1/18 Musette pmps~388,+2~336, +4~250

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Well we didn't make it out yesterday to see Grandma and Auntie Carol, it was just too cold and windy out. Today is suppose to be warmer so we may try for today. Although really need to get back to painting the kitchen now that I'm finally over this stupid cold that had me laid up all weekend.

I do think I figured out where some of her spikes are coming from...Little piglet is stealing food from the other cats. While she was still being anti-social and hanging out in the bedroom she was easy to keep to a set amount of food, but now that she is out and about with the rest of the crew she gobbles down her food and then starts crusing the other dishes to see who has left 'snacks' in their bowls for her to steal. I thought she was getting pretty 'round' since she started joining the rest of the family out in the main part of the house, now I know why.. :lol: She is going by the motto "what is mine is mine and what they leave in the dish is mine too" :roll: Now usually with the civies this isn't a problem since they all are hoovers, But Maxwell and Lady Jane are grazers so they tend to leave quite a bit in their dishes and Ms Cupcake is helping herself to their leftovers as well.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/18 Musette amps 249, +2~245

Hi, Mel ~

Good to see Musette back in the yellows again! "She is going by the motto 'what is mine is mine and what they leave in the dish is mine too' :roll: " -- Glad to see Musette's making herself right at home now, Mel.

Enjoy the day,
Eva
 
Re: 1/18 Musette amps 249, +2~245

LOL sometimes I'm glad I only have the one cat to keep track of. Hobbs would do the same thing, I just know it!!
 
Re: 1/18 Musette amps 249, +2~245, +4~154

LOL I don't remember the last time I had only one cat...or one animal period around here. I always start out with good intentions of only having a pet...then there is this stray or that stray that shows up and moves in.

When my kis wee younger I could blame it on them, because they were always dragging home puppies, kittens, baby bunnies, birds, lizards, frogs, and even rats...But now that they are grown with children of their own I guess I can't use them as an excuse now...lol

Mel, Macwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/18 Musette amps 249, +2~245, +4~154

When I got Hobbs the woman that was trying to find a home for him encouraged me to take his sister as well. I didn't want to because I thought it would be twice the expense. I always wished I had gotten her though so they could have kept each other company. Hobbs is happy being an only child (which is a big reason why he remains an only child) but I think at first he would have been better with some kitty company. Right before I met DH I had planned on getting another cat and it just didn't work out. I always said though that if something ever God Forbid happens to Hobbs, I'd get two or three cats so they can have friends. We have two different apt neighbors who each have 3 cats and I am SO JEALOUS of both of them!! :)
 
Re: 1/18 Musette amps 249, +2~245, +4~154

I do think cats do better in at least pairs...I admit 13 is a bit excessive and definitely not a planned thing...lol. But it was just one of those things that each that are here now came with some kind of baggage and we just happened to be were they landed. I'll give you a short run down of the Fur Gang's history

When I first got divorced and moved back to Nebraska my ex-husband kept our 3 cats since I was moving back in with my parents while I was looking for a new place to live. Shortly after I got my own place I realized I hated coming home to an empty apartment so I started looking for a cat, since I didn't have time for a dog since I was working crazy overnight hours sometimes up to 12-14 hours a day 6-7 days a week....So figured just didn't have the time to walk and house train a dog...a cat I figured I could leave food out for, and they have a litter box...good choice for a busy single lady...So I start looking, I knew what I wanted...I wanted a dark pointed siamese or himalayan...wanted someone fairly chatty so that is why I was looking for a meezer.

It just so happened that within days of looking the gentleman that delivered our doughnuts (was working at a convience store), came in asking if anyone was looking for a nice cat...So I had to ask..What kind of cat...lo and behold she was a seal point himalayan, who was already declawed and spayed...Purrfect...she had been a Katrina rescue but his daughter was allergic and if he couldn't rehome her he was going to toss her outside in the middle of winter...I told him I was interested, the next night he brought her up to my work so I could see her. The moment I touched her she crawled into my arms and snuggled up to my neck purring...I was hooked I picked her up the next day...That was Muse...the girl that lead me to this board.

Shortly after having Muse I realized after living through a hurricane she was terrified of Thunderstorms, ...so okay find her a kitty buddy for when mom can't be home with her during storms...so back to looking at shelters and vet clinics for cat #2...While looking a beautiful long-haired Siamese at the local shelter I see a flyer for 5 cats that were free to a good home...one of those was Onyx...then called Ned (dumb name for a lovely black long-haired boy). I called about him and drove out to see him, I take the carrier in with me and Onyx walked right into the carrier and gave me a look of "what took you so long Mom!" so now I had 2 cats...life was good.

We went along with just the 3 of us until I re-met my now husband ( we were high school sweethearts, broke up and got married 30 years later). Once My 2 cats and I moved in our first christmas together my husband's daughter comes over with this tiny little kitten to ask me how to care for her, since the kitten's mom and most of its siblings had been killed by a pitbull...At the time I joked that it was too bad that there wasn't another kitten that looked like her kitten left because she was such a cute little meezer..Well there was, a brother and that year he was my Christmas present from my soon to be step daughter...enter cat #3 Amon Ra.

The very next summer my now step-daughter drags over this cat that she swore was spayed, but that she had taken from some college kids because they were abusing her by doing things like locking her in the frig, tossing her against walls etc. Well Kali wasn't spayed she was pregnant..and shortly after coming to our house gave birth to 3 kittens...Smokey, Bert and Casper...Well found homes for Kali, Smokey and Casper...But Bert...oh Bert, he had my heart from the day he was born...So he stayed...Cat number 4

Cat 5 & 6 arrived togetheer and I can blame my husband for them..lol DH was working as a maintainance man at a local trailer park and an elderly lady had rescued these two little girls from a woman that was basically feeding every stray in the neighborhood but not caring for them, and asked if we could take them in because they were sick and starving..Okay we'll take them and try to find them homes...Come to find out they weren't strays but designer kittens that the woman that was breeding them was just tossing outside to fend for themselves if the didn't turn out with the right "look" These little girls were sisters and Egyptian Mau/Abby crosses. Who are now Tre'Vona and Sophia.

Shortly after getting Sophia and Tre'Vona we get a call from our friends that we had given Bert's brother to, they were moving and while they needed to be out of their old place their new place wasn't ready yet...could we hang on to Casper and their other cat Patches for about a month..well that was 4 years ago and they are still here. What we didn't know at the time was the reason they were moving was because of domestic violence, Casper was a wreck when we got him back, literally scared of his own shadow...even if they would have wanted him back they wouldn't have gotten him! But luckily they never called again to get their cats. So that cats number 7 & 8.

Then comes Angel or cat number 9...I go to throw the trash out at work and hear a faint "mew" look in the dumpster and there is this tiny little bundle of fluff trying her best to chew on an old pizza crust but I could tell her feet hurt...So into the dumpster I go, toss my jacket over her and haul her out...Poor baby shouldn't have even been away from her momma yet not only was she tiny but someone had used something like a cigarette to burn her paw pads...It was actually a joke to name her Angel as she was a spitfire when I dug her out of that dumpster...if she had been any bigger I would have been shredded. She has however grown into her name, she is my little Angel on my shoulder.

Then Muse gets sick with diabetes, I find this board, but before we can really begin treating her she hypoed overnight and passed away. So we are back to 8 cats again, but heavy on the male side of things so again I joke about we need two new girls to even things up..well about that time the couple that ran lights and sound for DH's band call about these two little girls they had as part of a feral colony that needed some inside care because they had nasty URIs but their indoor cat was blind and the kittens made him nervous. SO again to the rescue we go...well it turns out that it wasn't sisters but a brother and sister..Now known as Myrrdin and Duvessa...both had been still born and our friends got them breathing again, which was why they needed extra inside care to get over their infections...they were just the medicine my hurting heart needed to heal over Muse. Nothing like two funny tuxedos to make you laugh when you want to cry. They were cats #9-10

Well then Venita calls about Maxwell he was also a Katrina rescue and had 24 hours left to live before being PTS for being Diabetic...did I want him...Oh how could I say No? He had survived the same hurricane as Muse, and now was going to die just because he was extra sweet...that just didn't seem fair...so Maxwell became #11...

Then Onyx gets outside and just vanishes. We search everywhere for him..but while he was missing and it was minus 22 degrees outside our neighbor comes over to see if we are missing a grey cat because their dog has one treed...Nope not one of ours but I go look at the cat in the tree and remember seeing her in a window while we were looking for Onyx...so we get the cat out of the tree and into the house so I can take her home the next morning. I go to return her to find that the kids that had her, had just tossed her outside because they were breaking up and moving away and didn't want her anymore...Cat # 12 Lady Jane Grey joined the family.

And well lastly Musette who is technically kitty number 13 except when we adopted her Onyx was still missing so would have made her kitty #12...Except right after we get Musette home, I get a call that Onyx had been found...10 months after he went missing...so now we can't decide if Onyx who was #2 is #13 or if that title goes to Musette...lol

Now you have the novel of how the Fur Gang happened...lol

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/18 Musette amps 249, +2~245, +4~154, +6~94

Aww you have such a big heart to care for all those babies. :) And I'm so happy that Onyx found his way home!!
 
Re: 1/18 Musette amps 249, +2~245, +4~154, +6~94

What was really funny about finding Onyx is that he was found 8 blocks from our house, supposedly by a couple that I had asked several times if the had seen him because I had seen a cat that looked just like him in their window...Everytime they told me that the cat I had seen was a female...But he came home after spending both a winter and a summer and you know Nebraska winters and summers...lol ...WIth no ear mites, no fleas, no mats and the tartar that had been on his teeth before he went missing was now gone! The only thing that was wrong with him was that he had a UTI and his allergies to dry food were flared up, and funny I've never seen that black cat in their window since I got him back...but they insist that they never took him in the house...yeah right..that is their story and I'll let them stick to it...Just glad to have my big black fluffy boy back again.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/18 Musette amps 249, +2~245, +4~154, +6~94

Oh, how beautiful, Mel, to read about how each special kitty companion came to live with you! Each one is so lucky to be with you now...and I know you must feel so lucky, too, to have all that wonderful kitty love in return.

And looking at Musette's curve today, Mel...well, maybe you shouldn't give up on Lantus yet?

Take care,
Eva

P.S. So very happy for you that you got Onyx safely home...however that came to be. :-D
 
Re: 1/18 Musette amps 249, +2~245, +4~154, +6~94, +8~148

Eva,

If she would have been doing this all along I might not have been thinking about giving up on the Lantus....but I'm also not holding my breath just yet that she will keep this up. I have unfortunately seen her do this before, look like the dose is perfect...give me beautiful numbers and then watch her creep up and up again. Although I have to admit her +8 gives me hope that she isn't going to take off for the moon tonight.

After seeing this today, I think I will stick with the Lantus at least until she gets her dental done and heals from that to see how that effects her numbers as well. I don't want to switch too many things at a one time. It may be that Maxwell just spoiled me more than I realized...I look at him, and then look at her and think how could such a little girl need more insulin than that great big boy. Yeah I know, I know ECID.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/18 Musette amps:249,+2~245,+4~154,+6~94,+8~148,pmps~34

Well not the greatest pmps but kind of expected since she had such a nice run of blues and even green today...maybe I just haven't been trying her on a high enough dose before. I just keep looking at that tiny little 8lb body of her's and thinking how could you possibly need more insulin? Also I do think she needs longer than most kitties to settle into a dose, but I'm the one that freaks out when she starts going high again and wants her down immediately. Guess I need to go invest in some fur-lined handcuffs so I can't keep freaking out and actually hold her dose until she decides to finally settle into it.. :lol:

I also have to keep reminding myself that she had a lot going on with her when I first adopted her and that she has come a long ways in 6 short months, and we still have to get her teeth fixed up before I really will know how she is going to do. Just so dreading taking her in for that dental as badly as she needs it done. I don't want her to think she is being abandon again, just when she is really warming up and acting like she feels safe and is finally home.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top