1/18, Merme, AMPS 405, +3 449, +7 447, PMPS 416

Yes, I would go back up to 1.5U from tomorrow. It looks like that might have been a good "starting dose" and the reduction to 1U was too much for him.

If you follow TR, you can get him to a good dose sooner. That would mean feeding only low carb wet food and getting at least 1 per test in addition to the pre-shot test.
 
You mentioned that the lipase was high and that your vet said it’s a sign of pancreatitis but the ultrasound showed a normal pancreas. It’s true for dogs but not for cats. Also pancreatitis does not usually require a specific diet. Would it be possible to feed her what you fed when she was first diagnosed since it got her into remission or a low carb wet food? My cat Max had chronic pancreatitis and was symptomatic when it was active. He became inappetent and nauseous.
 
Yes, I would go back up to 1.5U from tomorrow. It looks like that might have been a good "starting dose" and the reduction to 1U was too much for him.

If you follow TR, you can get him to a good dose sooner. That would mean feeding only low carb wet food and getting at least 1 per test in addition to the pre-shot test.
Thank you so much! I don’t know if I get it right what’s the meaning of TR? Would be 1 per test of what? I’m so sorry english It’s not my first lenguage
 
You mentioned that the lipase was high and that your vet said it’s a sign of pancreatitis but the ultrasound showed a normal pancreas. It’s true for dogs but not for cats. Also pancreatitis does not usually require a specific diet. Would it be possible to feed her what you fed when she was first diagnosed since it got her into remission or a low carb wet food? My cat Max had chronic pancreatitis and was symptomatic when it was active. He became inappetent and nauseous.
When he was first diagnosed he was also facing a burst of his food allergies (find out he was intolerant to food just months before diabetes) after trying 2 different hydrolized with not succes I found virbac neutered & entired and with that and the insulin We managed to control his allergies, diarrea and went to remission, he has been eating just that since then, strict diet of 50grms per day no treats, a week ago I change that for Virbac W diabetics & Purina DM paté, trying to make the transition from dry to wet

The only symptoms he has are hungry and thirsty, for pancreatitis there is a treatment? Vet only gave me anti-inflamatory for 7 days, prescription food and insulin also her indications on insuline were very vage and no follow-up
 
We use two dosing methods here. TR is more aggressive. You need to feed a low carb diet, under10%, and test at least two times each cycle, day and night too. I will link the information for you.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
WTH pancreatitis you treat the symptoms. Being hungry and thirsty are signs of diabetes and definitely not pancreatitis. Cats often have high cholesterol when diabetes is not controlled. You would need a fasted test for cholesterol to get a true result. I would not worry about the cholesterol and I seriously doubt she has pancreatitis. Symptoms of that include nausea, poor appetite, and it’s quite painful. I’d just concentrate on getting the glucose under control.
 
We use two dosing methods here. TR is more aggressive. You need to feed a low carb diet, under10%, and test at least two times each cycle, day and night too. I will link the information for you.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
WTH pancreatitis you treat the symptoms. Being hungry and thirsty are signs of diabetes and definitely not pancreatitis. Cats often have high cholesterol when diabetes is not controlled. You would need a fasted test for cholesterol to get a true result. I would not worry about the cholesterol and I seriously doubt she has pancreatitis. Symptoms of that include nausea, poor appetite, and it’s quite painful. I’d just concentrate on getting the glucose under control.
Thank you so much, I’m going to follow the TR indications to raise his dose starting tomorrow +.5U what would you recommend to get more accurated doses and .25U? I don’t have a caliper and I noticed that some lines of the syringes are crooked
 
It’s ok, I appreciate your support, I raised his dose .5 following the TR but I’ll be staying at SLGS method then, so I have to hold this 1.5 dose for a week, and adjust .25 at time, right?
 
It’s ok, I appreciate your support, I raised his dose .5 following the TR but I’ll be staying at SLGS method then, so I have to hold this 1.5 dose for a week, and adjust .25 at time, right?

Yes, increases will he at .25. You will hold for 7 days and then do a curve. Based upon the curve the next side will be decided. If the BG is ever under 90, that calls for a .25 reduction at the next shot and the 7 day count starts over. If you can find a canned low carb food you can switch to TR at any time provided you can get a minimum of two tests each cycle. I’m thinking that is why you are sticking with SLGS?
 
Yes, increases will he at .25. You will hold for 7 days and then do a curve. Based upon the curve the next side will be decided. If the BG is ever under 90, that calls for a .25 reduction at the next shot and the 7 day count starts over. If you can find a canned low carb food you can switch to TR at any time provided you can get a minimum of two tests each cycle. I’m thinking that is why you are sticking with SLGS?

not sticking but since Merme is still in his transition process from dry to wet I thought he has to be in SLGS, I still don’t know if I would be able to switch him to just wet food, as is very expensive and I’m not earning enough, I’m the only one who takes care of him, also his food allergies makes everyting more difficult, I’m so frustrated
 
I understand as one of my cats has allergies too and the other might as well. It’s the protein likely the cause so if you can find a single novel protein food you might find some less expensive. In the meantime I think you ate smart to not attempt a change to TR and actually you can’t if feeding any dry food. :bighug:
 
Back
Top