1/18 Kaia AMPS HI, +4 295

Status
Not open for further replies.
315 at 1:44 pm.. almost 6 hours after shot

Gave her a bit of snacks... hope that wasn't a mistake
 
Last edited:
With DKA in the recent background, it's best that she eats as much as she will eat (except for the 2 hours before shot time).
Are you logged in to your Google account?
 
That's a Google issue, ugh

Most people find it easiest to uninstall then reinstall the sheets app
 
With DKA in the recent background, it's best that she eats as much as she will eat (except for the 2 hours before shot time).
Are you logged in to your Google account?
Even if her numbers are a bit high? She LOVES food!
 
Even if her numbers are a bit high? She LOVES food!
Yes! Post DKA it’s really important that she eats one and a half times as many calories as she normally would……..it probably won’t affect the Bg but if it does, we can adjust the dose. The food help stop the ketones forming again so feed her!,,,it’s great she’s hungry…..so any post DKA kitties are not.
 
Ok, PMPS is 421.. stay with 2.5 units??
It’s the nadir ( lowest point) that decides the dose not the pre shot number. Janet or Melissa will tell you if you need to increase the dose. I would stay with the same dose unless they tell you otherwise.
Has your ketone meter arrived yet.?
 
Yes! Post DKA it’s really important that she eats one and a half times as many calories as she normally would……..it probably won’t affect the Bg but if it does, we can adjust the dose. The food help stop the ketones forming again so feed her!,,,it’s great she’s hungry…..so any post DKA kitties are not.
Thank you!! Should I leave her food out in her bowl? The only issue is I only have the WD crunchy food. Low calorie is on the way.
 
It’s the nadir ( lowest point) that decides the dose not the pre shot number. Janet or Melissa will tell you if you need to increase the dose. I would stay with the same dose unless they tell you otherwise.
Has your ketone meter arrived yet.?
Can Janet or Melissa please tell me if I continue her 2.5 units tonight??
 
Ok. How much and how often? She would eat 24/7 if I let her.
I would offer a snack of food every 2 hours except for the 2 hours before the pre shot BG s we don’t want that food influenced. Also make sure she has access to some food overnight.

Thank you!! Should I leave her food out in her bowl? The only issue is I only have the WD crunchy food. Low calorie is on the way.
If that is all you have, leave that out.
Once you have the low carb, you need to be aware that the BG will probably drop lower with the lower carb food so you will have to test closely during the change and adjust the dose accordingly.
 
Yes continue with 2.5U unless you get a number below 90.

When your new food arrives let us know, we have to be very careful with transitioning so her BG doesn't drop too low
 
Yes continue with 2.5U unless you get a number below 90.

When your new food arrives let us know, we have to be very careful with transitioning so her BG doesn't drop too low

Should I mix them together to start?
 
It’s a bit hard to mix wet and dry food together, but you will have to transition slowly so as not to upset the tummy and to watch the BGs.
Look at this link
TRANSITIONING FROM DRY TO WET FOOD
She eats wet food too. (Good girl)
What I mean is mix the old crunches (the WD she's used to) and the new crunchies?

Also, I've been putting a flashlight up to her ear to see the vein, I dod NOT know you weren't supposed to poke the vein. I feel terrible. Now there's big blood spots on the tips of her ears, I can see them with the flashlight! I have such a hard time getting blood
 
Last edited:
She eats wet food too. (Good girl)
What I mean is mix the old crunches (the WD she's used to) and the new crunchies?
Oh…I see.
Yes you could. I would start off with swapping over with a small amount of the new added to the old and gradually increase over several days until it is all new.
 
Oh…I see.
Yes you could. I would start off with swapping over with a small amount of the new added to the old and gradually increase over several days until it is all new.
Also, I've been putting a flashlight up to her ear to see the vein, I dod NOT know you weren't supposed to poke the vein. I feel terrible. Now there's big blood spots on the tips of her ears, I can see them with the flashlight! I have such a hard time getting blood
 
Also, I've been putting a flashlight up to her ear to see the vein, I dod NOT know you weren't supposed to poke the vein. I feel terrible. Now there's big blood spots on the tips of her ears, I can see them with the flashlight! I have such a hard time getting blood
we have all hit the vein at one time or another, so don’t worry. Those big spots will fade and disappear over time. Try and aim for between the vein and the edge of the ear.
are you warming the ear first with some rice in a sock?
Try milking the ear up towards the tip to encourage blood flow. It takes a few weeks for the ears to learn to bleed well. You will get there. Just give yourself time.
 
Also, I've been putting a flashlight up to her ear to see the vein, I dod NOT know you weren't supposed to poke the vein. I feel terrible. Now there's big blood spots on the tips of her ears, I can see them with the flashlight! I have such a hard time getting blood
It's always hard to get blood from the edge in the beginning. After a few weeks of testing new capillaries will start to grow in and out will be easier.
 
Last edited:
Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capilares, it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear tostop the bleeding , press gently for about 20 seconds until it stops
Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets
You can also use a little Vaseline on the ear if you want to so the droplet of blood will bead up
 
I'd go to 2.75
Even before I'm able to give her food with less carbs? It should be arriving today from Chewy. She still snacks on a bit of WD crunches.
When I feed her for shots she gets Fancy feast soft food and WD crunchies....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top