1/18 Garland AMPS 123 +6 315 PMPS 333 - annoyed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Violet and Garland

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Well, my suspicions may be confirmed. :smile: This is the back story.

Garland had been increased up to 5u a shot back in like October/November. She finally started responding and kept getting really low greens everyday, so slowly she was decreased to 3.5u. Shes stayed steady with great numbers on that dose for a while. Then she got the neck infection at the beginning of December and her numbers rose. The day before I took her to the vet and she got the antibiotics, I opened a new pen. I had a brand new box getting sent to me from a Canadian pharmacy, but since there was a delay, 2 pens were donated to me to use because I was pretty much out. So nice of the donor :) I am so grateful for all the help I receive from others and DCIN. I was told these two pens expire in February so to use them first. At first the new pen was working. She even had a few low greens. But then its like it just stopped working one day and ever since, Garland has had consistently high yellow numbers with that pen (minus maybe one random blue)

I couldnt figure it out because for so long, her numbers have been great before that infection. I was worried the insulin might have gone bad. So as you guys know, I changed a new pen about 2 weeks ago. This pen was the 2nd one from the "expire in Feb" batch. Her numbers continue to rise. Now, instead of yellow, shes been high pinks every day. I had a couple almost red. Yikes!!It was as if I wasnt even giving her insulin. High, flat pinks. I had a strong suspicion that maybe those 2 pens had already gone bad even though they dont expire for another 2 weeks.

Its been over a month of high pinks/yellows with those pens, so I decided to try the insulin from a pen in my new Canadian box 2 weeks earlier than planned. And ever since shes slowly has been coming down. Last nights PMPS was the 3rd shot I had given her from the new pen from the new box. This morning shes BLUE!! Im so happy. I think this might solve the mystery of her high numbers (I hope) :) Do you think this could be what happened?

AMPS 123
 
Re: 1/18 Garland AMPS 123

Morning guys! What a great amps! I wojuld think that the old pens were no longer as effective as they should be. The new one seems to have Garland back in good numbers! Keep them coming Garland! looking really good!
 
Re: 1/18 Garland AMPS 123

Hi guys .. sounds like the pens were most likely the culprit of those high numbers! Now you got have a box full of good pens and nice numbers to look forward to! Have a great day guys!
 
Thanks everyone for stopping by Garland condo. :YMHUG: Ive missed you guys!

If there was a emoticon of a smilie pulling its hair out in frustration on here, I would totally use it right now. PMPS 333!!! grr_red What is going on??? Maybe it wasnt the pens....
 
Yea, I know yall are right... its probably a bounce. She dropped from high pinks to blue in less than 2 days. I just hope it clears fast and we get some steady blues :smile: She was doing so well in the numbers before that neck infection. Greens were common back then. I just really want to get back there.To those blues and green. I love her so much, and want her as healthy as she can be cat_pet_icon
 
Hi VIolet:

I'm sure it could be the pens. Check out Gracie's SS and how regulated she had gotten and then....poof. I, like you, was getting really frustrated...her numbers had gone awry. I worried something was wrong but
she was bopping around here happy as could be. I raised her dose. Then finally I changed her pen and on the third cycle (I think she had to refill her shed), she came screaming down like crazy. Makes me so
upset because of all her gorgeous numbers, like Garland.

They'll both get it back. Gracie is bouncing a bit, too. They gotta get used to low numbers again. Hugs!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top