Violet and Garland
Member Since 2011
Yesterday
Well, my suspicions may be confirmed. :smile: This is the back story.
Garland had been increased up to 5u a shot back in like October/November. She finally started responding and kept getting really low greens everyday, so slowly she was decreased to 3.5u. Shes stayed steady with great numbers on that dose for a while. Then she got the neck infection at the beginning of December and her numbers rose. The day before I took her to the vet and she got the antibiotics, I opened a new pen. I had a brand new box getting sent to me from a Canadian pharmacy, but since there was a delay, 2 pens were donated to me to use because I was pretty much out. So nice of the donor
I am so grateful for all the help I receive from others and DCIN. I was told these two pens expire in February so to use them first. At first the new pen was working. She even had a few low greens. But then its like it just stopped working one day and ever since, Garland has had consistently high yellow numbers with that pen (minus maybe one random blue)
I couldnt figure it out because for so long, her numbers have been great before that infection. I was worried the insulin might have gone bad. So as you guys know, I changed a new pen about 2 weeks ago. This pen was the 2nd one from the "expire in Feb" batch. Her numbers continue to rise. Now, instead of yellow, shes been high pinks every day. I had a couple almost red. Yikes!!It was as if I wasnt even giving her insulin. High, flat pinks. I had a strong suspicion that maybe those 2 pens had already gone bad even though they dont expire for another 2 weeks.
Its been over a month of high pinks/yellows with those pens, so I decided to try the insulin from a pen in my new Canadian box 2 weeks earlier than planned. And ever since shes slowly has been coming down. Last nights PMPS was the 3rd shot I had given her from the new pen from the new box. This morning shes BLUE!! Im so happy. I think this might solve the mystery of her high numbers (I hope)
Do you think this could be what happened?
AMPS 123
Well, my suspicions may be confirmed. :smile: This is the back story.
Garland had been increased up to 5u a shot back in like October/November. She finally started responding and kept getting really low greens everyday, so slowly she was decreased to 3.5u. Shes stayed steady with great numbers on that dose for a while. Then she got the neck infection at the beginning of December and her numbers rose. The day before I took her to the vet and she got the antibiotics, I opened a new pen. I had a brand new box getting sent to me from a Canadian pharmacy, but since there was a delay, 2 pens were donated to me to use because I was pretty much out. So nice of the donor
I couldnt figure it out because for so long, her numbers have been great before that infection. I was worried the insulin might have gone bad. So as you guys know, I changed a new pen about 2 weeks ago. This pen was the 2nd one from the "expire in Feb" batch. Her numbers continue to rise. Now, instead of yellow, shes been high pinks every day. I had a couple almost red. Yikes!!It was as if I wasnt even giving her insulin. High, flat pinks. I had a strong suspicion that maybe those 2 pens had already gone bad even though they dont expire for another 2 weeks.
Its been over a month of high pinks/yellows with those pens, so I decided to try the insulin from a pen in my new Canadian box 2 weeks earlier than planned. And ever since shes slowly has been coming down. Last nights PMPS was the 3rd shot I had given her from the new pen from the new box. This morning shes BLUE!! Im so happy. I think this might solve the mystery of her high numbers (I hope)
AMPS 123