pick up food, which i always try doing.. but in case cant good to know.. :coffee: i should still try to do some +1s to see?.. and just thank u so much.. its really nice to hear that. appreciate it a lot..❤️:bighug::cat::coffee:
 
I agree with Darcy. Starting in August, Pudge's numbers have been looking great. I think the hardest aspect of TR is getting used to shooting lower numbers. To be honest, I would shoot anything over 50. I would love to see you get Pudge's pre-shot numbers below 120! Just remember, the Lantus mantra is, "Shoot low to stay low."

FWIW, Gabby was gluten sensitive. Most high carb foods contain gluten. I used either corn syrup or honey to bump up her numbers if they were particularly low. If here numbers were starting to trend down (vs diving), I would first try to bump them up with her usual low carb food. Often, that would help to put the brakes on a drop.
 
I agree with Darcy. Starting in August, Pudge's numbers have been looking great. I think the hardest aspect of TR is getting used to shooting lower numbers. To be honest, I would shoot anything over 50. I would love to see you get Pudge's pre-shot numbers below 120! Just remember, the Lantus mantra is, "Shoot low to stay low."

FWIW, Gabby was gluten sensitive. Most high carb foods contain gluten. I used either corn syrup or honey to bump up her numbers if they were particularly low. If here numbers were starting to trend down (vs diving), I would first try to bump them up with her usual low carb food. Often, that would help to put the brakes on a drop.
thank u so much ❤️:cat::bighug:.. appreciate that.. (thinking maybe go back up a little AM tmw, see numbers today/tonite (?).. :bookworm::coffee:) and thanks for that too! nice to know.. nugget has food sensitivities so yeah.. i do also try to remember to do that first then go frm there. :cat::coffee:
 
Back
Top