1.18 Lucy A. AMPS=329

Status
Not open for further replies.

LucyCat

Member Since 2013
Sorry for my extended absence from this board...I will be more active from here on out.

Lucy continues to have numbers all over the place. I am trying to stick with a dose of 3.0 units to see if she will start to show more consistent numbers. She tends to fluctuate a lot when I change the dose and the that calms down eventually. I don't understand why her pre- and post- tests are sometimes super low and then next time, super high. She eats the same food every day. (Friskies pate) and I feed the same amount every day so...any thoughts on that?

I discovered that the only food she can have without puking is the Country Feast, Poultry Platter, Mixed Grill, and Turkey with Giblets. Anything else, she is allergic to.

Thanks,
Becky and Lucy
 
Looks like Ms Lucy is doing a little bouncing. Her and Lucian are about the same place.

Wish I had some words of wisdom, been doing this dance with Lucian for over a year now. Only suggestion I'd have, is to run a curve when you have the opportunity, like a day off from work.

I see that you have reduced your 'no shoot' number over time. That's good, seems like they always go sky high when they miss a shot. So many times, I regretted not shooting or shooting a reduced dose because it would take weeks to get Lucian stable again. Well......as stable as Lucian gets. :roll: At this point, I'll shoot about anything. :lol:

Sometimes, when they start bouncing and you can't get it under control, you might need to reduce the dose, just to get them to stabilize and then work your way up to better numbers. If they drop too far or too fast, they'll bounce right back up and it's a vicious circle. My boy is about as bouncy as they get, he thinks he's 'Tigger'. :lol:
 
I guess we're in the same boat. I agree about shooting low. I think from here out I'll just reduce the dose and shoot no matter what. At this point, even when her numbers are low (around the 60s) she acts totally normal and is very active. In fact, she almost seems more active when her numbers are really low like that. I hate skipping. I'm new to the responding with a lower dose.

Any advice on how exactly to determine a good dose when responding to a low number? For example, if she is at 65 and her normal dose is 3 units, would you go to 2 units? 1 unit?

Thanks!
 
It's your cat and you hold the syringe. You have to decide on your comfort level.

When I was reducing dose for a lower than normal number, I went with 50% less. But I might as well not shot at all. Then I did 25% less and that was a little better. I don't do either now, especially with Lucian on Lev. It is a late onset and nadir, so I know he'll be much higher by the time it kicks in. For me and Lucian, he'll either get his full dose or none at all and he hasn't had a preshot number that low yet, not since I quit reducing his dose at low number shot times. I think I've shot full dose mid-50's maybe? My memory is lousy. Would I shoot a full dose with a number lower than that? With Levimir, absolutely. But it's a little different than Lantus. I would not shoot a full dose of Lantus that low unless I had tested a couple times and knew he was on his way up.

I think the 'rule' is to test, if too low to shoot comfortably, hold off and test again in 30 mins. If she's higher then and obviously on her way up, then shoot the normal dose or whatever you feel comfortable with. Of course there are no hard and fast rules, every cat is different. About the only true rule I know of, is not allowing high carb foods. :-D

If her dose is 3U and you feel better shooting 33% less, 2 U, when she's low, then do that. You have to feel comfortable with what you're doing. There are many variables too, like whether or not you'll be home to monitor that day. If you wont, then you need to give serious thought as to what dose you want to give and at what number.

Besides, I don't know if you work full time, if Lucy has recurrent health issues, etc, etc. I'm home all the time, makes it easier for me and Lucian and he has no health issues, other than FD.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top