1/18 Gobbles PMPS 390

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/18 Gobbles AMPS 596

I know that AMPS probably has you a bit scared, but for safety reasons you never want to reshoot a fur shot, even if you are absolutely positive you did a fur shot. The reason being, you really don't know how much insulin got in...chances are, no matter what, at least a little did get in.

We've all done it. I personally made it a year and a half without a fur shot, then did two solid fur shots within 3 weeks of eachother! Yes, it was hard waiting till the next shot, but it's in their best interest.

We've seen how strongly and quickly Gobby clears his bounces, so especially in his case, you definitely never want to reshoot.

With that said, though, I know you're great at monitoring him, so just be sure to test and keep a close eye on things.

Have a great day, Kat!
 
Re: 1/18 Gobbles AMPS 596

Good Morning Kat and Gobbles,

Fur shots happen. It is best not to try to compensate for them. You never know how much insulin actually got in. The safest course is just to let it go. When PMPS comes around, give your usual dose (in this case, since Gobbles earned a reduction yesterday, your dose will be your new, reduced dose). Don't panic over the higher numbers you might see today. Gobbles will be fine. And in the future, when you give a fur shot, put your syringe away! (Don't give any more insulin!)

Ella (an expert at giving fur shots!!! :lol: ) & Rusty (an expert at receiving them)
 
Re: 1/18 Gobbles AMPS 596

I have my "hypo" kit ready, just in case.
I have "how to to low numbers" ready.
When should I retest? His AMBG test was at 6:45 am EST
 
Re: 1/18 Gobbles AMPS 596

I would routinely plan to get a +2 or +3. I'd also go and get more strips as soon as the store opens.

I want to underscore what others have been saying about fur shots. I can't tell you how many times someone will post saying they are "sure" they gave a fur shot only to have their kitty's numbers plummet that cycle. Unless you deliberately shoot the insulin into the air, you just don't know for certain if or how much insulin was injected. You never re-shoot for that reason.
 
Re: 1/18 Gobbles AMPS 596

I'd say get a +3.
Carl
 
Re: 1/18 Gobbles AMPS 596

i agree with the others. never re-shoot a possible fur shot.

question: i was wondering why you added 3 drops to the dose this morning. did you increase the dose because of the 596?

if so, i want to reiterate. lantus/levemir dosing is all about nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers. you don't want to increase the dose, even if it's only adding a few drops to the dose, just because the preshot number is higher.

gobbles is simply bouncing from the low yesterday. ride it out... the bounce will clear.
 
Re: 1/18 Gobbles AMPS 596

BTW, on the strips...aside from getting some locally for your immediate needs, I can't remember which meter you use, but you may be able to order strips through American Diabetes Wholesale, at a great price. Plus, if you follow the link at the top of the page here, FDMB gets a portion of every sale. A lot of Arkray strips are compatible with various Relion meters, and the Arkray strips are cheaper.
 
Re: 1/18 Gobbles AMPS 596

Sienne and Gabby said:
I'd also go and get more strips as soon as the store opens.
I went to the store and got a bottle of 50 (I bought the True Result strips as the nearest Walmart is 20 miles away, therefore, would have taken me probably over an hour to get my Reli On Prime strips). He tested +2 298
 
Re: 1/18 Gobbles AMPS 596

Jill & Alex said:
question: i was wondering why you added 3 drops to the dose this morning. did you increase the dose because of the 596?
I was giving him 1.75 U for many cycles. I decided to decrease his dose to 1.50 because the AM 48 scared the heck out of me, was his lowest ever, had a low number the day before. So 1.50 is what I shot him with PM last night (see SS for past 2 days). I really think the 3 drops might be okay because there was a very strong smell on insulin on his fur after his AM 1.50 and thought just a few drops would put him back to 1.75. Another lesson I learned today re: fluff shots and not to add moe...
 
Re: 1/18 Gobbles AMPS 596

Hey, just so you know in the future....Walmart ships to straight to your door and the shipping is free if you order enough (I think it's 49.00 and up free shipping). There's even a quick link above this condo to their site and WalMart donates a percentage of the purchase price to help pay for this website. Wal Mart's a good 20min from me too, and I really don't like the crowds and noise in there, so that's how I get mine :smile: (does take about a week though, so you'll need to get more in person this time.
 
Re: 1/18 Gobbles AMPS 596

Amy&TrixieCat said:
BTW, on the strips...aside from getting some locally for your immediate needs, I can't remember which meter you use, but you may be able to order strips through American Diabetes Wholesale, at a great price. Plus, if you follow the link at the top of the page here, FDMB gets a portion of every sale. A lot of Arkray strips are compatible with various Relion meters, and the Arkray strips are cheaper.
I use the Reli On Prime and has a True Result as a back up. I prefer the Reli On Prime, but ran out of strips. So the Arkray work with Reli On Prime? I pay $9/50 at
Walmart.
 
Re: 1/18 Gobbles AMPS 596

TheBowHuntress said:
+3.5 = 199

That's quite a drop from almost 600 to 200 in 3 hours.....can you edit the heading on the first post to include this +3.5 number so the pros know to keep an eye out for you just in case you need help?
 
Re: 1/18 Gobbles AMPS 596

macal said:
TheBowHuntress said:
+3.5 = 199

That's quite a drop from almost 600 to 200 in 3 hours.....can you edit the heading on the first post to include this +3.5 number so the pros know to keep an eye out for you just in case you need help?
Done--updated to +5.5
 
Re: 1/18 Gobbles AMPS 596 +2~298 +3.5~199 +5.5~190

Ugh...I typed a respone earlier, then my computer locked up before it posted!

Nice to see Gobby has leveled off!

I'm at work...real quick...off the top of my head, I don't know which Arkray corresponds to the Prime, but I'm sure one does. I'll try to look later. Most of the time, meters and strips aren't interchangeable, but it seems most Arkay's have a matching Relion. We switched to the Vital earlier this year because the cost of strips was killing us. American Diabetes Wholesale has a "buy 4 get one free" deal on our Vital strips, so I usually order 250-500 at time.
 
Re: 1/18 Gobbles AMPS 596 +2~298 +3.5~199 +5.5~190

Amy&TrixieCat said:
I don't know which Arkray corresponds to the Prime, but I'm sure one does. I'll try to look later. Most of the time, meters and strips aren't interchangeable, but it seems most Arkay's have a matching Relion. We switched to the Vital earlier this year because the cost of strips was killing us. American Diabetes Wholesale has a "buy 4 get one free" deal on our Vital strips, so I usually order 250-500 at time.
Let me know when you get a chance....on my way to Wallyworld to buy 100 strips!
 
Re: 1/18 Gobbles AMPS 596 +2~298 +3.5~199 +5.5~190 +6.5~15

Perhaps or also you could be dealing with several things: the depot from the 1.75u, clearing a bounce, and adding the "fluff".
 
Re: 1/18 Gobbles AMPS 596 +2~298 +3.5~199 +5.5~190 +6.5~15

Arkray makes three meters.
The glucocard 01 is the same as a relion confirm.
The glucocard 01 mini is the same as the relion micro.

They also make the Vital, and I believe it's the same as the relion prime, but not 100% sure.

Relion also makes the Ultima. I am not sure if there is an arkray version of it.

If I'm not mistaken, Arkray makes all the Relion meters, but they are exclusive to Wal-Mart and sold under the Relion name.

Carl
 
Re: 1/18 Gobbles AMPS 596 +2~298 +3.5~199 +5.5~190 +6.5~15

Carl & Bob said:
If I'm not mistaken, Arkray makes all the Relion meters, but they are exclusive to Wal-Mart and sold under the Relion name. Carl
I bought a few boxes of ReliOn Prime strips today at Walmart. The box says "Distributor Arkray USA"..."Made In Taiwan". Not sure about the actual meter, as I threw the box out when I bought it, but my guess would be its the same company!
 
Re: 1/18 Gobbles AMPS 596 +2~298 +3.5~199 +5.5~190 +6.5~15

I have no clue as to how much to shoot tonight...so many variables in the past 3 days
 
Re: 1/18 Gobbles AMPS 596 +2~298 +3.5~199 +5.5~190 +6.5~15

I think the answer is the same 1.50 you shot last night. He earned the reduction to that dose, and today's numbers don't indicate a change in dose.

Carl
 
Re: 1/18 Gobbles AMPS 596 +2~298 +3.5~199 +5.5~190 +6.5~15

Carl & Bob said:
I think the answer is the same 1.50 you shot last night. He earned the reduction to that dose, and today's numbers don't indicate a change in dose.
Thanks Carl! p.s. did you see my first post re: fluff, extra drops?
 
Re: 1/18 Gobbles AMPS 596 +2~298 +3.5~199 +5.5~190 +6.5~15

Yes, I did. I think you just have to write off the AM cycle as an "odd dose" because you really don't know for sure how much it was. And just get back on track tonight to see what the 1.5u dose does.
Like Jill said earlier, just "ride it out" :-)
Carl
 
Re: 1/18 Gobbles AMPS 596

TheBowHuntress said:
macal said:
That's quite a drop from almost 600 to 200 in 3 hours.....
Have you taken a peek at his SS? Quite the rollercoaster and I've learned so much from it!

I wonder if Gobbles might have an infection of some sort, like Pancreatitis or a UTI or perhaps dental problems? It seemed the 1u was doing a pretty good job up until 1/5/2013. On 1/7, Did the vet run any other tests than BG/fructosamine? Does anyone else have any thoughts on this?
 
Re: 1/18 Gobbles AMPS 596

For - Kpassa--

Yes, as a matter of fact, I have thoughts on your post....Up until 1/8 I was using a TrueResult meter. I had it tested vs. my vet's AlphaTrak on 1/7 and it was reading much lower and was suggested having my new ReliOn tested which I DID have tested the next day with the AlphaTrak and it there was only a 10 point difference. If you want to try to interpret my cat's SS, don't. Besides, you should of taken a good look at it--there is a section between 1/7 & 1/8 which reads "NEW METER USE SEE NOTES" in large letters.
 
I haven't had a chance to check, but I see Carl answered the question about the Arkray/Relion meters.

You are definitely good to stick with the 1.50 for at least 6-10 cycles. You want to give Gobby some time to settle in to see if this is a good dose for him...bobbling the dose around only makes things more iffy/bouncy/questionable/plain old wonky. Of course, though, if Gobby drops below 50, then - no matter how many cycles it is - he earns a .25U reduction.

Enjoy the ride this evening!!
 
I hear ya...but remember, Gobby is a bouncer...he never stays in those high numbers for very long! Too much juice will make him clear those bounces WAY to fast, to the point where you might not be able to stop the drop...remember, better to be high for a day than low for a minute!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top